We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably childish disrespectful grim”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of McKenzie Motel

McKenzie Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Springfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKenzie Motel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably childish disrespectful grim”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Their location is great. I had been staying here on an off in month. First room pretty decent. Had for 2 nights. Getting out of shower housekeeper just walks in...oh didnt know you were staying 2 . Well did i check out?? Wk later got rm 1 night. Really dirty! I slept laying on my own personal towel over bedding as to not touch. It was a quick stay and decent before, I took pics (I clean for a living) to show cuz no way of explaining the yuck. Came back 3 days later (because location is where I needed to be!) Got that same rm and all the poo looking splatter on wall by toliet still there, black finger prints on mini fridge, baseboards with same grim and dead bugs, light switches same, NOTHING had been cleaned!!! But a change yes. Bugs were dropping down from vent in bathroom while i was doing my hair....1... .2...now.3! Ok called office. Night manager, older man,very kind, and only one who actually seemed concerned, came down looked at room and bugs and said he would put it on todo list for the day to spray for bugs and really clean. He offered new room I delined said I like the end and I would be gone all day so if they could just fix that room. Well ten hrs later walk in still bugs and NOTHING cleaned!! Talked to different night manager he didnt have a clue about anything and offered me spray I could take to do my room. So i took it and was going to clean myself. As i started I just ended up leaving. Couldnt stay. Came back in mornining. When housekeeper checked my room she stated "uh yea I am missing a wash cloth" wow a wash cloth after what I just had to go through. I said well I wouldnt even use ur washclothes I brought my own but i will look. Didnt find in my stuff. She starts yelling at me outside in parking lot "if I dont get a wash cloth u pay $2 out of deposit!!!" Well really $2 who care but at this point I did. No way were they taking $2 for a wholly raggy cloth after my experience!! Let alone in the last week i had spent @ least $300 at their motel. I refused to go in office until I could speak to manager. Guy who gave me bug spray from behind desk in managers office shrugs says i dont work here she housekeeping and know rules. Housekeeper storms out hold up my deposit and say take this now or I will just keep it! I took the $ and said theycwill be reported for the infested disgusting place. Abd again if coarse this great rep housekeepee they have yells through parking lot. "Take us to court they love usdown there" then trues telling ME I am just out for someting abd it was clean and never any bugs in my room! Well good thing I live taking pics of things that are gross huh cuz i have pic with day and time stamped on them and ur cameras will show I was there. This place should be shut down most disgusting run down people and place I have ecer been in!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momma32whoopwhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Noisy people up all night slamming doors and yelling jus wanted to escape my house for a night on my nite off.. I work at crosslands and these rooms r pretty dirty compared to where I work. Hard beds, flys everywhere... and the lady wouldn't take my debit card because she didn't think my signatures matched. Plus its a Creepy atmosphere... along with the see through curtains! The only possitive thing I mite say was it smelled like frebreeze when I walked in. The housekeepers door a piss poor job on everything else.. No wonder why its so cheap. You get what u pay for, by all means I wouldn't reccomend here for anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolemarie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

It might be nice after renovations, but egregious violations of the ADA mean you'll never find out if you have a service animal with you. Minutes ago, I was told not to book a room when I mentioned I was traveling with a quiet 14-lb service dog because the motel "lacked facilities for dogs" and would "have to charge a hefty deposit."

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YouAreNumberSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable, and the motel is a nice quiet place to stay.
I am here for three weeks to recuperate from surgery. This is a good place to. Do just that and at a very affordable price too!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorothy360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I spoke with the New Management while I stayed for a few days and this is what I was told :
Most of non smoking rooms have been remodeled. Remodeling is continuing for nightly and kitchen rooms. Some of the remodeling that has been done is New showers stalls, carpeting, paint and new counter tops.Just to name a few of the things updated.
Clean and quiet and No Parties allowed made it for a nice stay at a Great Price..
Premises monitored constantly by management and cameras made it feel safe during my stay. There was plenty of parking that made it easy to unload my stuff. Plus with the rooms on only one level it really kept noise levels down and no stairs to have to climb..

Room Tip: management is willing to help you to select a room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I recently stayed at this motel after reading other reviews and found that it was a nice stay and didn't cost too much.. I had new counter tops, new sink in bathroom and best of all a brand new shower stall. The walls had recently been repainted and I could see that remodeling in other rooms was still taking place. I was not bothered by any noise from this work being done. I had a VERY PLEASANT stay for 4 days. I received my deposit back immediatly , and have nothing to say about the staff other than very friendly and courteous.
For the low price of $ 35.99 , for one person, I was able to stay there the entire 4 nights . Other wise I would only have been able to stay at a overpriced & stuffy hotel for 1 night and been left out in the cold for the other 3 nights. The location was good because you had access to busses and stores and were not off the beaten path..
I noticed most of the reviews I had read were from years ago ( 2008) and do NOT apply to this motel in the least bit today..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield,or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed for a few days just recently .. I was quite suprised by the updates that have been done and are still going on with a lot of the rooms.. I had read other reviews ( from years ago) and must say none the complaints are true today... I found only friendly people, clean room, and no extras that i had to pay for even if i didn't want them... My deposit was returned immediately with no hassles.. I had a brand new countertop, new paint job on all the walls and best of all new sink and brand new shower stall.. It was a GREAT stay at a small rate.. The cheaper rate of 40 $ a night made it so I could stay dry and warm in a motel for 5 days instead of 2 DAYS in some trendy overpriced hotel...

I could tell that lots of updates have been done lately, lots of remodeling and no noise from it that bothered me during my stay... Thank you!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in #3 that is a smoking room , but did not smell like it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
1.2 mi away
Village Inn
Village Inn
#10 of 14 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
#3 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#14 of 34 in Eugene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKenzie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKenzie Motel

Property: McKenzie Motel
Address: 1747 Main St, Springfield, OR 97477-4947
Location: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an economy motel offering clean basic accommodations to our guests. We try to maintain low prices year round for our returning guests. However, we are still continuing remodeling many of our rooms and hope to complete them by the end of this year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing