We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms with view of river and dam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October 2009. We were touring the Columbia River Gorge and Mt. Hood areas. The Dalles was a little east of our route, but we wanted to see what was here. But to be honest, we didn't find much to see in the area. It was a quiet place for our night's sleep.

Our room had a view of the pool, the river, and the dam. The room was large, with a refrigerator and microwave. There were 2 sinks - one in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. Made it nice for us to get ready to go quickly in the morning. A dishtowel was provided near the sink which was a thoughtful touch for keeping the counter dry.

Our beds were comfy and the bed linens were clean. I didn't care for the choice of TV channels which seemed very limited. Although the bathroom was clean, there was a good amount of wear on the walls and floor. The door to our room looked like it had been forced open at some time as the wood near the original lockset was torn up on the edge of the door. However, it seemed to lock securely.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel advertises a complimentary breakfast, which was actually a coupon to use for one of 3 entrees at their hotel restaurant. My husband and I both chose the ham, egg, and toast breakfast. We each commented that we would have preferred a 2nd piece of toast in exchange for half the huge slice of ham that we received. But you really don't get many choices with this kind of set-up. The breakfast waiter was extremely courteous, quick, and helpful.

This hotel was competitively priced. We had a comfortable, quiet night's sleep, and breakfast in the morning. This was a good hotel for traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarlemontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2009

Dear Sugarmontee, Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy that you chose to stay at Shilo Inn Suites-The Dalles, OR during your trip through the beautiful columbia gorge. We are thrilled that you had a quite, restful night's sleep and found our staff to be pleasant. We strive to provide all of our guests with excellent amenities at an affordable price. We would like to extend an invitation to return if your travels bring you back to Oregon or Southwest Washington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

We wanted a place convenient to Hood River and the Maryhill Museum in nearby Goldendale, WA, so we chose Shilo Inn in The Dalles.

The hotel is next to the bridge crossing the Columbia into Washington on the way to the Maryhill Musem. It overlooks The Dalles Dam, so the hotel grounds provide a nice view of the dam and some old fishing shacks.

The staff was nice, the room was decent and quiet. But for a non-smoking hotel when we'd asked for no scented cleaners, the room had a definite scent of something and it bothered my wife's asthma. The hotel did give us a discount for our dissatisfaction, so that was appreciated.

The on-demand TV was ridiculously expensive. If it was even a few dollars cheaper we might have ordered a movie.

Overall, it was OK, but the hotel and The Dalles in general didn't offer anything special that would bring us rushing back. We'd be more likely to look for a place in Hood River.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNAPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Good service and a great location! The room was clean and the grounds are very well taken care of. We loved how we could have breakfast (we had three meal choices to choose from) then go out for a little walk to the edge of the river to start our mornings. Also, there are remnants of a tiny Indian fishing village built in the late 1800s that you can explore nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeloo436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Dalles is rich in history, we are lucky to have a little piece of that history here on the property. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Bad choice; on vacation and so far the worst hotel we stayed in. I don't know where the good comments came from but our room had a lousy view; mold in the bathroom; a/c worked but no thermostat to adjust. Reported this at checkin but not taken care of. Breakfast was a "laugh". Should be ashamed to advertise the"complimentary hot breakfast. Reported this also and was told that they heard this many times but the caterers are independent of the hotel. Never again choosing Shilo Inns.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abjkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed in unit "C" facing the parking lot. Air conditioning was much noisier than other hotels in similar price range; otherwise it was very quiet. Wireless access did not work until I took my lap top up to the main building. Staff did their jobs but appeared to be just going thru the paces; no apparent enthusiasm. The location is great: right on the river with an excellent view of the dam. Rooms facing the river with porches would be a better choice if not overpriced. Only reason I would recommend is for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Check6Medford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great location, wonderfull staff, especially the bar tender. She was wonderfull. Pleasure to stay there and will again. We have stayed there 4 times and have always been treated as we were special.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLHRC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2009

Thank you for your great comments on the staff here at Shilo Inn Suites-The Dalles, OR. We take pride in creating special memories for our guests. I am so happy that you were made to feel "special" during your stay. From the moment a guest walks through our lobby doors, we want them to feel at home. Yes, our location is fantastic and the scenery is beautiful. We will be looking forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Three friends and I were crazing some time away from the city and had decided we needed to spend a day around a pool in the sun in The Gorge. We wanted the one night trip to be cost effective and found the Shilo Inn to have a great offer on their larger suite. It was a very nice room. Well kept, decor up to date and perfectly accommodating for four girls. The staff was wonderful and the pool was perfect. We enjoyed walking around the Dallas that evening as it was only a few exits away from the downtown area. Overall, we were very impressed and have decided to make this trip a new annual tradition. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and appreciated all the wonderful amenities and friendly nature of the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationseeker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2009

Dear Vacationseeker2009, thank you for your great comments. I am so happy that you and your friends were able to enjoy all of our free amenties and found our large suites to be priced at a very affordable rate. The Columbia Gorge is a perfect place to spend a weekend away from the city. The Dalles is rich in history and is centrally located in the gorge. Just minutes away from wineries, white water rafting, hiking and wind surfing-the activities are endless. We are proud to now be a new annual tradition for you and your friends. Welcome to the Shilo family, we eagerly await your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
298 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
530 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
19 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
20.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058-9718
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing