We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, first-rate staff, and quiet upscale accommodations.”
Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, first-rate staff, and quiet upscale accommodations.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I spend a lot of time in the Columbia Gorge. I had driven by this place, seeing it up the hill from the freeway, many times. It was always sort of ordinary-looking to me before. Then recently I needed a room in The Dalles, and did a fresh scan of the review sites. This place kept popping up, and there were references to a great recent remodel. They were right! My room was in the upper section (room numbers in the 70s), and while it was small, it was outfitted very nicely and was super-clean. I was offered a glass of local wine while I checked in, and the hotel clerk was super friendly and gave me some excellent tips on places to eat. The view from the lower rooms must be killer -- overlooking the river, the hills to the north in Wash., and the bridge and dam. I can imagine a great time in warmer weather, socializing on the open deck, and watching the sunset light up the valley. I'll definitely be back when I need to stay in The Dalles again.

Room Tip: I'm told the rooms on the lower level are roomier. They certainly have the better "river vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyd1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Tommy. Yes, the rooms on the bottom of our hotel do have better views of the Columbia River and The Dalles Dam. You'll have to stay again soon so you can enjoy it.

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    203
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
60
299
38
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Love what the new owners have done with this motel. The reception was extremely friendly and the welcome glass of wine was unexpected! The room was clean, comfortable, mostly quiet. The view of the dam is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to surprise you in unexpected ways.. Please stay again soon.

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Called at last minute and they had space. Check in included a glass of wine! How great is that!
Nice room includes a mini fridge and a micro. Wifi and a view of the dam if you don't mind looking down into the homes just below. It is up on a hillside so does have a sweeping view but it includes 84 and the train tracks and industry,but still interesting.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LoneOak6496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for writing your review and the four stars!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had passed by the Dalles many times and seen the big "MOTEL" sign up above the freeway. Checked the reviews on Tripadvisor and found them positive. They were right. From the prompt reservations, to the extremely friendly check-in, to the comfortable (though small) king room and the amazing view of The Dalles dam at night with a full moon, we will definitely be back. They apologized for the "light" continental breakfast at checkin, but we found the bagels, fruit juice, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, and cinnamon rolls more than sufficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Karl. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, we do have a vintage sign from the early days when our little hotel was first built. Thank you for admiring our charm!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the sun setting over the Columbia River. We stayed in the "family suite" as we needed two beds and this motel does not have rooms with two beds; however, it had a pullout sofa in the sitting room and it was made up and comfortable. There was some confusion during check-in but the young woman at the front desk did her best to take care of us. I'd stay here again, but mostly because I wouldn't want to stay at any other motel I saw in The Dalles. I thought the room was somewhat overpriced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Maggie! Thank you for writing your review. Our family suite is our nicest room at our hotel. We are so happy you were able to enjoy the view and our accommodations.

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel perched atop a hillside with a great view of the Columbia River and falls. The staff was wonderfully accommodating, even offered a glass of wine at check-in! Their restaurant recommendations were spot on too. An added treat was sitting out under the stars listening to a local musician and enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. We would certainly stay with Celilo Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALORNEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for supporting our local wine parties on Saturdays in the summer!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's not often that you get to have it all, but the Celilo Inn was truly perfect for us. The staff was really nice and very helpful. Our room had a great view, the bed was excellent, the room spotless, we had an unobstructed view of the dam and the beautiful, windswept hills across the river in Washington. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine and listen to some excellent jazz by Larry Adair and Kenny Franklin.

If you want to explore the Hood River to Goldendale area, this feels like the perfect spot to spend a night or two. Maryhill winery is just up the road, the Maryhill museum, Stonehenge memorial, and probably 100 other fascinating things to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveG_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Dave! You are so wonderful to post such a nice review about us. Thank you for the five stars. We aim to please every guest like you!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-9669
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing