We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is an easy trail to the falls. There are a lot bike riders. There is a narrow path down to the falls. They should make the bike riders walk their bikes down and up as there isn't much room and they race down without regards to those who are walking

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a hard time finding the trailhead so i thought some directions might help: To get to the trailhead from Bend, follow Highway 97 south 11 miles and turn right at the Lava Lands Visitor Center. Follow the road on your left for approximately 3 miles to the parking and picnic area. After parking follow the trail north to the footbridge that spans the Deschutes River, cross the bridge and follow the trial as it makes its way along the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank solesisterdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
781 reviews
343 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Perfect Stroll Along the River Bank For An Easy Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is plenty of shade parking at the trailhead. The trail is on an old railroad bed that follows the river that allows bikes. After crossing the river on a wide wooden bridge, simply follow the trail through some wetlands area, eventually for a good view of some spectacular white river rapids. Not so much of a waterfall, but none the less beautiful.

The trail is fairly flat and easy. Distance is 1/2 mile mostly shaded. Make sure to bring mosquitoe repellent, as some areas are thick with them. We were here over 4th of July weekend. It was a real pleasant walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Did I miss the falls??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not so much a hike as it is a walk, which is fine with me. At the trailhead it states the Benham Falls are .5 mile away. I track my progress with a smart phone app which tells me how far I've walked. At the half mile mark (give or take) there is a lovely view of killer white water rapids. So, are those rapids "The Falls?" There are other falls another three miles down the trail, but I didn't have time for that.

Regardless, it is a nice walk.

You will be sharing the trail with bikes, so be careful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Keliiaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Benham falls is a must see for anyone visiting Sunriver. 3.5 essentially flat and beautiful miles to the falls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trail to Benham Falls also viewed

 

Been to Trail to Benham Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing