We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, above-and-beyond service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rooms, above-and-beyond service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Celilo Inn and had a great experience. Frankly, our expectations were low considering it was an inn. However, the rooms were new and comfortable. In addition the staff was really excellent they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and even offered us a glass of wine.

Also, our pullout sofa didn't work. So to compensate us they gave our friends (who were staying with us) a room to themselves. This is a clear demonstration of going above and beyond and making sure we were super comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel and although it is an "inn" I would not let that dissuade you from staying here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travisandchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    202
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
299
38
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We decided to take a trip to Dalles Oregon to view the Rowena Loop, A few weeks earlier we had been watching the Speed Channel and it had a review of cars and included 2 doing time trials thru the Loops. Definatly something we wanted to experience first hand.
So we left Surrey BC and decided to take as many secondary Hwys as we could , a plan that unfortunatly took a different route after finding out that not all the roads were open because of snow. So back over to the I5 and down to Vancouver Washington then east on Hwy 30 following the River to Dalles Oregon. Wonderful scenery and a must see.
Once at Dalles we stopped at the Chamber of Commerce and were given a list of Hotels, Our Priority was Crean and with a view.
The one that stood out was the Celilo Inn and we were not disappointed. The Celilo overlooked the Dalles Dam and Locks as well as the Bridge to Washington State. The Inn itself although a little akward to find was a delight, clean rooms, comfortable furniture and bed. We will be travelling back this summer , this time on the Roadglide so we can experience the Loops on a Motorcycle, we will definatly be staying at the Celilo again.

Room Tip: Make reservations , this place fills up with the wine tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinterPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I were travelling through the Gorge and needed a place to stay in The Dalles. After a little research we found out about the Celilo Inn and decided to try it for ourselves after reading all the great reviews for the hotel. It was the best decision we made our whole trip!

Although it was a little tricky to find initially, once we made it to the hotel and into the front lobby we knew that we made the right choice. We were greeted by a friendly and informative front desk clerk who offered us a complimentary glass of wine and some fun facts about the surrounding area and wineries. She got our information and had us promptly checked in to a king room with a view. The room itself was immaculately clean, and the view of the gorge and the dam was incredible. Everything was new, and the beds were so comfortable it was hard to leave in the morning!

Breakfast consisted of pastries, fresh fruits and coffee. It was not the quantity of the breakfast that surprised us, but rather the quality. The coffee and pastries were top notch and came from a local French bakery.

Overall it was a lovely experience. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This motel doesn't look much from the outside, but the lobby and rooms are completely modernized.

The lobby has a social hour with wine, pastries and fruit for breakfast, and all the espresso you can drink. The staff were very helpful, and even opened a bottle of wine for me (I forgot a corkscrew).

The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Wifi was available and the shower was great!

The hotel is a touch far from downtown and the interstate was not silent, but the view of the river and the dam more than made up for it. If I was to stay at The Dalles again, it would definitely be at Celilo Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZachTMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the social hour. Spring is here and the wildflowers are starting to come out. There's lots to do in the Dalles and we are soon adding some free Mt. Bikes to the hotel for our guests to ride so you can go out and see the area & zoom into town!.
Please come stay again...

Christi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We needed a large room for our large family on our way to our Spring Break trip to Portland. The Family Suite at the Celilo Inn fit the bill. This cool, remodeled, retro-modern motel was more than we expected to find amongst the otherwise dreary accommodations of The Dalles. Perched on a high rocky cliff, Celilo Inn offers mostly good views of the impressive dam and the Columbia River.
Our room more than suited our brood. One extra-comfy king bed, equally posh queen bed, and a pull-out queen couch bed that feels little more than a medieval rack of torture. Our poor teenager woke up with many aches and pains from the springs. A new mattress on the pull-out would make this room practically perfect.
Although there is only a stand-up shower, it is very clean and well-maintained. Ample toiletries, towels, and pillows abound. Of course this isn't the Fairmont, but it is better than say a Hyatt Place or Holiday Inn Express.
The only other spot for improvement is the breakfast. It is weak and meager, but they don't promise more. However, after spending nearly $200 a night on our room (because they charged us $10 extra per child in what is supposed to be a family suite, that didn't make much sense to me), it would have been much appreciated to have a little more of a breakfast spread. Even a cheap waffle iron or some orange juice would have been an improvement.
The staff was courteous and patient on all shifts.
If you have to stay in The Dalles, make Celilo Inn your choice of motel. The view is nice, the staff friendly, and, most importantly, the rooms are CLEAN, comfortable, and the best pick in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abadgerbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Apparently this was an old 50's style motel that has had a radical makeover. The result is wonderful. The rooms are modest in size but very well laid out. They serve great coffee and pastries in the morning and the staff couldn't be friendlier. We watched the sun go down at night and rise again the next morning from the lobby. Magnificent view (including Mt Hood if you crane your neck a bit). The restaurants here are nothing to write home about but this little inn is a wonderful stop for folks traveling down the Columbia Gorge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Cello while wine tasting at many of the nearby wineries. We had a wine package from Cello and that was nicely done with wine and other gifts waiting in our room when we arrived. All the furnishings were nice and new. Breakfast was light but good, however they did not offer any juices, only coffee. Good view from all rooms. They also have a nice firepit outside to relax by.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmschmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celiloinn, Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Celilo. It's starting to warm up here and will be soon be Cherry blossom festival. We hope you can come out again soon.
-Christi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
9.6 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E. 2nd Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing