We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in The Dalles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best in The Dalles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent three nights in a deluxe King room as we were attending a concert at Maryhill winery and exploring the area. As others have mentioned, the room was clean, tastefully decorated, with adequate space. Our room did have a strange odor that I think may have been coming from the air conditioner. The room had a comfortable chair with a round table and two side chairs so there were plenty of places to sit, read or work on the computer. The hotel sits on a hill above I-84 and the Columbia River. We enjoyed watching the activity on the river and the many trains that passed on both sides. Some reviewers mentioned overlooking some houses, but our room was closer to the lobby so did not have those houses in our view.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. We did have to request a different room as the first room had a problem with the toilet. They quickly found us a different room. The seat of the toilet would not stay up which isn't good for men or small boys. I would suggest if there is a man staying in the room, check this before you unpack the car. The staff knew the area and were able to give suggestions on what to see and where to go. There is a nice patio next to the lobby where we could sit and watch the sun go down and the stars come out. There was a fire pit to take away the evening chill. It would be nice if the hotel added some kind of sun protection to the patio as it was too bright and hot for us to sit there during the day.

If you were attending a concert at the winery, for an additional fee, you could take advantage of a bbq on the patio and shuttle buses (school buses) to and from the winery. This was a disappointment and not sure I would choose to do this again. The bbq started at 3:00 and the shuttle buses left at 5:15. Since the concert started at 7:00, this was too early for people with reserved seats. I realize those with lawn seating need to get there early so maybe it would be better to stagger the time the buses leave. As for the bbq, there were hamburgers, potato chips, grapes and one free drink of your choice, including beer or wine. The bbq seemed chintzy to us so think a little desert and salad would be a nice addition. We were told the buses would leave 20 minutes after the end of the concert to return to the hotel. We waited closer to 45 minutes for people to get back to the bus so it could leave. Not a pleasant wait as the bus was running so had to smell the fumes and the windows of the bus were so dirty couldn't see anything outside.

The hotel advertises coffee 24 hours a day and a continental breakfast. The coffee is very good, when it is hot. Unfortunately, in the evenings, it was always cold and we had to ask for fresh coffee to be made. It surprised me that they didn't make sure there was hot coffee after the concert as many needed it after drinking wine all evening. The breakfast is adequate with hot cinnamon rolls, granola, bagels, yogurt and juice.

This hotel is probably the best in The Dalles, but you do pay more for it and the location is not my favorite as it is not close to town or restaurants. There are no snack vending machines on the property so it makes it difficult to have a snack in the evening, if you haven't thought ahead. I found this particularly bad after the concert as there were many who were hungry and had no business driving to get something to eat.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I had to go back to The Dalles. Not sure that is necessary now as there are many other venues to see the same bands that are performing at the winery.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the lobby have a little bit better view as you don't have to look over some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Celilo Inn and the details about our property. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and concert. We have actually adjusted a few things based on your feedback and implemented them for our last patio party/ Willie Nelson concert last weekend.
We hope you will return to The Dalles for next years concerts and enjoy some of the area attractions as well.

Happy Traveling,
Celilo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    202
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
296
37
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

As we drove up the hill to the Celilo Inn, we wondered if we had made a good choice, since it was a mile or so out of town and off by itself. Our concerns were put to rest by the pleasant lobby and helpful staff. We had called ahead the same day and had not asked for specifics about the rooms. At check in, we realized that the less expensive room that we had originally booked was in the back building, without a view of the river and dam. We upgraded to a king room and were very glad we did. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of the river and dam. The outside patio was a pleasant place to relax, enjoy a glass of wine (available for purchase at the desk), and watch the sun go down. The Celilo Inn was just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent one night there after a visit to the nearby Maryhill Museum. A large, quiet and clean room with a friendly staff. WiFi worked well. Not much of view of the dam from the room, as you had to peer over some homes in front of you, but they had an outdoor patio next to the office which filled your viewing needs. Wine sold at the front desk for late night tasting and dam viewing if needed. We did not use it, but they also provided a coupon book for some of the nearby wineries that bypassed the tasting fees. Pets OK with a pet charge.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RNRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Found this motel by reading other reviews. Megan took care of us the first night as we were on our way to Montana. The room was great and the pool was perfect. The king size bed was outstanding! On our way back from Montana there was no doubt where we were going to stay. Once again everything was outstanding. Would recommend this motel to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms offer a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff3239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have lived in Oregon for 23 years, but have never visited the Gorge. What a mistake! We stayed at various places, but have to say, the Celilo Inn really stood out from the rest. The rooms were very clean, modern, and up to date. Beds were extremely comfortable, and service was excellent. When we arrived, we were given a glass of wine and invited to relax with a plate of cheese and fruit, while a jazz band played on the patio overlooking the dam. What a great first impression! We will definately stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great views, good breakfast and convenient to everything in the Gorge! This was our second visit and we will be back again. The hotel staff can give you lots of good ideas on where to go and what to see but our favorites are the local winearies and the Maryhill Mmuseum in Goldendale Washington.

The Discovery Center in the Dalles is really first rate and we enjoyed that very much. We were there for a special tour of the raptor cages and it was a thrill to get up close to bald egales.

Room Tip: call direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walpoleartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Celilo Inn is an old school motel that has been updated with care and taste. We arrived tired and early and the wonderful woman at the front desk went out of her way to make us comfortable. We'd booked a queen room and were given space in the second level (back), which may have less of a view but also less noise from the highway below.

On check-in you're given a little wine tasting book and map, which was very helpful. With only a short time in The Dalles, they were able to point us to some of the better tastings and restaurants.

The linenes were plush, towels soft and rooms spotless. We didn't use the dipping pool, but it looked nice. Breakfast was light continental and very good.

All in all a great place for the price and location - be sure to ask for the AAA rate if you have AAA. It saved us a lot of money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
21.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E. 2nd Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing