We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai food at a good price.”

Montira's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best Thai food we've ever eaten.
Jumping Branch, West Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai food at a good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The food here was very tasty and the price was good as well. Service was quick and courteous. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“all the reviews were right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

On a one-night stay in The Dalles, we chose dinner at Montira's. What a fine place, with reasonable prices. We had pad Thai and Penang curry and both were well-prepared and delicious. They garnish their dishes with eye appeal, like the standard white rice, with a ring of black rice on top, and the sculpted carrots for garnish. The wait staff are exceedingly gracious as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrissyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best restauraunt in Dalles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I like Thai food but I'm also very picky. This is a very good restaurant (probably the best in the Dalles), service was good, the owner is great, and food exquisite. We had a family of 5 and for once we all found something we loved. My wife had 3 flavor halibut, I had the special curry (if you love peanut sauce you found nirvana) my son had salmon on the beach and my other son had ahi tuna. The menu is extensive. Even I you do not like Thai food there is something for you. Great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heathly Eating in The Dalles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Try the Ginger Tilapia. Its delicious and healthy. My kids love the chicken satay and steamed dumplings. And Montira.....she is just about the kindest, warmest, most welcoming restaurant owner I've ever met. Oh and go to their pumpkin carving event in October.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Looking4TheRealDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Real Thai food from a real Thai family.
Beware, what they call medium spicy is very hot. Even their mild spicy is hot for some people.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ogdendude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montira's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Montira's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing