We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 The Dalles OR
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The roomed seemed nice enough but the walls were paper thin. Eventhough there were plenty or rooms open, there was no attempt to spread people out to reduce the noise. Also, there was not any lotion or conditioner.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenyaUte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at this location for 8 to 10 years-have always had good service & room on lower floor-The last trip I was put on upper floor the room was ok but the smell of smoke was very strong & I do not smoke--This hapened even though I had made reservation
one Month in advance

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DONALD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Check in was OK, got two key cards for the 5 of us. Had to go back 5 times to have them recharged before we could get into our room on the 2nd floor, we asked if this was unusual and we were told no. Had to ask for 2 more towels because only 3 in the room and we were told that we would have to wait because it had been a busy day, also had to remind then that we needed the cot for the 5th person and got the same response. Would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Very loud on freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgossen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I called ahead to confirm , was put on hold at once and after 5 minutes was cut off. I called for the next 4 hours with phone ringing for several minutes at a time with no answer. Finally after shift change there was an answer, and confirmation. If there had been a fire or robbery it would have been excusable, but definitely lacking in customer service.
Our two rooms were not adjoining as requested, and one room was immediately changed because of terrible smoke smell in 'no smoking' room.
Beds were comfy and amenities adequate if not abundant. actually good for the price.
Brunch was adequate but I would suggest inexpensive addition of a protein such as peanut butter or hard cooked eggs.

Room Tip: Hooray! an elevator! With windows closed, road noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mz_scrlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We were not impressed by this motel. It was late when we needed a place to stay. The front desk clerk was nice.
The sheets were torn and the towels were so thin. Stains on the pillows. Air conditioner did work great! The carpet looked new too.

I would recommend keep on driving or try somewhere else for a little mor money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for one-night last weekend.

While the staff is courteous, the hotel has quite a few cons:

1) It's located too close to the highway and has inadequate sound insulation. The highway noise is very intrusive.
2) Included continental breakfast is way too simple. Bread looks stale and fruits (a few apples and oranges) look wrinkly.
3) The tube TV inside the room is from and last millennium and shows lines and snow flakes.
4) The hallway smells smokey. Not sure if they have smoking rooms...
5) The elevator is the slowest in the world (no exaggeration) - it took about a whole minute to move from the first floor to third while making no stops on the way up. I soon learned to run up and down the stairs in a much more timely fashion.

A few good things about this hotel:
1) It's next door to Fred Meyer - easy and convenient shopping opportunities if you forget something at home.
2) The parking lot is well lit.

Overall recommendation? Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay in this place: Get a room on the west side of the building if possible - Its eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanDanGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Approaching the lobby I noted a broken window in a laundry room to the right of the lobby. The lobby was fairly clean and orderly, the desk clerk was neither friendly nor unfriendly. The auto club price of nearly $80 seemed a bit steep for the facility but there is not a lot of choice in The Dalles and nothing better for many miles if e/b on I-84.

The room was small and appeared clean. I didn't look too hard for fear of what I might find.

Summers in The Dalles are hot and the a/c was not on, hence the room was very warm.

The bathroom was small but adequate. Upon closer inspection there was a considerable amount of mold where the shower wall joined the tub. The towels were tiny and thin.

Breakfast....dry bread,dry bagels, dry cereal and terrible coffee.

Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.6 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
252 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
0.7 mi away
Cousin's Country Inn
Cousin's Country Inn
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 The Dalles OR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 The Dalles OR

Address: 609 Cherry Heights Rd, The Dalles, OR 97058-3581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: $72 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 The Dalles OR 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 The Dalles OR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Super 8 Hotel The Dalles
Super Eight The Dalles
Super 8 The Dalles
The Dalles Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing