We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time In Sunriver Lodge Room”
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Time In Sunriver Lodge Room”
Reviewed December 29, 2007

I have stayed at Sunriver condos and rental houses a dozen times in the past, but this was my first time staying in a Sunriver lodge room.
It was a terrific stay. I booked the reservation through Expedia, and ended up adding an extra night through the hotel. The single room was compact and cozy. It had recently been renovated top to bottom and included a very comfortable pillow-top matress king sized bed, Good sheets, towels, shampoo ect. (this is important to me) a coffee maker,
free wireless internet and a very cozy gas fireplace. The bathroom is tiny-but functional-good shower. Overall the room is small-but as a single, it was fine for me.

The view from my room which includes and outdoor porch was of the snow covered golf course, trees and mountains. I thought the rate was excellent-about $140 dollars a night during Christmas week. It did include a pass to the Sage Springs Spa Health Club which I used every day.

I would definitely book a lodge room for future stays.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    517
    222
    95
    46
See reviews for
903
495
45
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Location, location, location!! My two teenage daughters and I stayed in a room with two double sized beds at Lodge Village. The woodwork was sticky, the room needed a good cleaning and the rug had huge dirt stains. The room was very small, although the cathedral ceilings made it feel spacious. Fortunately, the room was SO tiny, that our 3 suitcases covered the entire rug, so the rug stains were not visible. In fact, since we were in a desert, we were able to utilize the deck to store a chair from inside the room, as well as our hand baggage. Would we return? You bet-cha! Why? Location! The town, horseback riding, the observatory, spa, & other activities were a short walk/bike ride away. Actually, the observatory was the clincher. Not huge or the best in the USA, but certainly worth the trip east of the Cascades.
I hope the Lodge cleans up its act, but since it lacks competition, I doubt that it will rise to the occasion. In the meantime, expect to pay big for so-so quality.
In summary, the room is below average, while the location and activities are way above average.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank treking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Just spent four days in Sunriver, OR at Sunriver Resort. Hotel is located in quite an incredible location, with views of Mt. Bachelor, very scenic and dramatic. Nice golf course, rooms are VERY 1980's and in need of a renovation, but very clean and comfortable. (think polished brash fixtures, hunter green curtains and pheasants on the walls and you'll understand what I mean)

Overall the staff was amazing and incredibly friendly, although sometimes they just didn't quite get it and a few had a very "high school" demeanor.

Food was the biggest disappointment overall. VERY expensive in the main dining room $28-$38 per person for one entree, but very few variations and food was served lukewarm to our table. We asked to send it back for food that was hot as these prices deserve higher end and certainly hot food. Breakfast was good, and served hot. Somehow their dinner service needs some work.

Spa was very nice, and fitness center top notch. Can be a long walk from your hotel room to the main lodge, so bring comfortable shoes or call for a ride. It rained while we were there too, but the fireplace in the room made all the difference in the wworld and make an average hotel room appear to be much more luxurious.

I'd stay here again but hope they make some changes. Kudos to the staff who again were eager and willing to provide good service, jeers to those who ignored requests or didn't listen.

  • Liked — The fireplace in every room!
  • Disliked — The food!!! Really bland and mediocre food, especially main restaurant, very 2-3 star food. Room service takes FOREVER!! Try eating somewhere nearby instead.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sfcafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We just returned from a stay at Sunriver Resort. My wife and I were looking forward to a classy, upscale weekend out of town. We booked a 2 night package in one of their "River Lodge" rooms.

Upon arrival, we checked in and were assigned a room. Took our luggage up and opened the door. These rooms are described as having "spectacular views" on their website. Ours did, if you peered between the 2 large trees framing the deck and obliterating a great deal of what should have been great views of the river, golf course and mountains. Comparing our deck to the rooms on either side that we could see, it appeared that their decks were unobstructed.

We called the front desk and asked to be relocated to another top-floor room that had a better view. We were told that there were none available, but that there were bottom floor rooms available. We declined that offer and told them that we would be returning to the front desk to explore other options. While there we learned from another guest that each of the river rooms is somewhat different, and that those who were "in the know" requested specific rooms whan making a reservation. Aha.

I strongly considered just getting in the car and taking our chances with another Hotel in the area. It turns out we should have done so.

At the front desk we were offered a suite in the Village that we were told might give us the view we requested. I told the clerk that we didn't want to be in the middle of a bunch of kids and was assured that there weren't many kids staying at the resort that weekend. In fact, we were informed that there were multiple conventions being held. Lovely.

We were escorted to this room to look it over. We reluctantly accepted it, as the view was fine. It didn't occur to me to check the bed configuration, but I should have as we ended up with 2 queens rather than a King. My fault.

Over the period of the 2 days we were there, more families with small, noisy children filtered in. Apparently, lots of the conventioneers bring the entire family.

Other items:

Couldn't get Valet service when driving in for lunch. The Valet appeared to be unloading LOTS of cases of beverages from a conventioneer's van, rather than parking cars.

Had lunch at the Owl's Nest (Bar and Grill). Sat on the patio in the warm fall sunshine at 2:00 in the afternoon. Nice. Drinks came, and then we waited....and waited....

Then a family arrived and took the table next to us. In the bar....on the patio. We changed tables to avoid their yelling children. The only tables left were in the shade, and cold. But we waited some more, chilled. After nearly an hour, our entrees finally arrived with a "sorry for the delay" from the wait-person. As we left, we passed by the family and noted that their children were out of their chairs, rolling around on the deck. Spent $70 on lunch. Won't do THAT again.

To top off our stay, we decided to take a short walk after lunch along a cart path for the golf hole adjacent to our room. A girl on the beverage cart drove by and told us we weren't supposed to be walking on the cart path. Wow. Unbelievable.

We've stayed in some very fine resorts in our travels. We spent about $700 on this two day stay. It should have been a GREAT weekend. Instead, it was a disappointment.

We will not be returning, and will relate our Sunriver experiences to our families and friends.

Sunriver Resort could take some lessons in Guest Relations from Pebble Beach.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MauiGiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We have only been during the holidays and at that time of year I feel there is no better resort for families. The River Lodge rooms are upscale and classy. Great in room coffee, robes, toilitries, comfy chairs and a fireplace. The village is fun for all ages and the resort offers some great activities for the kids. We strolled the shops and saw Santa, went ice skating, had an elf come tuck our daughter into bed, made cookies and had beautiful holiday photos taken. The highlight was the sleigh ride in the snow. We can't wait to go back to this holiday paridise.

  • Liked — River Lodge Rooms are quite luxurious
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesabrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We recently had a family reunion at Sunriver. It exceeded all our expectations. There were 4 families - grandparents; one with a 9 month old, one with twin 8 year olds and one with 10 and 12 year olds. We each had a townhouse and our decks were all connected in the back. We would meet up in the afternoon and hang out on the decks and the grass area felt like our own private back yard. Either on the property or off there is so much to do in the area. We highly recommend the full day raft trip thru Sun Country tours. There is amazing hiking all around the resort and we all liked the walk around Paulina Lake and to the Obsidion Flow. At the resort our favorite part was the miles and miles of great paved bike paths. The gym is very nice and my scrub, vichy shower and massage was an amazing splurge.
For most meals we went off property. Our favorites were Merenda and Zydeco Kitchen. But we had one big family dinner and Justin was very helpful in making it work out. Ask him if he can give you without a charge the upstairs dining room with a couple of couches. It made our evening so easy because we didn't have to sit at a dining room table the whole night. The kids wandered our floor and we lounged on couches except when we were eating.

Weakest part of the property that we experienced....maid service is not too great. I happened to be there once and they asked me if I wanted the room vacuumed. What kind of question is that? Of course I want the room vacuumed. We were out of toilet paper and they left a roll but didn't put it on the toilet paper holder.

A gorgeous part of the country and a great place to be with different generations.

  • Liked — Nice property in a gogeous setting with so much to do on the river, forest and at the resort.
  • Disliked — Maid service could have been better.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My wife and I and our 1.5 and 3.5 year old sons trekked to Sun River in June 2007 to attend a friend's wedding. Though a challenge to get to, we had a fabulous time in the high plain mountainous setting.

We chose to use miles to fly to Portland and drive 3 hours past mount Batchelor to the resort. We wanted to stay somewhere close in to The Great Hall where the wedding reception was scheduled to be held. We chose a 2/2 Tennis Village condo #20 from the kind folks at Sunset Realty [--------------]. The condo is far nicer than the pictures at [-------------------].htm suggest due to the wrap around windows allowing light in from all directions. The condos are spaced out enough and only two to a building so you still get the sense of being in the forest. We had three adults and two toddlers but the place can sleep a lot more comfortably due to everything folding out . This condo even had a toddler bed we pulled out of the closet for our 1.5 year old. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and upkeep of our unit. We were a 4 minute walk to the fun and heated pool, and a 4 minute walk to the Great Hall. The condo had well maintained bikes and we rented a kid seat and trailer at the nearby bike shop at the mall.

The resort grounds are gorgeous and it feels like a quaint city with miles and miles of bike trails. Many times taking your bike was faster than loading up the kids in the car seats driving and unloading them. The marina is well equipped for the casual or hard core rafter. The airport was a fun destination for the boys to watch the planes take off and land and see the glider soaring over head.

The temps in June were cool crisp and welcome. The pool was heated and even though the air could be a crisp cool 65, the high mountain sun and the heated pool made the swimming enjoyable for all.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank My_name_is_Paesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing