We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were looking for overnight accommodations on the way to San Francisco from Portland and found this friendly, clean, and comfortable place with a good price for four people and two queen beds. It is not a luxury or even near luxury place but the free breakfast was good with one of those waffle makers fresh fruit yogurt etc and the beds comfortable. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank sezmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Many guests find us the perfect stopping point between the Bay Area and Puget Sound. Thanks for recognizing all the things that have made us one of the top rated 2-star hotels from Eugene to Medford.

By the way, since you stayed we have further enhanced an already great breakfast. We now also offer a deluxe breakfast with omelets and biscuits and gravy along with the waffles, yogurt, fruit and everything else. We offer gluten free cereal as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 379 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

To begin with, I could not stay in the hotel because there was no one in the reception counter when we arrived the hotel at night, around 11:30ish. The entrance door was locked although I could see spinning cloth dryers and empty reception area through it. We waited for 20 minutes but no one answered our phone calls or the door buzzer. We walked circling the hotel several times and noticed a number of security cameras facing us. Since no one still came out, I believe the cameras were not working properly or no one was monitoring them. My kids were not able to wait any longer so we left the hotel and headed to the Best Western Plus right across the street, where we're greeted with warm cookies and coffees. I filed a complaint to Hotels.com through which I made the reservation and finally got refund after a week. Not a word of apology from the hotel. How a hotel with such a nice rating could empty the reception desk for 20 minutes? No room service at night? Hard to understand.

Room Tip: Call in before you check in although you made a reservation. Outside security cameras may be useless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank K_Sonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

I am very sorry for what must have been quite a frustrating experience. I would certainly like to investigate what happened in your case. We staff our front desk 24/7 and you should have been welcomed into the hotel.

Your review says your arrival date was 10/3, but we have no record of your reservation. Perhaps it was a victim of the problem Expedia/Hotels.com is currently having delivering reservations to hotels? I have received no messages from you that would give me the opportunity to apologize as you requested. I have also received nothing from Hotels.com. So, you can see there is some investigating to do so we can make sure no other guest experiences the same frustration. If you would be kind enough to contact the hotel and ask for Gregg I would greatly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent two nights here because of a speaking engagement in the area. The room was clean for the most part but somewhat small as Microtels tend to be. It would be good to upgrade the TVs in the rooms to something bigger and more modern than the clunky closet-top units Microtels tend to have. The beds were hard and made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. The AC unit in the room didn't do too badly but also didn't cool as well as it should have. The continental breakfast (plus make-your-own waffles) was pretty decent but the eating area was small. The price was good for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekprof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for staying and the compliments on the cleanliness and breakfast and the value!
We actually do have rooms of varying size - it sounds like you chose an economy room which tends to be at a lower rate. We also have larger, flat-screen TVs in rooms other than the economy rooms. I'm sorry you felt the bed was not soft enough. We actually commonly receive compliments on the comfort of our pillow top mattresses. Should you choose to stay again perhaps we could put a 2nd mattress pillow top pad on your bed for you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here during our trip to Crater Lake and booked Standard Room first day and Deluxe Room 2 Queens for second day. It was a last minute booking and we were amazed at the deal we got. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable for family of 4. The standard rooms do not have Microwave and Refrigerator which can be easily requested at FrontDesk for 10$ more. Front Desk was very cordial and helpful. The main difference between Standard and Deluxe is the Microwave and Refrigerator come by default in Deluxe and Deluxe has a Flatscreen instead of the old TV. Internet is free and hotel also has free continental breakfast.The hotel itself is like ~2 hrs from Crater Lake and ~2 hours from Reedsport(Coast).

Room Tip: Hotel gets filled up very quickly so call in advance if you have special needs like Microwave/Refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks so much for staying and for the terrific review. I'm glad you pointed out that we have different types of rooms to accomodate different needs and budgets. Also glad you pointed out some of the amazing outdoor attractions that our location is a gateway to. In addition to those we are in the middle of the Umpqua Valley wine country, Wildlife Safari is 20 miles away, and the Umpqua Golf Resort - one of the best public courses in Oregon - is just down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the best hotel sleeping experience I have!The room is very small but very comfortable. I like it very much! One little unhappy with the internet, it is not very stable. There is a large white sheet bed and looks very clean and new. The tv is in a high place against bed and let us see tv very conveniently!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks for mentioning our wonderful beds and bedding. We offer pillow top mattresses and high thread count linens for that very reason!

If you have some trouble with internet access I hope you took advantage of the 24/7 support number we offer. Our internet speed is the fastest broadband cable available in the area and our Wi-Fi network is designed to be 100% available for every room. We generally find it performs very well, but if you ever find differently we would want to know and try to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for 4 days. For the price this is a good deal. This provides a clean, basic, hotel stay with a small basic continental breakfast and free wifi. There is no fitness room. I began to notice a smell on our floor that was present for the duration of our stay. Our TV in the room was from 1998 and had a replacement tv remote control. All of the kids stations had been changed to Spanish (SAP), and the remote and tv offerred no way to change back to English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks for recognizing the value we offer!
Here is more accurate information about a few things you mentioned:
- TV remotes have all intentionally been replaced with special "sanitary' remotes that have soft keys rather than buttons so they can be easily sanitized between stays. Our remotes are cleaner than any of us have at home!
- We offer free access to a 24/7 fitness center nearby.
- Our free breakfast includes fresh waffles, whole fruit, yogurt, a variety of cold and hot cereals, a variety of muffins and bagels, and 24/7 coffee/juice/tea/cocoa. We also offer free fresh popcorn at checkin.
- Our TVs are specially designed commercial TVs designed to not be programmed with the remote in the room. We would have been happy to correct the programming on your TV had you had brought it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband, sister in law, dad and brother drove from Portland to the Roseburg area to visit the Wild Life Safari. We wanted to make it an over night trip so we choose the Microtel to stay in for the night. I choose this hotel after reading other reviews of hotels in the areas and I was not disappointed. The rooms were a decent size ours had 2 queen beds, an AC, a good size bathroom and free WIFI internet access. The beds were comfortable and clean. The only thing that was missing from the room was a refrigerator and we were disappointed in that because we had things that needed to go in the fridge. Other than that I didn't have any complaints about the room itself. While we were in the room there was a lot of noise in the hallways so I could tell that the walls were not very thick, but we were able to sleep. The hotel also had a complimentary wine tasting that I attended and that was nice as well. The staff seemed friendly, and we were well taken care of. There is a restaurant next door that has a big menu with many choices which was nice because our party had some dietary restrictions. We will probably stay here again if we were to stay in the Roseburg area again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entheend8337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heritagehotelmgmt, Owner at Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks for choosing us and glad to hear you'll be back!

We do offer rooms with refrigerator/microwave units, so on your next stay just let us know that is what you prefer and we will book one for you. We can even roll in a mobile unit to instantly upgrade the standard room you were in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutherlin
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
9.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Roseburg
60 reviews
10.9 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Rice Hill
Rodeway Inn Rice Hill
#1 of 1 in Oakland
69 reviews
9.5 mi away
Motel 6 Roseburg
Motel 6 Roseburg
#9 of 16 in Roseburg
170 reviews
11.9 mi away
Travelodge Roseburg Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR

Address: 1400 Hospitality Way, Sutherlin, OR 97479-9497 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Sutherlin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Sutherlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Price Range: $59 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR is located less than a mile from Interstate 5. Enjoy a trip to the Reustle Prayer Rock Vineyards or play a round of golf at Oak Hills Golf Club. We offer free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Guest laundry and truck parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg Hotel Sutherlin
Microtel Inn And Suites Sutherlin / Roseburg
Sutherlin Microtel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing