We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great For Smokers...but could not enjoy our patio!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great For Smokers...but could not enjoy our patio!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This resort has a lot going for it, but we could not understand the smoking policy. The rooms are non smoking but it is OK to smoke 10 feet from the doors! The first room we entered had 2 smokers outside on the deck below. Pretty view and you open your patio door and the smoke rises through the grate in to your room! We moved rooms over to another building and were on the ground level. This time the room beside us had smokers on the deck. We could not enjoy spacious patio. Further the large decks are all made of wood and the forest fire warnings around the resort were extreme.
We would not return to this resort unless we could be assured smoking was not permitted on the decks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sage95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sage95,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. Please know that we are currently in the process of updating our policies and procedures in regards to this issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    496
    210
    93
    44
See reviews for
881
476
42
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our third trip to Sun River over the past 5 years. We loved the home we rented, great location, great value, well maintained and comfortably slept 10. We had many fun activities to do daily ... lots of fun for all ages. Our family did many fun things including, bike riding, white water river rafting, river float, exploring the lava caves and an afternoon at the SHARC. We look forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sunriver is one of the best place in the country for a family to visit. There are activities for everyone and the views and open space are intoxicating. I would recommend for family reunions, trips in the summer, winter ski vacations, golf, swimming, biking, hiking, horse back riding, the list goes on and on. Rates are pretty good too and the just remodeled the Mall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family reunion was a great success and we're so happy to have chosen Sunriver Resort! There was so much to do: we canoed, biked, swam, and toured a neighboring lava tube. Some of our family stayed in what we called the "Hub House" and it was beautiful. The home was quite large and just ideal when all 38 of us gathered together for meals and socializing. My family stayed in a lodge suite which was just the size we needed. We took our two maltese dogs, so the neighboring grassy area was conventient for taking them outside. The one problem was that the stairs and loft had open railing which our small dogs could have fallen through. We brought a baby gate and blocked the entrance to the stairs off with a cushion, but my husband and I had to sleep downstairs to ensure their safety. We appreciated being able to take our dogs though and are glad we could make it work. The bike trails were easy, shaded and thoroughly enjoyable. The canoeing was easy and yet fun. I would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMagness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear EMagness,

Thank you for choosing Sunriver Resort as your family reunion destination. It was wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of so many outdoor activities offered in Sunriver.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunriver Resort!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stopped at Sunriver our last night of a two week trip, road tired and frustrated by the masses of summer travelers. Sunriver was like an oasis, nestled in the trees, spread out over enough territory to feel un crowded . We were an hour early for check in and our room wasn't ready, the only disappointment of the stay so we headed to the Paulina Lakes area and the Obsidian flow of the Newberry Volcano, an amazing example of volcanic activity. On our return we checked into our room and had a delight evening. Sadly we were only there one night because the list of things to do there is huge, golf, horseback riding, river rafting , paddle boarding, they have a great aquatic center with water park equipment, and miles and miles of bike and walking trails. A great spot for a family vacation and dog friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Carolaseattle,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Sunriver Resort. We completely agree that one night is not enough time to experience our 3,500 acre property with over 33 miles of bike trails. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer stay and we would be happy to assist you prior to arrival with reserving everything from golf tee times to dining, spa, and all other recreation activities.

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

returned to Sun River with our large family for the 4th year in a row. The resort has only gotten better, with their investment in facilities like the SHARC (large swim/water play area) and the location on the Deschutes River, and so many recreation opportunities we ran out of time to use them all.

Staff are friendly, genuinely interested in excellent customer service. A 4 star experience in every way.

Room Tip: we rented a private home for our large group- individuals or couples would be really happy with eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrc4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to hear from guests who have stayed at Sunriver Resort year after year! We truly appreciate your kind comments and never get tired of hearing about the excellent customer service our staff provides.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 5th year in a row!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sharc, bike, explore, just fun.....in a great luxury atmosphere!
Turn off the TV and let kids be kids.

Plenty of adult activities too.....golf, spa, tennis, dine, or enjoy the pool.

A short drive the fantastic town of Bend and all it offers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
8.9 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing