We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Oregon Observatory at Sunriver
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There’s no better place! The local elevation, pitch dark surrounding and crystal clear air make it perfect for star gazing. You won’t be lining up for one telescope. The Oregon Observatory is the largest astronomical viewing facility in the United States. Feast your eyes on far away galaxies. Recognize the rings of Saturn and the moons of Jupiter. Witness a meteor shower. Get a glimpse of globular clusters, nebula and deep space binary stars.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We took our 4 kids--ages 18, 15, 10, 10 to the observatory one evening. They had a nice presentation and several stations set up where you could few star clusters, Saturn and the moon. Everyone enjoyed it. We've been to the observatory at Bryce Canyon and that was a little better, but for people traveling to Sunriver I would definitely go if your children (or you!) have any interest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D_JOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    24
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice, helpful people”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Multiple telescopes and great night time sky without any light pollution. Views of the moon, Saturn, various stars and the space station.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moosictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the solar observation during the day which is free. Then we returned for the night sky observation. Both exceeded expectations. If you are interested at all about planets and stars don't miss these presentations. It was informative and fun and the hosts were friendly and knowledgeable. Oh my...to see Saturn!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Out of This World”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Even on a partially cloudy night, we were able to see many distant planets and stars and galaxies, Saturn being the most recognizable. The slide presentation alone is worth the price of admission - informative and done with a great sense of humor. There are many volunteers helping with the various telescopes and explaining to us laypeople what we were seeing.
The only suggestion would be a little more crowd control, as it was difficult to see in the dark where to get in line without cutting in or interfering with a telescope view.
If you have children, do enroll them in one of the solar or rocket science classes. Our 11-year-old grandson had a great time building, sending, and retrieving a rocket. He had done them before with his dad, but this time grasped the concept. (Maybe the grandparents should take it too.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing must visit experience!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were able to visit the observatory for the night viewing, it is well worth the $6! They have at least 10 telescopes you can look through to see Saturn and other various galaxy's and star clusters. The guy, Glen, who did the presentation was really nice, you could tell he knew his stuff and enjoyed working there. We are definitely planning on coming back next summer with our son, it was amazing all the things you can learn about the sky! Keep up the good work!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiarePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Observatory at Sunriver also viewed

Sunriver, Central Oregon
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 

Been to Oregon Observatory at Sunriver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing