We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and Hospitality!”
Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“View and Hospitality!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel perched atop a hillside with a great view of the Columbia River and falls. The staff was wonderfully accommodating, even offered a glass of wine at check-in! Their restaurant recommendations were spot on too. An added treat was sitting out under the stars listening to a local musician and enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. We would certainly stay with Celilo Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALORNEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for supporting our local wine parties on Saturdays in the summer!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    205
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
307
39
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's not often that you get to have it all, but the Celilo Inn was truly perfect for us. The staff was really nice and very helpful. Our room had a great view, the bed was excellent, the room spotless, we had an unobstructed view of the dam and the beautiful, windswept hills across the river in Washington. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine and listen to some excellent jazz by Larry Adair and Kenny Franklin.

If you want to explore the Hood River to Goldendale area, this feels like the perfect spot to spend a night or two. Maryhill winery is just up the road, the Maryhill museum, Stonehenge memorial, and probably 100 other fascinating things to do.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveG_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi Dave! You are so wonderful to post such a nice review about us. Thank you for the five stars. We aim to please every guest like you!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved the room and the front desk clerk was excellent. She was sure to explain specials and local eateries. Their was live music in the lobby with complimentary wine, cheese and cracker platter. The rooms were quite, the bed was comfortable, the decor was modern and the room was nicely appointed. Beware their is a train that goes by down by the river. You can hear that and some highway noise. The motel is not on the highway. This is a great place to lodge and we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallian67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCenter
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I would recommend The Celilo Inn to anyone. The drive through industrial area is worth it. This is the first time I have written a review for a hotel. Between my husband and I we have stayed at hundreds of hotels. It was very quiet and the employees were very helpful and courteous. My husband travels almost every week and stays at many hotels and he was extremely impressed by the cleanliness. I know I have never stayed at a place that was so clean. It was meticulous and unbelievably quiet. Felt like we were there by ourselves. The rooms are all updated and feel upscale. It was the first time I've seen the draperies cover the entire window with no gaps for light to slip through. The bed was comfortable. The only change I would recommend would be to offer full size pillows as an option but I realize that most hotels have those short pillows. The towels were so absorbent. We live only two hours away and came with some friends for a getaway. We visited Maryhill Winery which was great fun. We are already planning our trip back to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe king and it was perfect! Had a view of river, quiet and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Irene,

We are happy to be your very first review! We appreciate all your kinds words and the five stars!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem OR
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stopped on business. Clean rooms with nice view. Rooms have been updated. Staff very accommodating. Breakfast was very minimal this stay ( during the week?). Other than that, pleasant stay. Bed very comfortable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 87Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
It was nice of you to take the time to give us four stars! We do not include breakfast in our advertising. We just offer a small complimentary selection of breakfast items to start your day of well.

Thank you,

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here with my mom to attend my niece's wedding. We really enjoyed our stay. The view was wonderful, the bed extremely comfortable, and everything was very clean. They offer a free glass of wine with your stay, and they have a nice patio area to sit on - weather permitting. I also noticed that they had a singer/guitarist scheduled to play the night we were there (and he had been there for several Saturdays before), between 5-8 p.m., but we were not there at that time to check him out. The staff (Paz) was so very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. Really enjoyed her checking us in and out. I would definitely stay here again if I were to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavenderRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for the four stars and wonderful comments about Paz! We hope you enjoyed yourself at the wedding. Please stay next summer so you can take advantage of our wine parties and jazz musicians every Saturday.

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I feel compelled to post a review, mostly to respond to reviewer "ValueReviewer" below. Not only am I offended by the use of the judgmental description of the small row of houses below the motel as "ghetto", but it is absolutely untrue (not mention rude of the reviewer & should be removed from TripAdvisor). There are exactly five homes on one side of the street overlooking the river (great view!) below the motel, and while they may not be the pristine manicured lawns & homes of a gated community, they represent the vast majority of the middle class and not at all "unsafe". In fact, this has been one of the quietest lodging experiences we've had! We felt perfectly comfortable & safe walking our dog around the grounds at night. Speaking of the grounds, it is relatively small & unless you have difficulty getting around, nothing is too far from the rooms. As for our room, it's clean, comfortable & quiet...all of which are important to us. We have a view of the river, the bridge, the dam, Mt Hood, the city lights & sunset at night. If we come to The Dalles again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here. I would like to suggest they reduce the pet fee, however...the daily charge for having a dog is on the high end at $25. Thank you, Celilo Inn.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplebutterfly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Management can take into consideration your suggestions about the pet fees. We love having guest like you who choose to stay with us!

Celilo Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
258 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cousin's Country Inn
Cousin's Country Inn
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-9669
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing