We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit falls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Falls State Park

Silver Falls State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Falls, Gardens and Vines Tour from Portland
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Sublimity
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park located in the state's only rain forest, with beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must visit falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just recently visited the falls and they were magnificent especially with the lovely golden trees. You can walk behind the water fall but you can get a great view from the top. We regret we didn't have more time as we would have. Liked to walk some of the trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    95
    15
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trail of Ten Falls - a hike worth every step”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is such a beautiful hike - and so rewarding. We started at the north parking lot and descended the canyon from there. You will be following a river most of the way and the forest surrounding you is just spectacular. Before you know it, you are looking at one after the other amazing waterfall (five of them are over 100 ft drop). With a few of the falls, you can get behind/under them. The hike is approximately 8.7 miles and you will descend a total of 1300 feet into the canyon. You do eventually have to hike back up that elevation, most of which was done in about one mile up to the south parking lot and historic area. There are some great historic buildings and a nature store well worth visiting. We hiked back on the rim trail (part of the loop) to get to our car in the north parking lot.

It felt like the hike didn't take very long because it was so enjoyable (but it did take a few hours). We went on this hike this weekend (on October 19) and it got up to approx. 70 degrees - cooler in the canyon. With the leaves turning (which really added to the beauty) and the air crisp and cool, the hike felt easier since it wasn't hot out (I've done this hike once before in the summer).

Bring $5 for the parking fee. If you take the time to go here - you will not be sorry!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyinEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
287 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best hike I've ever been on!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The trail of the ten waterfalls is the best hike I have ever been on! if you do the entire trail at one time it is just under 9 miles... however there are several alternatives to break it up. We did 6.5 in the morning (8 waterfalls in about 2.5 hours with lots of stops for photos) and then the remaining 2 waterfalls in the evening once it was cooler. Take your camera-- it will definitely be something you want to remember photographically. There is a lodge at the main trailhead where you can lunch after if you wish.

We also stayed for a couple of nights at the park, it was very nice. We tent camped, but they also have rustic cabins for rental.... they were full however. the bathrooms are very nice-- some of the best I have seen while camping.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CM_G279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hiking area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Easy to moderate hiking to several beautiful waterfalls, each with its own personality. There is a longer path that connects the falls for those who want more of a challenge. We found the trails very well-maintained. Dramatic views, excellent photo ops. Glorious fresh air.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank burdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best waterfall hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Even though it was raining like cats and dogs (and it had been for days) we really enjoyed our time there. All the falls were flowing with lots of water. The walk behind South Falls was spectacular! We stayed in a cabin, as it was too wet for our tent. Cabins are reasonably priced and cozy. Even have heaters! I'd like to return to Silver Falls State Park in better weather. The positive about being there in the rain - there were very few people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Namajo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Silver Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing