We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was closer so we could stay there mroe often!”
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had the greatest 4 days at Sunriver. We reserved a pet friendly room and our dogs enjoyed the trip also. We loved having the deck and playing in the snow and sledding right outside. The staff was fabtastic! We loved the Illuminations Festival, the sleigh rides and the carolers. It doesnt get better than this!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
There are newer reviews for Sunriver Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,231 - 2,237 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

I took my family (Wife + two kids....9 and 5) here for a two-week trip in June of 2010....We wanted a place with plenty of outdoor recreational activities plus all the amenities of a hotel. Sunriver Resort met and exceeded all of our expectations.

The hotel: We had a lodge village suite..tons of room, great kitchen, deck with a view of the golf course and Mt. Bachelor, two beds and a bathroom upstairs, and the living room/tv room downstairs. Plenty of room for for a family of four.

Recreation: Biking, rafting, kayaking, horseback riding, and golf.

We took full advantage of all the bike trails...Very kid friendly and they take you all over the area...We found no need for our car at all. The trails are gorgeous and take you right up to the rivers. We rented a kayak and a float at the Marina (Hotel owned property) and paddled the Deschutes River. This is a very calm 6-mile stretch and the hotel staff even picks you up at the end and drives you back to the Marina.

At Fort Funnigan (kids camp) they have all kinds of mini-camps for kids. Our kids went to spy camp and candy camp while we went out to dinner twice. They both had a great time. It is located right on the hotel property. The staff at Fort Funnigan was very professional and we felt very confidant leaving our kids in their hands for a quick dinner.

My daughter went to horse camp at the Sunriver Stables and had a great time. Again, the stables are owned and run by the Hotel. They also offer horseback rides of different lengths and pony rides for the little ones.

The area: Sunriver is a vacation area. The majority of the homes are vacation rentals (some owned by Sunriver Resort). The “hub” of Sunriver is Sunriver Village (not affiliated with the hotel), They have a number of great family friendly restaurants. Check out Blondies Pizza (they deliver to the hotel) for a good casual meal. Sunriver Village has a toy shop, ice cream shop, and a great local coffee house called the Hot Lava Cafe. There was also a play area with inflatable slides and a small indoor bumper car space...This was a favorite of my 5 year old son. You can easily walk or ride your bikes to Sunriver Village...We did it every day. If you don’t bring your bikes, you can rent them at the Bike Barn.

To sum it up, this was a great vacation. We felt that the hotel offered tons of things to do, and was a good value for our money...Our price ranged from $230-$260 per day for the room. The staff was courteous and professional and the onsite food was good. If you are looking for a great family getaway, look no further. Do not hesitate to take a family trip here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tenfifteen94002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My wife, daughter, and I stayed here this past October. We scooped up a deal we found through Groupon from earlier in the summer and ended up waiting to use it till the very end of our stay in Portland. It was already getting pretty cold so the resort wasn't very crowded when we went. We had a suite with 2 queen beds on the 2nd floor and a nice kitchen and living room on the first. In hind sight, we should have opted for a single level room with a 1.5 year old, but that's our fault. The entire staff was very nice, and I thought it was a nice touch to offer free shuttle service to any of their attractions or events. The room was nicely appointed and was decorated with a log cabin type of feel. Our daughter had a great time one night making smores out on their patio fire pit and the spa at the resort was completely amazing. The drive to Crater Lake wasn't too bad (about 1.5 hrs) and was totally worth seeing. Next time I bring my family to Oregon we'll definitely be looking to stay here again sometime in the summer!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veranda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at Sunriver resort at a house we rented from VRBO.com. It was a really great place to stay. It was in August but the weather was perfect, 80s most of the week. The "town" of Sunriver is a huge resort/small town feel. There is a grocery store, brewery, and kids play area to name a few. There are parks and pools and tons of trails to ride your bike! Awesome.

I live in Portland Oregon just 3.5 hours away. What do I wish I packed more of? LOTION and SWEATSHIRTS!

They don't call it the high desert for nothing!!! My hands, feet, legs, face...so dry. And same with everyone in the house. It was like lotion was a hot item and we quickly ran out of bottle after bottle we'd bought at the grocery store for a slightly high price. PACK YOUR LOTION!!!! It also gets much colder than expected. One of the 80 degree days ended in 29 night temp. We found a local photographer to take family portraits on the resort for really cheap. That was a GREAT idea.

I loved Sunriver, I have 3 kids, ages 5, 3, and 8 months, fun was had by all. Even my east coast in laws liked it. All but the dry legs.

1  Thank jennyherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

A bit on the pricey side, but totally worth the stay, if you're looking for a private, quiet, romantic getaway off the beaten path. The room at the Lodge was complete with fireplace, gorgeous bathroom, private balcony where we could sip wine and watch the sun set over the river...and the bedding was second-to-none. I felt like we were the only ones there. And the food at the restaurant on-site was outrageously good. Go in the later summer months/early fall, if you want warmer weather. Nov-May tends to be cold, even if it's warm everywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellissima28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a great time at Sunriver. Lots to do. Played golf, bike rides, horse riding, swimming pool etc. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houlding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunriver. We had a lovely dinner in the lodge restaurant, and the room we stayed in was clean, quiet, and nicely located. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonAngelwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 44 in Bend
559 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#12 of 44 in Bend
457 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range: $189 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing