We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Motor Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oregon Motor Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 The Dalles B&B and Inns
1 review
“Don't judge a book by it's cover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

At first glance this is an just old motel. But when we drove into the parking lot were assured by all of the nice cars parked there that it was a decent place. The outside of the building is old, especially compared to the newer motel next door, but it adds to the charm of the place knowing that it probably has some local history stories. When we went into our room 136 it was a pleasant surprise to see that it is pretty modern inside and also the room is very clean...even the microwave and refrigerator! The only drawbacks are that there isn't enough immediate parking..but there is a big lot behind that we were able to park in and the other is that there is too much furniture in the room.. just a few too many side tables, but they were easily moved out of the way. The staff is really nice and attentive and the price is good! I was really impressed by the clean room and that it was good sized.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MStrauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    18
    19
    17
See reviews for
13
26
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well we felt like something was not right. We went into the office and said that we don't really want to stay here because there was a lot of people that looked they would be doing illegal things and they were yelling at us saying that we shouldn't judge people and we were making a mistake. Right as we walked out, there were cops swarming one of the rooms and we suspected that they we doing drugs or something. I don't think will be going there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalebMichael3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We recently stayed one night when in town for a concert at the Maryhill Winery. The room was small and dated, but overall clean and comfortable for a short stay. The location was good and staff friendly. For the price, it was just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livetwotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I called and booked rooms for Our motorcycle riding group and was Quoted back In April for rooms In Aug.3rd at 59.95 for a single bed and 69.95 for two beds. Arriving late on 8/3 I notice that we were charged 70.00. after being Charged this rate we were told to park our Bikes behind the owners car since he wasn't leaveing to go anywhere that night And was told we couldn't park in the normal stalls.I will not ever stay at this motel again .This motel isn't Biker Friendly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this motel last weekend. We booked through motel.com. It was the worst motel we ever stayed in. You could smell the mold in the room. The carpet was wet near the small bathroom. The shower (very small) didn't drain, so we requested another room. It also had a awful smell of mold. The clerk in the office didn't speak english well. The only reason we stayed was because the 24 hr cancellation. Take my advice and stay next door @ the Best Western or sleep in the car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Room 108 leaked from 2nd story. Room 106 awful odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faith_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. I understand that you did book through hotels.com and their cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to the date of arrival. I understand that this is frustrating and we receive this complaint often (when guest's book through a third party). We highly suggest that guests contact the hotel directly to receive the best possible customer service. During your stay we had an unfortunate incident that made it difficult for us from providing you with the best possible service and room. We truly apologize for that. We hope that you will allow us to make up for the your experience when you come back to visit The Dalles. We have recently renovated our rooms and fixed the issues you experienced during your stay. Thank you for your response and we hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

5/27/2012 stay. room a little dated but clean. Fridge, Micro, Coffe, Internet, TV non smoking

Room Tip: Rooms next to check in are quiet. Parking is a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carjar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! It makes our family's day when we hear such great compliments about our hotel. We pride ourselves in providing extremely clean rooms and the best prices at the Oregon Motor Motel in The Dalles, Or. We look forward to your next visit! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The room was very reasonbly priced! The room was simple, but is very nice and clean. The customer service was nice and freindly. Over all I had a good experience, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina P, General Manager at Oregon Motor Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for the kind words, it really means a lot to our family. We are excited to hear that you noticed the cleanliness. We take pride in providing clean rooms and the best possible customer service in the area. We look forward to your next stay with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Dalles hotels
0.0 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 The Dalles OR
Super 8 The Dalles OR
#6 of 9 in The Dalles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 The Dalles
Motel 6 The Dalles
#7 of 9 in The Dalles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Motor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Motor Motel

Property: Oregon Motor Motel
Address: 200 W. 2nd St., The Dalles, OR
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Motor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Oregon Motor Motel in The Dalles, Oregon. Your favorite 54 unit Oregon Motel is located within easy walking distance of the Greyhound bus station, St. Peters Church, and historic Downtown. Our friendly office staff can help direct you to all the area attractions and activities. Restaurant, gas station. We offer a variety of clean and comfortable rooms in many sizes with queen and king size beds. Our building is made of concrete that makes our rooms very quiet and all our rooms have a Wi-Fi, Cable TV, microwave and refrigerator. We provide both smoking and non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oregon Motor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing