We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Camping!”

Silver Falls State Park
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Falls, Gardens and Vines Tour from Portland
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Sublimity
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park located in the state's only rain forest, with beautiful waterfalls and hiking trails.
PDX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Camping!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

My son and I spent 2 nights at Silver Falls State Park in Aug 2011. We had so much fun, we didn't want to come home.

We made reservations because it was the week before Labor Day, and I wasn't sure what we were going to run into. It turned out to be a lucky thing (even though, at the time, the reservations agent said there was lots of room). Most spots were reserved by the time we got there, and this woman in the car ahead of us at check-in, was pitching an absolute fit that she was ending up with the least private, crappiest spot (I have altered her real terminology to the PG-version, it was more R-rated).

The spots, admittedly are a bit close together. There are some spots that are slightly more private in the tent area (we opted to be there, so we had the woods around us). The RV spots are somewhat private, but it is more of a meadow like area, with shrubberies and small trees. You get to know your neighbors in the tent area, and we had a pretty good spot on the outside of the loop, with the creek behind us (if you are looking at the map, we were in spot #52). The spots in the middle of the loop are on the trail to the bathrooms, and we were glad we weren't there!

Speaking of the bathrooms, the facilities in loop A (the tent loop), are really new and beautiful. The faucets in the bathroom have warm water, and the showers are free and very private (you have your own room rather than just a stall). Loop B has the same facilities, but they are older, the showers are stalls, but they are clean.

The camp hosts are really involved too, and make sure you know about the evening programs and are happy to answer any questions. They were very friendly, but not over bearing. The programs the nights we were there were, the local Native Americans history and the natural resources of the area they used, and the history of Silver Falls (they bring in local experts to talk). There are also several kids programs they run (there are at least 2 daily), which are part of the State Park Jr. Ranger program.

The campground is very close to the South Falls trailhead, which is also where the lodge is located, along with the swimming area, one of the play structures (the other was in the campground), and the nature store. The lodge has a little cafe with drinks, snacks, and small meals. It is a gorgeous building with the original, handmade myrtle wood furniture. Several of the people that worked on this lodge also work on Timberline Lodge.

The Upper North Falls trailhead is 2 miles up the road, and that is a nice short hike (0.5 mile round trip). There are much longer hikes available, including the 10 Falls Trail. That was a bit long for a nearly-4 year old, so we stuck to the shorter routes. We had my son's balance bike, but I didn't have a bike, so I can't speak to the bike trails, but there are lots of them, and I saw a lot of people using them (I was told the rides are good though).

We also made a stop at Enchanted Forest before heading into camp, which was lots of fun.

We will definitely be going back, and hopefully staying a bit longer next time!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank HaveKidWillTeardrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    100
    15
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful, yet amazing views and many waterfalls”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We visited on a cool, rainy spring weekday. So, the park and the facilities were uncrowded. We park, take photos, and walk on the paths easily. It was enjoyable, even though we only saw about three of the waterfalls. However, the main trails in the Southfalls Day-Use area are handicapped- and stroller-accessible. There are many hiking and backpacking trails, as well as several campgrounds. The Southfalls center has wonderful, old CCC-constructed cabins and lodges, one of which houses the gift shop and another a restaurant. The falls are the main attraction, however, as is the rain-forest. There are adequate facilities for families with children. Bring the camera, for the views are memorable. The park is in the Cascades foothills and has roads that encourage slow driving, with many stops for photoswww.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mulino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for family reunions”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Scenic beauty and trails. We had relatives from Canada, Washington, California and they all couldn't get over the trees.

Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Nice but busy”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Went on a beautiful Spring Saturday (in the 70s) and the part was pretty packed. Lucked out and found parking at the north falls. Trails are well kept and easy to navigate and the views were rewarding. Bring the camera. Since it is so easy to get to (25 miles from Salem), you will most likely have to fight the crowds, especially if the weather is nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
356 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“A Jewel Among the OR State Parks”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

You gotta love Oregon, the state with place names like Zig Zag, Mist (our preferred term for rain), Boring, and Sublimity--the latter being the site of one of Oregon's most spectacular state parks.

Silver Falls State Park sits in the foothills of the Cascades east of Salem and near Silverton, a gorgeous, highly tourable town with nice shops and restaurants and a river running through it. The main park attraction is a chain of ten dramatic waterfalls spilling into a forested canyon. The falls are at their peak in the spring, but they are worth visiting in any season. The best way of viewing them is from the hiking trail along the bottom of the canyon, but be advised that no pets, strollers, skateboards, etc. are permitted on that trail. Alternately, there is a rim trail providing decent views. The canyon is not so deep as to cause an unpleasant stair climb out of it. Silver Falls is the largest park in the state system and contains about 25 miles of trails, including 15 miles suitable for horses. There are rentable cabins and yurts, but be sure to apply months in advance.

Silver Falls State Park is heavily visited by locals as well as tourists, so pick your day carefully, weekdays preferred. Food services are available. For a nice add-on, visit the Oregon Garden in Silverton, an impressive horticultural display and home of a transplanted Frank Lloyd Wright house. The latter is used as a conference center and is sometimes closed for tours. Inquire before planning a visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Silver Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing