We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay due to Truck breakdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were towed here on Friday and were told that our truck could not be fixed until Monday and it would take all day. The Guesthouse was recommended to us by the local garage. We have found it excellent! Good value for money. Clean. Excellent friendly staff. Quiet even though next to I-5. I was sick with a cold when I got here but have not slept so well in months! Nice to find a very pet friendly hotel. Breakfast in the morning is great as well as the popcorn and tea/coffee in the evenings. You made our enforced stay very bearable!

Room Tip: We were at the back overlooking a small patio area and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Delighted you got good rest while the truck was being repaired. If you are going to have to suffer through a break down, Sutherlin is a good place to do it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 379 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Guest House Inn and suite in Sutherlin on our way down to Palm Springs from BC and on our way back. We had our cat with us and they are a very pet friendly place. The hotel is very clean. The service is good and the breakfast which is included in the price is also good. The price is very reasonable and you get very good value. We have paid considerably more for much inferior places. Across the street is a good restaurant called Apple Peddlar (?) which is conveniently open 24 hours so after a long drive one doesn't have to drive to dinner. We will be staying there again next fall when me make our way back to SoCal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himalayaDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We appreciate you recognizing our value. The restaurant next to us is The Apple Peddler, a popular, 24/7 family restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights midweek and found the room clean and quiet, one side of the queen mattress very comfortable while the other side sagged a bit in the middle (room #108), the omelets and biscuits and gravy included in the breakfast a nice addition to the typical continental breakfast, and the staff very patient and accommodating. The price made this a wonderful value.

Room Tip: Rooms directly under an occupied room are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifreakjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for recognizing the value we work so hard to provide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

It may not be important to other travelers, but I believe a good bed is the most important part of staying at a hotel. The bed in my room (#320) was lumpy and uncomfortable. I didn't complain because I liked my room otherwise and didn't want to risk other surprises.

I stayed 4 nights and the bed was made every day; fresh towels were provided every day and I appreciated that.

The free breakfast was pretty good; omelets and fresh waffles, etc. It wasn't one of those "continental" breakfasts - a grandiose name for grapefruit and cereal in the morning.

The WiFi is pretty slow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Naveed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for the compliments on our breakfast and our service. I am so sorry you weren't comfortable in the bed. Our beds all have pillow top cushioning and upgraded linens, but I know people have different preferences for comfort. I sure hope you'll give us another opportunity to serve you as I am certain we can provide a bed that will feel comfortable to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Room & property was nicely appointed for no frills price point. Staff was very accommodating upon arrival. We were towing my boyfriends boat & did not feel comfortable leaving it in the adjacent truck parking lot, since they were not full they allowed us to take up a couple spots in front of the hotel.

We did unfortunately have a couple issues. Bed is very firm, not comfortable for anything more than a night or two. Our key card stopped working a couple times but once I found a staff member they reprogrammed our card. We stayed in room 123 adjacent to the lobby & except for a crying baby next door early one morning we didn't have a noise issue, but we did have a SEVERE ant infestation though. The first night we saw a couple ants, no big deal, the second night we saw quite a few more. It was after midnight by the time we got back to our room & we were exhausted from fishing all day, they weren't on our bed so we crashed. When we awoke in the morning we saw the entire room was actually infested. On the furniture, the nightstands, walls & carpet. Had we seen that they were that bad the night before we would have definitely made a call to the front desk. I took numerous pictures to show the staff but no one was at the front desk when we checked out at 11am. I called as we were pulling out of the driveway & spoke to Erin, she said she'd let the maintenance man know.

Honestly though, really other than the ants, the stay was great for the $50/night price. We might go back & try it one more time, but if I saw even one ant that'd be it for me.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank quackerbabe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for the compliments, especially of our accommodating staff. I am glad we were able to help you out with your boat, too.

Yes, it is indeed ant season in Oregon. Fortunately our treatment program is very effective and any ant-sightings are short lived!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A rare find! We drive I-5 3 or 4 times a year and usually make it as far south as Medford in one day. Motels there are usually good quality and we have not been unhappy with Medford stays. On this occasion, coming from the south, we drove on North and it was time to stop driving when we reached Sutherlin. We found this hotel really quite desirable and the price was great. Clean, spacious, modern, friendly, nice breakfast, what more does one need? We're changing our travel itinerary and henceforth will stay in Sutherlin at the Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We're delighted to hear you'll be returning on future trips. Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and spacious. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great. Free popcorn in the lobby was awesome! Price was great. We would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeAnneMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, General Manager at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We are glad you had a great stay! Thanks for mentioning our wonderful staff and for recognizing our value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutherlin
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Roseburg
60 reviews
10.9 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Rice Hill
Rodeway Inn Rice Hill
#1 of 1 in Oakland
69 reviews
9.5 mi away
Motel 6 Roseburg
Motel 6 Roseburg
#9 of 16 in Roseburg
170 reviews
11.9 mi away
Travelodge Roseburg Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR

Address: 1400 Hospitality Way, Sutherlin, OR 97479-9497 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Sutherlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Price Range: $58 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR is located less than a mile from Interstate 5. Enjoy a trip to the Reustle Prayer Rock Vineyards or play a round of golf at Oak Hills Golf Club. We offer free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Guest laundry and truck parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg Hotel Sutherlin
Microtel Inn And Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg
Sutherlin Microtel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing