We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rogue River Excursion

This trip is really a scenic float through the Rogue River wilderness with a little fishing... read more

Reviewed October 15, 2018
rclebcandy
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Fabulous day on the McKenzie

WOW! What a fabulous trip fly fishing on the McKenzie. Doug and Ryan were great guides. From... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
trendab2014
,
Pollock, Louisiana
via mobile
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bucket list salmon last minute middle fork look forward great trip great food kelsey crew fishing camping accommodations expert rogue ladies scenery reality
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed a 4 day, 3 night trip on the Rogue last October. Things magically fell into place as the trip ensued: a 4-6 inch rainfall over the watershed 10 days prior to our trip ended a long, dry fall and raised the river flow while cooling down the river. The weather during our trip was perfect - foggy mornings that cleared quickly to pleasant fall days. The steelhead run began while we were on the river so each day there was even better fishing that the previous day. Helfrich Outfitters ran a top-notch float trip - we were part of a 6 boat group. We enjoyed a great menu of food and dined on fresh steelhead trout for lunch - top notch.

Date of experience: October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I have had many opportunities to fish the McKenzie River with Helfrich River Outfitters. Every experience was filled with great fishing, beautiful scenery and amazing guides. The guides know so much about the river--the history and fishing techniques. They provide a beautiful delicious shore lunch and take every opportunity to stop and take in the majestic scenery on the McKenzie River. The family's history on the river is so interesting and charming. I feel so fortunate to know the Helfrich family and will look forward to another great fishing weekend in June with a group of lady friends--Ladies on the Fly. These adventures are memories of a lifetime! It rejuvenates the soul!!!

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank GreggandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Wonderful Trip, experienced guides, good fishing, great company. The food was good and the and the spirits (human and otherwise), Couldn't have been better. It is a wonderful way to celebrate Oregon.

Date of experience: September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Gretchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

There are a lot of outfitters that can manage the river, but few, if any, can match the overall experience of a Helfrich trip. Regardless of your experience level, they make you feel inclusive from the very beginning to the last minute on the way home. A memory is the one thing that no one can take from an individual. My wife of 40 years has very high standards when it comes to travel experiences, yet when I mention the possibility of a Helfrich trip, regardless of location, it rises to the top. Easily surpassing Mexico, Hawaii, Europe or Asia, it doesn't matter where we book a trip, but it does matter with whom we travel with. Without going into the details , as that could be a book, I can easily say that a Helfrich river experience is a memory made that is hard to surpass, and one that is easily recalled.

Date of experience: July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Johntoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We did the Middle Fork trip with Helfrich in 2012 and enoyed it so much, we signed up to do it again in 2013. There is not one thing--not ONE--that I can possibly think of that Helfrich could do to make this a better trip. From help booking the trip (Sherill & Ken), to our orientation in Stanley, to the trip itself (accomodations, food, guides, cultural information), this is THE BEST trip and outfitter you could possibly ask for. Wait until you fall asleep in your cozy tent--errected by someone wonderful on Ken and Kelsey's crew--and wake up to Eggs Benedict that rivals that from any fancy restaurant. The guides will go out of their way to help you catch fish, find the best hike, run the rapids and see the local pictographs. This trip cannot be beat, cannot!!!!

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank merizonsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews