We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, excellent service, period finishes - worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldwin Saloon

Baldwin Saloon
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, period finishes - worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I had dinner there recently and went based on both the Trip Advisor recommendations and those from the folks at our hotel (i.e., other travellers who'd eaten there).
I had a very good seafood pasta dish which featured both salmon and halibut, along with some clams, mussels and shrimp. My wife had a fried seafood platter and, while the fish was well-prepared, we thought that the portion was a bit small for the money (about $25).
They had a nice lady playing classic "saloon tunes" on an old piano that definitely added to the atmosphere. And while they were very busy (on a Friday night), they did provide very good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    161
    52
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food - Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Baldwin Saloon is within walking distance of the Dalles Hotel - in fact, the front desk clerk recommended it when we asked for a nice place for lunch. She even provided us with a discount coupon. The food was well-prepared - menu was big and diverse. The service was a little slow, but friendly. We will eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rfj4453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Baldwin has outstanding food and great service. Most everything is homemade including such things as hamburger buns! They have great burgers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Westboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent locally owned restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

W like to support locally owned at home and when we travel. The top 2 "restaurants" in The Dalles aren't really restaurants (one is a tea room and the other is a bakery). A very friendly greeting told us there wasn't al table available which was okay with us. We found seats at the bar for a pre dinner drink. Were told it would be 20 minutes, we were seated in less than 15. Our server was great, unfortunately I can't remember his name. We both had a chicken dish and they were great. If you go, be sure to take the time to read the historical brochure and see all of the art. And, if you are there on the weekend, enjoy the piano player. N

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perhaps we just ordered the wrong meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

As we were seated I thought this is going to be great. Cool building, tasty sounding dishes, attentive wait staff. The seafood dishes we ordered were sub par mainly because two of them ( the crab cocktail app and the avocado and crab salad) were served with crab that was a day from being bad. My wife grew up in Alaska and I in Maryland so we know crab. If the crab is close do not put it on the specials board....chuck it! My bouillabaisse had a great stock, very tasty but the fish was over cooked. I wish we had ordered one of the burgers as they are ground in house and the bun is baked on premise. The local Chardonnay I ordered was not worth the 6 buck price. Funny thing; when I asked the waitress about the crab she said it is not in season but it is fresh??? How is that possible? Fresh and fresh frozen are not the same. One last comment, the one app, one salad special, one bowl of soup and a glass of wine was 60 dollars!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldwin Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Baldwin Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing