We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The value for what we got was great, the staff is always extremely helpful and friendly. Can be crowded at times and not everything is always in working order.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neaton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,267 - 2,273 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

The condo unit we stayed in was spotless. It included a welcome package for our pets. The overall atmosphere at SunRiver is very pleasant and we are looking forward to going agan soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitalexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I recently posted a review, but I was not able to update or amend my review so I am resubmitting. While we have not changed our opinion of our room experience, we have changed our opinion on the follow up response from the resort, specifically director of resort operations, Scott Ellender. Our initial review is below, but I wish to add that while we stayed at the resort we did not voice our complaints. We were very disappointed in our accommodations, yet to be fair we should have given management a chance to remedy our problem. After we returned and completed their survey, Mr. Ellender's personal follow up response was among the best customer service we have ever experienced, and we appreciate his personal approach and the consideration provided by Sunriver.

PRIOR REVIEW:
We have never stayed in such an over rated overpriced resort. Whistler, Suncadia or Sun Mountain are much better destinations with superior amenities.
Our room smelled musty and old. The temperature in our room was over 80 degrees because the air conditioner was not even turned on prior to our arrival. The bedroom loft was even hotter but if we ran the fan on high it wobbled, shaked, and made noise. We couldn't leave the door open since it's on the main floor, so our first night was very uncomfortable.
Our room was very dark; the kitchen "suite" was inferior. The "fridge" was almost useless. It was either too warm or froze our food. Cooking was difficult because it's an old stovetop with uneven burners and no oven. The under- counter lighting buzzed and hummed incessantly when used.
The tub had mold and mildew, the shower pressure awful, the water ran cold before it filled the tub. Lighting plates were loose and poorly mounted in places; carpet was completely torn and shredded by the light plug on the floor. One of the lamps had a burned out bulb, the radio didn't work properly, and the TV remotes both were very weak and barely worked half the time. We could hear everything from the next door rooms, as well as the staff working outside our door. We had to push and pull the door to get the lock to work, because the door was not installed correctly. We initially reserved a week at the resort, but when classes finished on Friday we left. While the staff and main lodge are wonderful, the "refurbished" rooms are not. This is without a doubt one of the worst rooms we have ever stayed in, especially for the money we were charged...with extra resort fees and tax it ran over $300.00 a night. We can stay at the Four Seasons for less than that.

Room Tip: Speak up if not satisfied...Sunriver employees are most helpful and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheers90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our family of three (married couple with 17 year old daughter) had a wonderful summer getaway ... we only had 5 days and could have easily stayed another 5. The Resort staff are great and though we stayed in a vacation rental separate from the lodge - we had access to everything the resort had to offer. The house was good (not great), very clean... weather was great, Calderra Springs was fun (really recommend playing the Links there), bike paths are well maintained, etc. Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Take your time and read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKKLfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Awesome place to spend a week with kids. Kids had a blast, there were so many things to do they left vacation absolutely exhausted! They even got their grandparents to ride bikes with them- first time try have ridden bikes in 40'ish years! Take your bikes, take your sense if adventure- and have a blast!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We asked our children ages 10 and 12 if they want to go to Disneyland or Sunriver next summer, they both chose SUNRIVER. We will also have all of our family in tow. We had the best experience ever, we wished we could stay longer. Next time we will.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lofts. There was more than enough room for four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Wedding was on a Saturday but we arrived on Wednesday evening to enjoy the amenities the resort had to offer. Check in was fast & efficient. Our room was a lodge room on the second floor of one of many buildings. The room had a king bed & was on the small side but did have a balcony with 2 chairs overlooking one of the golf courses. The resort is very big & spread out, however, a shuttle will pick you up at your room in a very timely manner & take you wherever you want to go in the area. My husband played golf twice & said the courses were great. I used the Sage Springs Spa & it also was a wonderful experience with very friendly staff. There are four lodge pools spread out on the property plus a bigger area pool for guests & the public. The main lodge has a nice restaurant (expensive) plus a lounge bar pub where you can dine in or out. We choose outside & the food & service were very good. There is also a cafe downstairs near the golf shop. The resort also has a "Village" area with shops, restaurants, grocery store & numerous places to rent bikes for the many bike trails in the resort. There is also a childrens area with "bouncy houses & slides" bumper cars & miniature golf. Horseback riding & water activities are also available. The wedding on Saturday was in Caldera Springs across the road from Sunriver Resort. The outdoor setting was lovely & again the service was great. Didn't realize I was going to a "destination wedding resort" so the entire experience was a very pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor in lodge rooms if trouble walking steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 44 in Bend
567 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#13 of 44 in Bend
471 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
14.1 mi away
Best Western Newberry Station
13.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range: $133 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunriver Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing