We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the $$$ side but what a building!”
Review of Baldwin Saloon

Baldwin Saloon
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“On the $$$ side but what a building!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, lovely, lovely. Ultimately we decided that wine and/or dinner not worth the price, but check it out: you may well feel differently.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MYM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    171
    55
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Excellent dinner! Try the Salmon”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I whole heartedly recommend the poached salmon. It's a popular place so do go in a hurry and make reservations if you can. It's worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 860debbiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“An old bar done over”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Interesting old building from the pioneer days in The Dalles.

For the salad I ordered the Caesar salad which was Crisp Romaine lettuce tossed in their Caesar dressing with homemade seasoned croutons and parmesan cheese. For the entrée I ordered the Pork Parmesan which was seasoned cutlets of pork tenderloin, served on a bed of fettuccine and topped with an Alfredo sauce and parmesan cheese. This was really very good, nice and tender pork tenderloin. The Alfredo sauce was perfectly seasoned. The Caesar salad was very fresh and crisp with a great Caesar dressing. I would definitely order this again. I had iced tea as a beverage.

My partner ordered the Chicken Dijonnaise which was two fresh chicken breasts sautéed in a creamy Dijon wine sauce with diced tomatoes, artichoke hearts, garlic, shallots and mushrooms. He really enjoyed this, as it did not stay on the plate very long. The veggies were not overcooked, but were crispy with a crunch. He had an unsweetened Italian vanilla soda as a drink.

The server was very amenable about substitutions. The meal for both of us was $46 before tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

excellent food in a restaurant in an old historic saloon (trainspotting at the back door !). Lovely interior decoration and first class friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place. Casual with a lot of choices and good food. Service was outstanding. The crab sandwich was tasty and enough for 2. Desserts also outstanding. I wish they did breakfast. I would definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gmickers11661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldwin Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Baldwin Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing