We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star Party with the Oregon Observatory Staff--Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oregon Observatory at Sunriver

Oregon Observatory at Sunriver
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s no better place! The local elevation, pitch dark surrounding and crystal clear air make it perfect for star gazing. You won’t be lining up for one telescope. The Oregon Observatory is the largest astronomical viewing facility in the United States. Feast your eyes on far away galaxies. Recognize the rings of Saturn and the moons of Jupiter. Witness a meteor shower. Get a glimpse of globular clusters, nebula and deep space binary stars.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Star Party with the Oregon Observatory Staff--Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fabulous star party with two astronomers from the observatory! They came out to our location for a small fee, and presented a terrific program to my students. Their depth of knowledge was outstanding, and they clearly loved working with kids. We'll definitely participate in this program again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    20
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We always go to the night sky viewing when in Bend. This is never a disappointment, even on this trip when the full moon was so bright that it washed out some of the less bright celestial bodies. The trade off for that was the clear, very detailed views of the moon that were available. This trip, we also went to the daytime solar viewing and this added a whole other dimension to the experience. There is a charge for the nighttime presentation, but it is very modest. There is currently no charge for the solar viewing, daytime experience, but find it in your heart to donate a little something to continue this wonderful program.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreg0n_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was fun looking through the telescopes, and of all the pictures taken by the astronomers, and having a one on one conversation with the director. A good spot for the entire family, very knowledgeable and interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chi-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lot of telescopes. Nice staff. Cool tour!
You can see stars there better than in most places.
If you like to look at stars or if you want to learn more about stars, you should visit this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Galina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed the observatory!! Very interesting and super exciting for our kids to look through all the different telescopes. The staff was excellent.....very informative and patient. This was a great surprise stop. We will be back again!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 810Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Observatory at Sunriver also viewed

Sunriver, Central Oregon
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 

Been to Oregon Observatory at Sunriver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing