We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really liked this Motel/Hotel. Updated and modern with a very comfortable bed. Great amenities and clean bathroom. Everything you need for a short stay to the Columbia Gorge if you're passing through or there for exploring the outdoors. Close to many wineries and restaurants. Downside is you would need a DD if you were heading out to drink a lot. We enjoyed our stay and the free breakfast was appreciated..cereal, bagels, juice, tea, coffee, yogurt...they had it all. I don't like that our view was of a trailer park outside the window but it's not like we live there so it was fine and we were gone most of the day anyways. Pool was under construction when we were there so didn't get to use it. I would definitely stay here again if we needed a place to crash in the Dalles.

Room Tip: Get a room not overlooking the trailer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trini4life25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    202
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
299
38
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I booked this room for 2 nights, never hearing of The Dalles, Oregon. It looked very cool on line and on the youtube video. We arrived in The Dalles and continued to the motel. I was a bit skeptical as we drove through what seemed to be a small residential area. No biggie. Check in was a breeze with the front desk clerk being extremely helpful. There was parking right outside our room, which was handy since we had a few bags to carry in. The room was quite small but we were not living in there so it did the trick. The bathroom was very nice and a good size for a motel. The pool area was very nice even though we didn't get a chance to use it. We used the outside deck around the front lobby to sit, play cards and have a couple of drinks. What a wonderful view on a beautiful night. The breakfast in the morning was small but ok and the coffee was great. The motel itself is a ways from the town center which was a bit of a drag because we had to have a designated driver but, we survived. All in all, we really liked this motel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I feel like an idiot after staying in this motel. We were traveling from the Ramona Falls to Multmonah Falls and wanted to see the Columbia River Gorge so The Dalles looked like a perfect location for one night. After reading so many great reviews we decided to pay the price of Sheraton in downtown Portland for this cheap motel - the biggest mistake ever. Our room was so small there wasn't enough space to put our two bags (or you can put it on the floor if you don't need to use the front door:-)). We were 'lucky' to have an 'amazing view' of the parking lot and my car (ok, I think my car is pretty but I don't need to pay see it:-)). There was an acceptable view from the lobby/breakfast area (the breakfast is no more than average - muffins, coffee, and juice) but I can't call it 'breathtaking'. It's far away from the downtown and restaurants, far away from the river, you've got a super small room with a view of a parking lot ....it's not worth more than $60 per night (during the weekend).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iwona_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Guest Relations Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello, we would like to thank you for the feedback about hotel prices. We do try to keep our rates as low as possible, but also offer some great ammenities to guests, such as our free winery tasting booket, live music, gourmet coffee & wine at check-in.
We do offer King rooms, which have the view of the river, but some of our Queen rooms do not & are priced a bit less. We know its a long drive to The Dalles and you deserve a nice place to stay. Please let us know if you come back again and we will do our best to get you a room with a view.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are modern and clean but don't expect to enjoy a view. The view of the river is actually looking at the back side of the Dalles Dam; lots of concrete. They really have tried hard to make a silk purse out of a sows ear but you have to drive up a sketchy road that looks like you're driving through people's back yards. They do have a view of Mt hood but you can only see it from the parking lot. Not a bad place to stay if you're driving through, but not a place to vacation.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location is kind of strange, but beautiful. They offered 24 hour coffee that was amazing!! The room was clean and had a very comfortable bed. Flat screen with lots of channels. We were only there for 1 night but it was a pleasant stay and was worth the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a really good view, ours didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swivaljaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello and thank you for your nice review about our hotel and Stumptown coffee. We are glad you enjoyed the ammenities & hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in a king room in the main building, room was clean, condition of all the furniture and fixtures was excellent, very comfortable bed, air conditioner ran all night and got our room very cool (a good thing). Really nice outdoor patio with a fire pit, not a lot of choices for breakfast but what was there was very good, high quality. Nice to enjoy an outdoor pool for a change. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only negative was the size of the room was a bit on the small side, but OK for a single or couple. Our new go-to place in The Dalles, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the KIng rooms in the main building have a view of the river and dam, the building is all one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was an unexpected surprise that lived up to the great reviews! We had a very friendly welcome and the updated rooms are clean and comfortable with a great view. A little ways from town but we liked the quiet. Live music with free wine and munchies. Nice outdoor pool too. Definitely recommend it as well as returning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E. 2nd Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing