We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place. Breakfast so-so” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Place. Breakfast so-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Clean. Breakfast so-so. Eggs and sausage were dried out. Desk clerk suggested the Baldwin Saloon for dinner and gave us a 10% off coupon. Dinner was excellent. Convenient to the Columbia Gorge attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomActon_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments.
We have talked to the breakfast bar staff to insure that, there is no issues with our breakfast.
Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    71
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
64
70
13
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Saw this Comfort Inn from the road and decided to give it a try. We are Choice Hotel members so we like to try and stay at these hotels when we travel. This location was convenient to the highway. The front staff was pleasant. The room was large and comfy. The bathroom was clean. I like that the sink and hairdryer were separate from the shower area. The breakfast was pretty good. And they have fresh baked cookies at the front desk at night.

Room Tip: A little noisy. The walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potteryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We reserved this hotel while on the road that day and we were so surprised at how nice it was. We received a suite with a full kitchen and separate living room and bedroom, with king bed. it was a refreshing sight after a long day on the road. The check in man told us we were getting the best and he was right. He suggested the Baldwin Saloon for dinner and gave us a 10% off coupon. It was a great dinner by the way!!
The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and comfortable. There were 2 flat screen TV's in the room. Only complaint was there was a full size coffee maker but only single serve coffee packets. But we just went down to the breakfast area and got fresh coffee and breakfast. They had a pancake machine and that was a hit! They also have free wi-fi.
The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Great night here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to post a review about our Comfort Inn. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay. We have looked at the coffee maker and it's all taken care of.
Hope we will see you back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This has been an excellent visit. I am here on business and the room and service have been excellent. I would especially like to thank Lonna for her help when I had a problem with my computer. She helped get my problems solved on the lobby computer. Definitely an asset to the staff. Thanks again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiskeyfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We are very pleased that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the newly renovated guestrooms.
It is always great to hear about positive experiences with our staff. We know that your time is valuable and we would like to Thank you for positive comments about your experience with our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jana Cickova, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The check in staff, a man in the evening and young woman in the morning, were pleasant and helpful. I think my mom asked one of the housekeepers where she bought her cinnamon roll, and, within a few minutes, the front desk person dropped by to give us the restaurant name and directions. The man mentioned a few restaurants, and we loved the Canton Wok downtown. My mom also enjoyed the free soup (Italian Wedding soup perhaps?) at the hotel, and I enjoyed the concept. The breakfast was ok and par with the rest of the hotels on our trip; American hotels do not seem to offer really good breakfasts - you have to go to Europe. However you can't beat the price (free). The hotel is easy to access from both sides of the river.

The bed was absolutely one of the most comfortable beds I have ever had, and that is saying a lot as beds and pillows seem to be my largest complaint. The reading chair also earned a big kudo; I have never seen a chair like that in a hotel room, even somewhat more expensive hotels.

Negatives - the door didn't latch when we left the room; luckily, we noticed and were able to pull it shut. The sink and hair dryer are outside the bathroom, which is not a pleasant experience with more than one person in the the room (this is a common refrain to my reviews). Another common applicable refrain from our trip includes guests going down to breakfast in their pj's, dirty and unwashed, some with matted hair and barefoot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon58759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our staff as well as our comfortable beds.
We are glad, that you liked our soup, which we offer in Fall, Winter and Spring in the evenings.
Our maintenance team checked the door to insure it latches. There is not much we can do with appearance of other guests or the structure of our rooms, but we do appreciate your comments.
Thank you again and we are look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jana Cickova, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

I took my mom on a trip for Mother's day week and we didnt know how far we would make it. We ended up in the Dalles and decided to stay the night. I had stayed in another hotel last time I was here and was very disappointed so my expectations were low. We pulled up in front of The Confort Inn and I went inside and was pleasantly surprises to see the indoor pool and spa area and the free breakfast area. All looked clean and inviting. We had come in too late for the complimentary soup but the friendly staff set us up with a room and we took our luggage in. The room was spacious smelled very clean but not chemical treated. The beds were well appointed with 4 pillows each and there was a seating area with coffee table, desk with comfy office chair, fridge, microwave and large modern TV with plenty of place to put your clothes if you were staying longer. I got a great nights sleep and more than adequate breakfast. Mom did her morning exercises in the pool and treated herself to the "hot tub". I will definitely stay here again if I decide to stay again in the Dalles!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
It sounds like your mom really enjoyed our indoor pool and spa. Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we appreciate it very much. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jana Cickova, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

The location is ideal. Rooms are well maintained. The desk staff was polite, generous and helping. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. Room furnishing, carpet and colour combinations are good. One thing pinched me was wash basin in the room instead of in the bathroom. The room lock was little hard and i did not pull the door hard enough, when i returned in late evening my door was still open. Anyways every thing was safe. It was a nice stay. Would recommend to stay.

Room Tip: Keep a check on door lock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and our rooms. We are very sorry about the door lock, which is taken care of. We appreciate your feedback very much and hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jana Cickova, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
9.2 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Address: 351 Lone Pine Drive, The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Hotel The Dalles
Comfort Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing