We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cousin's Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cousin's Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Front desk was very helpful with suggestions to visit with maps and brochures. Our beds were very comfortable and the room was a nice size. We were surprised to have a Keurig coffee maker in the room and also in the office area with other coffee available. We did not use the pool area, but were told it was pleasant.
See tip about room selection!

Room Tip: We got in late on a Saturday night and had no complaints; however we stayed Sunday night, also and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    164
    59
    23
    15
See reviews for
146
169
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife had me go on line, to check out the Cousin's Inn, after she got a pamphlet from a friend.
We both wanted a nice (Clean) place to stay, while we vacationed in the area. After seeing the
Cousin's Inn on line, we decided to stay there (4 nights). During our stay, we got directions from
the front desk staff and even from "Saloon" staff, on how to get to local sites we wanted to see.
On one occasion, I asked about finding a certain waterfall, the front desk personnel were very
helpful.
The grounds are neat as a pin, the pool area and Jacuzzi were spotlessly clean. I had brought
a room towel to the pool, but was surprised by fresh towels poolside already! Housekeeping was
on top of any request, as extra towel or pillow!
One morning I spoke with the grounds keeper, he was also very helpful and cheerful, answering my "Touristy Questions"!
Our stay at the "Cousin's Country Inn", was a delightful experience and enhancement to our
vacation. Thanks again to all the staff, my wife got to see her first waterfall, thanks to your
excellent directions and maps you provided me!
I've already recommended the Cousin's Country Inn to family members, since my return to
Reno, Nevada. My wife & I enjoyed our stay so much, we extended our stay, by one more day.
Very COMFORTABLE BED! My back injuries told me so!

Very Satisfied With Your Establishment,
Mr. Martin
USN RET.

Room Tip: Guess what, they have "SMOKING" rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USNretired93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Country Cousins. We had a larger older room in the back. #249 upstairs. Quiet with a comfy king bed. The AC is the old style (very LOUD) but we turned it off to sleep and kept the window open instead.

Older TV but tons of channels. First time we've ever had a room with a newer Keurig® coffee maker.

The staff was very accommodating with four kind young ladies at check in. Zero waiting. Attached restaurant offers a huge menu. Our breakfasts were very tasty. Our server was exceptionally friendly.

We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was just a one-night layover on a long trip, but it was a great place to stay. Check-in was a little slow because they had just one young woman working. She was trying to help walk-ins and answer phones. When she was able to help us, she was very friendly and efficient. Our room was surprisingly large! We had a king bed that was a little too hard for my taste, but I slept pretty good after a long day of driving and visiting friends. We weren't expecting a view for the price and location, but we were a little taken aback by the close proximity of an apartment building. Their windows looked directly into ours. Fortunately, it was nighttime so we didn't need to open the blinds. One other kind of weird thing is how the doors to the rooms are positioned. Picture a V shape. Each line of the V is a door. It makes access a little difficult if you decide to come/go at the same time as your next-door neighbor. Country Cousins also operates a restaurant on site. The farm theme is delightful and the food is really good! We would not hesitate to stay at Country Cousins again sometime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the buildings toward the front of the complex to avoid close proximity to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieJOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Country Cousins is a clean motel in the Dalles that accepts dogs. We had room 101, which had frig and micro, but was Very small but adequate. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. 101 is under the stairs and was somewhat noisy,. The internet did not work well but the connection was very slow.
Be sure to ask for room in the front row bldg. or ask about the Steelhead rooms.
Restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: ask for room in the front bldg...on first floor 103, 104, or 105 or steelhead rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

In The Dalles, Oregon, Cousin's Country Inn is convenient to the I-84, has good sized rooms and is clean with comfortable beds. You get a discount in the restaurant which is right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side do not get at much freeway noise which really is not all that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room was beautifully updated and fairly good sized for the price. The staff was very friendly, even going as far as to place us by the pool since they knew we had kids. They also didn't charge us extra for having 3 children, while we found other places did. We would definately stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laurinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
1.3 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
6.6 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cousin's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cousin's Country Inn

Property: Cousin's Country Inn
Address: 2114 W 6th St, The Dalles, OR 97058-3524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cousin's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cousin's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cousin`s Country Hotel The Dalles
Cousins Country Hotel
Cousins Country Motel
Country Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing