We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Delightful and excellent”
Reviewed July 20, 2005

Our family of four stayed here in mid-July after leaving sub-standard accomodations in Diamond Lake and were delighted that we did. The rooms were clean, recently re-done, and good sized. The bathroom was gorgeous! My kids thought the TV was unbelievably big. We stayed in a two-queen bed room for $98 plus tax. The hotel staff was very helpful, but also very busy and a little understaffed from what I could tell. I learned later that the owners of the hotel had passed away in a plane crash two weeks prior, and so everyone was stretched a bit thin and trying to hold it together. One young regular employee was the daughter of the owners, and she had been in the crash, but survived, too, so needless to say, the remaining employees were simply trying to hold everything together.

The outdoor pool and meticulously manicured lawns were golf-course beautiful. My kids had fun feeding the resident llamas (food and bowls provided free of charge!), and also enjoyed a free VCR movie and free borrowed board game. I watched a maintenance man lovingly hand-apply linseed oil to the outdoor pool furniture while my kids hopped back and forth from the pool to the whirlpool in the morning. Clearly the people who work here take pride in their hotel.

The free breakfast was really very yummy - especially the make-your-own belgian waffles (I was shocked when the woman in charge of breakfast told me they were from a mix; I was sure they were homemade).

The Sisters area is quaint and touristy, but a good stopping off place due to the fabulous views and natural resources of the Sisters mountains. I highly recommend the Best Western Ponderosa as your place to stop!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank mindfultraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    141
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
241
315
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2005

This was the best hotel that I stayed at in my whole trip to Oregon. Sisters is a must see town. The decor is beautifully done - western theme and the host and hostess are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2005

Very friendly and professional folks with excellent service.

We had been treated very rudely and verbally abused across the street at the Comfort Inn by it's manager, and had packed up and left. We were going to stay just one more night in Sisters, and went to the Best Western Ponderosa and were just welcomed with open arms. Kathy at the front desk listened to my anguished account of what had just occurred across the the street and offered us an excellent room for it's value. It was so much appreciated that we stayed another two nights and enjoyed our trip after all!

The Best Western Ponderosa is a great experience and the room we had was just perfect. Pine beams overhead with warm knotty pine woodwork throughout set the mood of the room. With a comfy sofa, and even a leather chair and ottoman to relax on while the fireplace warms you, it's easy to unwind in this fabulous setting before sleeping in a great King size bed with pine pole rustic headboard. Outdoor hot tub is a delight. They have Llamas you can feed, and there is a fitness trail to walk the wooded 10 acres there in quiet solitude.

Besides the great service, Kathy and Rob are truly geninually concerned that your stay there is fantastic.

We will be back and we will stay there again and again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvardCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2005

Friendly staff at check in and at continental breakfast. Suite was fantastic! Huge comfy bed, fireplace w/stone surround, vcr/dvd player, walk in shower and huge jacuzzi tub. They did a nice job carrying the lodge theme throughout the whole suite. Room was sparkling clean! Only complaint would be that we could hear the people above us walking around and taking showers but that honestly is the only negative. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppity Pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2005

It was our chance to play and see snow before spring arrived and we weren't disappointed. Our room looked like a Ponderosa ranch with log beams and rustic cowboy type furniture and lamps. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were kept warm from the cold outdoors.

A treat was to be able to feed the neighboring llamas at the ranch adjacent to the hotel. We also saw roving deer in the morning outside our hotel room which you can also hand-feed.

The whole theme of the town is one big western place and restaurants and shops cater to tourists; there are a lot of good finds and great eats!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2004

Wow! I was delighted with my experience at this hotel. Our room had a western decor with log furniture that was first class - nothing rustic here. The room was immaculatly clean. The jacuzzi in the room was heavenly. The view from our sliding glass doors of the llamas grazing was relaxing. There is a fitness train amongst the pines adjacent to the hotel. In the morning we saw deer grazing right next to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was very complete and included waffles, eggs, bagels, cereal, fruit and a variety of breakfast beverages. The only thing I would change about this place is that the breakfast room is too small and tends to get crowded. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatfromKeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2003

We discovered this wonderful place several years ago while looking for a place to stay on our wedding anniversary. Have been going back every year that we can, including this year. We just love it and Sisters!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisters
1.4 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
593 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn
22.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 44 in Bend
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Redmond Airport
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 44 in Bend
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 500 W Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ponderosa Hotel Sisters
Best Western Sisters
Sisters Best Western
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge Sisters, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing