We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad for a One Night Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Bad for a One Night Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the Springfield, OR location while on a brief business trip. Overall the stay was okay, staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. The hotel itself is old and in need of renovation.

The price for the room was much lower than the other nearby hotels, I now know why. The main reason (I see) is that the hotel is less desirable than the others due its age and condition.

The continental breakfast is minimal with little selection but okay. The coffee they serve is actually pretty good compared to other hotel coffees I’ve tried. There are plenty of good places to eat within walking distance.

Unfortunately this location does not have a fitness center and I did not see any fitness centers nearby. They do have a heated pool but I did not bring my swim suit so did not give it a try.

Their free internet was actually okay, one of the better speeds that I’ve experienced in a hotel. Reception on the TV, with many channels, was poor but thanks to their internet speed and Netflix that wasn't a problem.

If you are just passing through the Eugene, OR area and need a place stay for the night that has a clean bed and shower and an iron to get the wrinkles out of your packed clothes then the Shilo Inn is not a bad choice. Though the hotel is old, their staff friendliness makes up for some of the short-comings. If you are looking for a complete, new, modern hotel then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are currently updating the hotel. We have switched service providers since your stay. And we are currently working on getting a fitness center deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    21
    25
    29
See reviews for
32
22
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent a weekend here with my mom and sister. The staff was very friendly, but the room was awful. I tried to sleep on the hide a bed and was found crosswise in it in the middle of the night. The things was so uncomfortable. I had moved between the support bars on my sleep. We had a kitchen, but no dishes to speak of, and a lampshade was broken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnL389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are really sorry about your experince here. We are currently working on updating our hide-a-beds. We are addressing all of the issues and getting them fixed. We are really sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Close to the freeway which makes it super convenient while traveling. Great staff!! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Our room was sparkly clean and everything was in working order. Even the wifi was great! We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

A nice hotel to stay when you need a place to stay. It is just by the freeway and near restaurants and shopping mall. The bed was very comfortable. Tricia at the frontdesk was very nice and made us feel like home. The restaurant, Elmers, was very conveniently located in the hotel.

Room Tip: room 281 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for youre feed back and are happy to here you enjoyed youre stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a surprise to see a nice hotel located just near the I-5 at Springfield. I was tired and wanted to just find a place to sleep before I continue driving next day. I got off the free way and Shilo was right there so I just picked the first hotel. The service was great, the room was clean. The price was great! I will certainly come and stay again next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adairconst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the review we are glad you enjoyed youre stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This property is older and shows some wear along with having so street appeal. But I caught the special on Booking.com for $59 and that made it OK.

Gal at front desk was really friendly and smiling. Got a handicap room cause I needed ground floor and it was the last one on ground floor.

Breakfast is nothing except coffee, waffles, and rolls so I did Elmer's (restaurant at front of hotel) for breakfast.

Everything worked and inside the room was in order.

Probably wouldn't have been too happy if I had paid higher price.

Happy Traveling,

Uncle Eric

Room Tip: Take a look first, I see rooms in photos look a lot different from the one i got
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERIC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for youre review. We are curently in the process of getting updates done on the hotel. All the T.V's in the rooms now are all flat screens. The hallways are getting painted along with other projects. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came in late, right off I5, and had an excellent reception from the young man at the front desk. The room was large with kitchen and sofa. The bed was clean and comfortable. This was the most generous continental breakfast we had on our trip. Good price, great room and wonderful free breakfast. I can't believe some of the other reviews.

Room Tip: We had a large room with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttercup87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for youre reveiw we are working hard to update the hotel and look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
#3 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Eugene - Springfield
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Eugene Springfield
Courtyard Eugene Springfield
#7 of 14 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield
Address: 3350 Gateway St, Springfield, OR 97477-1003 (Formerly Hotel Eugene-Springfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eugene-Springfield – If you're planning to stay in the Eugene/Springfield area of Oregon the Hotel Eugene-Springfield is the perfect location for your lodging; it is conveniently centered right off Interstate 5 with easy access to the bordering cities. An excellent choice for business travelers or vacationing families, Hotel Eugene-Springfield is without question one of the best values available in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Eugene Springfield Hotel Springfield
Shilo Inn Springfield
Springfield Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing