We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta have Mexican Food”

EL Caporal - Sunriver
Ranked #21 of 28 Restaurants in Sunriver
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gotta have Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

There's always that time during the week that you feel like Mexican food...and there it is, right in the village. Dining in is fun and the atmosphere is festive. But you can always pick it up to dine at home. Either way - yummy and there is plenty of food with your serving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    30
    19
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, great drinks”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Another delicious dinner at El Caporal, this time for our whole family. Spicy salsa, sodas, and big margaritas (so many choices!) to start. Delicious fresh-made guacamole. Big platters of food, with more than just standard enchiladas and tacos - lots of seafood choices! Service was sometimes slow, but always friendly and more than happy to stop and discuss tequila choices or make changes to dishes. Our favorite restaurant in Sunriver.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank physicsmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“food was mediocre, service was subpar”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went in for dinner and right away asked for a kids milk to appease my busy two year old. The server came back 5 mins later with chocolate milk and said, "we dont have white milk, is chocolate ok?" I said "no" as I try to give my son healthy foods. Then the server gave me a rude look and said, "well, Ill leave it here." that made matters worse, now my son wanted it and started crying for it....I was so annoyed. When we did recieve our food, it was gross. the fajita veggies were cooked in what smelled like old butter, a gross taste and my taco salad was horrible...Ive had better in a HIgh school cafeteria. I will not be returning to eat here. AND....they charge for the chips and salsa $1.50 a basket after teh first basket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal at El Corporal. It was good Mexican food. We loved the salsa...spicy and fresh. If you have kids or a smaller appetite, order off the kids menu. Great portions and very reasonable. The charge is slightly higher if you are an adult ordering, but it's worth it! The restaurant is small and gets crowded around dinner time, so you may have to wait but it's worth it for a Mexican food fix!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a Sunriver Family Favorite”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Good food, always Great Service.
Menu has good variety.
Nice location in Sunriver Mall.
Some outside dining in summer.
Bike rack near restaurant to Lock bikes

Helpful?
Thank Landis-5_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Caporal - Sunriver also viewed

Sunriver, Central Oregon
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 
Sunriver, Central Oregon
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 

Been to EL Caporal - Sunriver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing