We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ready to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not ready to go back”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

First impression was that the hotel feels new and has a beautiful lobby. Service at check-in was great.
Booked on Priceline and got a great deal compared to advertised rate and hotel accommodated our request for a room with two beds.
However, the room left more to be desired. Upon walking in the room smelled musty as other reviewers mentioned. Window to the outside opens, which helped with the smell, and you get use to it after some time until you are in the bathroom where the smell seems to originate from.
Beds have some sort of firm to soft dial, which didn't seem to make the bed any more comfortable. It always felt overly firm and made getting to sleep hard anytime I was woken up in the night, which was often. This was due to what seemed to be thin floors and walls. A kid was running in the room above us, which was easily heard, as well as a baby crying late at night. Alarms went off at late ours that could be heard. Overall, not a great nights sleep.
Pool was busy with lots of kids while we were there as well, which made the pool feel small and noisy.
Not my favorite, but not the worse place you could stay in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChateauCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear ChateauCC,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a TripAdvisor review of our hotel. We very much appreciate feedback from our guests. It is wonderful to hear that the service from our staff left a lasting impression during your stay. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you were caused from some of our other guests in the hotel. While group teams make up a portion of our rooms, we try very hard to make sure the teams are not disturbing our other guests. We are working on a better placement plan to avoid situation like this in the future. Our Housekeeping and maintenance department are working very hard to make sure the guest rooms smell fresh, clean, and welcoming upon entry and I am sorry that we missed our opportunity during your stay. I hope that in the future we are able to exceed your expectations when you stay with us.

Thank you,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    184
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
250
151
44
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This appears to be a brand new Hilton Garden Inn. The front desk staff were helpful, fast, and professional.The room was excellent, and the convenient location right off the freeway and close to many restaurants made this stop that much more enjoyable. My only gripe was that the 149.00 per night seemed a little higher than the usual 109.00 rate I usually pay at HG Inns. Aside from the rate, this was a top notch place to stay!

Note: there is a Holiday Inn Express across the street, which also appears new. I would bet that their rates are notably lower.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear charlesodonnell,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our Hotel. Our guests' feedback is crucial to making sure everyone that stays with us gets the best possible experience. Although the room rate during you most recent stay may have been higher than you are used to paying, our rates are dynamic. This means that they fluctuate with the demand for rooms in the city as well as seasons. There is a good chance that the next time you stay with us the rates will be lower than what you may have paid. I am happy to hear that our front desk staff made an impression with you and I hope that your experience during this stay will bring you back in the future. We look forward to serving you.

Thank you,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in Eugene/Springfield was friendly, clean, and accommodating! The hotel staff were awesome! The shuttle took me to and from a nearby conference and to a shopping mall! The serve was outstanding. The restaurant food was delicious and the price was right. Our stay was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Cheryl l,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you, like many travellers, have enjoyed your stay with us. Our complimentary guest shuttle is an amenity that really helps us serve our guests and make sure they get to where they need to go. Im glad that you were able to take advantage of our Great American Grill full service breakfast and hope that you are able to enjoy all of these amenitities and more the next time you stay with us.

Thank You,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laytonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The gentleman at the front desk was rude and concieted, gave us strange looks and acted like thr rate for the room should be too large for us to afford. When we asked if we could stay more nights he said we could not book the room for a longer stay. The room we got smelled musty and grimy, when put in a differant room the housekeeping never came to claen the room for our entire stay, the heaters were malfunctioning causing it to be too hot or too cold, the swimming pool was cold, Over all our stay was like a punnishment, the only reason we stayed is because it was already paid for, A very uncomfortable and poorly run hotel. We will NOT be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear lynne h,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel. I am terribly sorry for the experience you had during your stay. I would very much appreciate if you are able to contact me so we can discuss these issues in person.

Thank You,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
gteune@hgispringfield.com
541-741-4682
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, beds super comfortable, clean, plenty of towels, outlets. Staff was friendly, especially the wait staff. Had room service food which was excellent. Had room on top floor overlooking the motel next door and a freeway. Freeway noise but not enough to keep me awake. Only negatives were no movies or television guide, except for Showtime, but worse was no fan in the bathroom. Comfortable desk space and lounge chair. Walls thin enough to hear neighbors with small child - not even sure they were direct neighbors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceful1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear peaceful1958,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of a few of our many amenities, such as our room service from our Great American Grill on site restaurant. We constantly strive to maintain our rooms, which includes limiting outside noise from the surrounding area and other guest room. I am sorry that there was enough outside disturbances for you to make note of, and I will be sure to alert our maintenance department of this. Again, thank you so much for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield as your hotel of choice in the Eugene/Springfield area and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank You,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The lobby, rooms, and all the amenities of this hotel are great. We really liked the room and appreciated the wi-fi. The location is good, too, because of all the nearby restaurants and its close proximity to the freeway. We will definitely stay here the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us like many other travelers have. Our complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel is a great amenity that our guests really enjoy. Our easy access to the freeway and both downtown Eugene and Springfield makes it easy to get where you are going quickly. I look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank You,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I always stay at these Hilton Brands-- They are always a notch above the Marriott. I travel often for business, and I cannot waste time with descrepancies-- the quality is always realiable. Even though this is right next to the highway, it is very quiet. It is a short drive to the University and a few stores and fast food is near by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHSFBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg T, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear MHFSBay,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of our hotel. I am very happy to hear that everything we offered met your needs. We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope that we can really WOW! you with our service and amenities.

Thank You,

Greg Teune
Front Office Manager
Hilton Garden Inn - Eugene/Springfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Eugene - Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
#3 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Eugene
3.3 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#4 of 34 in Eugene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
Address: 3528 Gateway St, Springfield, OR 97477-1058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Eugene/Springfield hotel in Oregon is located just off I-5, less than 8 minutes from the University of Oregon campus, Autzen Stadium and 10 miles from the Eugene Airport (EUG). We are conveniently located near many area companies such as Peace Healths Sacred Heart Medical Center at RiverBend, Peace Health Laboratories, Symantec Corp, Weyerhaeuser and Georgia-Pacific. Nearby attractions to the Hilton Garden Inn Eugene/ Springfield include Alton Baker Park on the Willamette River, Lane County Fair Grounds, Gateway Mall and more than 30 local wineries. The Hilton Garden Inn Eugene/Springfield hotel features include the following amenities and services in order to anticipate, meet, and exceed the needs of our guests:- Exquisitely designed guestrooms and suites, all with the Garden Sleep System® adjustable bed, complimentary wireless HSIA, Herman Miller ergonomic Mirra® desk chair, 37-inch flat screen HDTV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board and hair dryer - The Great American Grill® Restaurant and Bar features breakfast, dinner and evening room service - An indoor pool and spa - A well-equipped Precor® fitness center - 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® - Complimentary 24-hour business center offering computer, printer, fax and internet access - Over 3,200 square feet of flexible meeting-banquet space, catering, full audio-visual equipment - A professional and well equipped sales and catering staff ready to meet your group and meeting needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing