We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the food in Thailand”

Montira's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The best Thai food we've ever eaten.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As good as the food in Thailand”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you are looking for great tasting, authentic Thai food this is the place to go! I have eaten Thai food at restaurants all over the country and have been to Thailand several times, but without doubt the food at Montira's rivals the best I have had anywhere else, including Thailand.

As for the service, my wife and I have eaten here multiple times and we have always been happy with the service, even when the restaurant was quite busy.

If you have never tried Thai food, this will be a great intro. If you are a Thai veteran, you will love this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fishinmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dufur, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service walked Out”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the second time I walked out of Montira's thai cuisine, after being seated we waited over 15 minutes for service. Unless you have lots of time to waste and enjoy rude non-attentive servers DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME STOPPING.

On the good side,, in the past if we can get waited on the food is pretty good when you get it.

Not sure, if I'll try it again and know I won't send anyone there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampa, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great first experience with Thai food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We got into The Dalles on a Sunday night and not many restaurants were open. There were several cars outside Montira's, but never having had Thai food, we were a little unsure about going in. We were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good. We had dumplings, which were excellent. Then we shared a plate of cashew chicken, which was good, also. We had desserts - a rice and mango dish a coconut puddling that came in three little dishes which you are given to take home. All dishes were beautifully displayed. Met the owner, Ken, who was very gracious. If we lived in The Dalles, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francesamay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai in a little town”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised to have such good food in such a little place. My son thought it was some of the best Pad Thai he had eaten. Mine was equally enjoyable. It does live up to the glowing reviews!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great Thai food in The Dalles”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had the house curry. It was delicious! The staff was very friendly and the meal came very fast. Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank northernidahogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montira's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Montira's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing