We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beers and pub food - yep!”

Hop Valley Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 175 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our restaurant and tap house cater to the "Beer Geek", but also the business traveler and families that are out to enjoy great food and drink in a comfortable, fun atmosphere. We are located right off of I-5 and Gateway just behind McDonald's.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beers and pub food - yep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hop Valley consistently turns out well-made beers, and their restaurant serves above-average pub grub. Staff is always alert, even when it's busy. A little noisy, but it's a pub!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank daddiowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    173
    65
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food-good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good selection of great dishes with quality ingredients, the occasional flub can be overlooked with the average quality being so good. It can get busy so wait times can be lengthy. Tables in the middle of the dining area can feel a bit exposed so angling for a booth or bar seat is the best plan.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were travelling through the area on our way home to Canada. The BW told us this was good pub food. The fish and chips were okay. The fish was good the fresh cut fries were okay. No cold slaw or any thing with the fish and chips. Now one of our party ordered a well done hamburger which came out the first time raw and the second time - after a15 minute wait - like a dried hockey puck. He said it was the worst hamburger he had ever had in 50+ years. The Stepchild red ale was very hoppy and cloudy. So far worst meal we have had in three weeks of travel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Greasy, at least fish was good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Could be better, could be worse.
Would not reccomend.

Food...
+ Good fish on the Fish n Chips plate: 4 or 5 big chunks of very white cod.
+\- The batter was thick (read: greasy) and was soggy on the bottom of some pieces...
- With the option of beer battered fries or fresh potato chips, I chose chips.
- The fish were served on top of the chips, so I went ahead ate them with my hands! I learned, after tasting them that the chips are freshly FRIED, not fresh CUT as you might assume when a menu says Fresh Potato Chips. Dry little pheres of grease they are.
- My hubby's sandwich was bland and dry. Fries were nothing special. He ordered a Hop Valley root beer to start but it never came. So I ordered itagain, not charged double and it was good at least.

Atmophere (Friday Lunchtime)
It's loud.
The service, young waitresses wearing shorts and tank tops, are hired more for thir looks than service skills probably, but not unfriendly. Restaurant is pretty clean, I'd say.

Competitively priced.
Many other restaurants in area.
Menu online.
Maybe a salad if I return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skates79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad80
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stopover place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hop Valley is conveniently located for those of us from Seattle headed south. Located in the middle of chain hotels and restaurants, it is a real gem. Four of us went there early on a Thursday night and were lucky to get the last table for four. Place was full and most of them were locals. Service was almost instantaneous and made suggestions on the menu. All of us ordered different entrees from coconut prawns, grilled pastrami sandwich, chilli, and salad. All of us very pleased. The beer is also excellent with a good variety. A keeper! Will definitely be back when travelling South.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop Valley Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Hop Valley Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing