We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than basic Mexican restaurant”

Ixtapa Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 70 Restaurants in The Dalles
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nicer than basic Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The decor was a step up from the basic Mexican restaurant. I don't think all of the food was made fresh there - for instance, the hard shell tacos and the flour tortillas looked too perfect to be made there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One fine Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent atmosphere, Excellent food and Excellent food.... Hardly ever have to wait to be seated.
Very polite wait people.. Food is fast and good at a reasonable price... Can't say much more..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“bland”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great fast service and generous portions but bland food - especially the beans. The chile relleno was like eating soup.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrsygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nm
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Below average”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I free lance as a travel writer and as you can guess travel often. This was was way below subpar. Giving it a 2 just because the margaritas were ok. The food was bland and I was up all night with food poisoning. The queso is Velveeta cheese which is a big no no for Mexican restaurants, unless they are equivalent to Taco Bell. It's hard to screw Mexican food so I highly suggests they start tasting their own food or hire another cook.

Helpful?
Thank n8tivgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food/Friendly Service”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The food was great and the service was great. We stopped on our way through town. We were the only ones at the restaurant when we arrived, but it quickly filled up. We enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank djbtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ixtapa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ixtapa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing