We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
mbauer97225
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Welcome Surprise”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I just had a fabulous girls weekend in the Dalles. We took advantage of the warm weather and sat by the outdoor pool. The views were awesome! We were going for a resort weekend on a budget.
Everyone we spoke with was friendly--staff, the people at the restaurant next door, the manager, Jason--even the guests.
Whenever we had a question or needed something we found the help and the service we needed.
We will definately be staying here again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mbauer97225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiloTheDalles, General Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful weekend here in The Dalles. It's great to know that our friendliness and overall service left you with a lasting impression. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    64
    74
    44
See reviews for
64
88
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Because of the paper thin walls, we heard the noise from at least 3 TVs, 2 late night conversations, and the freeway all night. The room had cobwebs on the ceiling and had a smell. I assumed for the price we would be staying at an average place. I would rate this hotel below average and will not stay there again.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelalot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

The food at the hotel restaurant is absolutely horrible!!! The food had so much salt added to it which made it inedible! Not only did it have to much salt it tasted prepackaged and was poorly prepared. Beware of the free breakfast as well. I've had continental breakfasts 100% better than there food in the restaurant. The food was cold (including the toast) and once again salt was added to my cold piece of ham. The only good part of the restaurant is the service. The hotel itself needs to be remodeled somthing aweful. The view is the best part of the experience.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The food!!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerspirit02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I couldn't believe the reviews I read.......did I stay at the same hotel??? From the moment I walked in, I knew it was a mistake to stay here. The smell of must and mildew in the lobby was over-powering. Our room was cramped, very dated, and in poor condition. The noise from the interstate was terrible.....I could not sleep. I understand hotels out west are more expensive, but I felt the price was ridiculous, considering the quality of the room. Maybe the C building wasn't updated? Maybe the other reviewers were in more updated rooms? I don't know. I DO KNOW that I was very unhappy with the room, and my stay. Never again!!

  • Disliked — Noise, shabby room conditions, bad bed, price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

I actually stayed at the Shilo Inn several times over the summer of 2008 for job related travel and always found the Shilo team pleasant to be around. In fact, several people at the front desk started to recognize me. The rooms are nicely sized and were always clean. The internet connection always worked fast and the pool was nice and refreshing. The free breakfast is a good deal and is served quickly.

Ultimately for the price, I would prefer a nicer grade of towel and on one occasion the bed frame I had wasn't properly aligned with the frame but that was easily fixed by the staff.

If you're going through The Dalles, OR this is probably your strongest option.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The hotel is somewhat overpriced, but the restaurant, Portage Grill, is to be avoided at all costs. This is the second we've eaten there in the past three months. This time a brush fire had closed the freeway, so we had no choice. It reeks of cigarette smoke from the adjacent lounge, comes complete with fly-specked windows and dead insects on the window sills. The staff is unknowledgeable and inattentive and the food is poor quality and poorly prepared. Next time we'll settle for the nearby McDonald's.

  • Liked — Roominess of unit
  • Disliked — Portage Grill
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Shilo Inn, the Dalles is in a fantastic position looking right across the Dam . Very impressive entrance and lobby with a nice sitting area. Efficient , friendly staff. Very nice room but let down by the very small bathroom with a very wobbly painted bath whose paint was peeling off.
waitress served hot breakfast included in the room rate. We paid $65 for a Queen for 2 ( price with 'Room saver' coupon.)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
268 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.4 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.4 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Property: Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058-9718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing