We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite secrets in The Dalles!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The ANZAC Tea Parlour - CLOSED

The ANZAC Tea Parlour
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of my favorite secrets in The Dalles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Anzac Tea Parlour is one of my very favorite places for lunch in TD! In fact, it is my favorite. It is perfect for girlie special occasions (bridal showers, birthdays, etc.). It is a very feminine, cozy atmosphere and the food is DELICIOUS. The scones are TO DIE FOR. I love that you pick your own tea set when you arrive and there is a huge selection of hot teas to choose from. I have grown to love tea because of Anzac and I never leave without buying a bag or two of loose tea. I highly, highly recommend this for you and your girlfriends. Small children might not enjoy this experience but my teenage daughter loved having high tea with me! Love, love it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 15minL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Expression!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I just happened to stay the night in the Dalles (Celilo Inn) and were pleasantly surprised when we stopped in at ANZAC. We were ushered straight back through the working kitchen to where the action takes place. We did not have time to sit and enjoy the tearoom as we needed to head back to Hood River and down the Gorge. Thought maybe we could get some tea gift or a scone. The owners (Alan and Bev) were very friendly and super hospitable... they offered a couple 2-GO boxes which I don't think is standard... complete with Devonshire Cream/Jam. We enjoyed the lunch outside in Hood River - Delicious. The scone was amazing, along with the egg tart, the chicken sandwich/and cucumber sandwich - fresh fruit, dipped strawberry (which, by the way was incredible)... and, almost forgot the Anzac biscuit (cookie). The food and conversation (while there) was top-notch... these folks are super - stop and experience this first-hand! Many thanks/blessings for making our anniversary trip memorable and for going the extra mile to accommodate us during your busy time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FollowOnesNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old fashioned tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a fun place to go for tea and dainties. In an old period home decorated in Victorian style. Pick out your china cup and enjoy tea and a plate of tea sandwiches and goodies. Felt I needed to wear a hat and gloves but not required.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank seahag59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The tea parlour might be a little on the small side but the food and service are great. These were the best scones I've ever had. Bev pays alot of attention to the details and makes sure the food is fresh and tasty with just enough variety. Her tea selection is extensive; offering many of the usual blends and a few wonderful surprises as well. The only criticism we have is that the tea pots were dirty and there is a general "dustiness" to the place...it could use a good cleaning. That said, the hostess is lovely, the tea is plentiful and the food is superior.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timetraveler444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were visitng the Dalles and followed tripadvisor recommendations to eat at this tea house, it was marvellous! The tea taste and smell great, the food with the tea set were all so delicious. The owners are very nice and helpful. We would definitely go again next time we are in town. When we visited, their hours are Wed thru Friday for lunch and we just happen to catch them when they are open. Lucky for us. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank somewhereoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The ANZAC Tea Parlour also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing