We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where else can you feed llamas?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
Washington state
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Where else can you feed llamas?”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We only stayed one Saturday night but I have to say that it was probably one of the more memorable places we have ever stayed at. Why? Because (as we were told), it is the only Best Western that has llamas. Not only that, the guests are welcome to feed them, which was a highlight of this trip for our children.

We were in a first floor room which was convenient to a very pleasant pool area, just a short walk across the manicured lawn. There were plenty of lounge chairs and the pool was up to 5 feet deep, not huge, but certainly large enough. There was also a hot pool.

I thought the room might get noisy just because it was on the ground floor, but it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the room surprisingly spacious, with a good table and chairs, plus a reading chair. It was not necessarily the most modern place we have ever stayed at but everything we needed was close at hand and the room was clean and in great condition. There was also a pleasant area to sit and relax just outside the room. While it was close and convenient to Sisters (driving distance), it was also far away enough to be quiet.

The continental breakfast was more than adequate; the coffee and drink area were available when we needed them.

The staff was very friendly and the price was reasonable. While it was a busy weekend, we were still able to get a room without any problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! We are glad you and kids had a great time and that the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge was the hit of your vacation trip. The Llamas are special to us. Some of them were born here, while most have been rescued from either abuse, neglect, or their owners could no longer care for them. Our Llamas enjoy being fed by guests, as well as our staff who give them hay each morning. The Llamas are for sure a passion and dedication for us. Please come back soon! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    141
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
241
315
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We extended our stay in Sisters because of the comfort, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. Our room was very large with a comfortable king size bed and balcony with tall ceilings that increased the sense of spaciousness. It was quiet but at a crossroads that allowed you to drive to the various attractions and restaurants in and around Sisters.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your great review! It is amazing how many people get here, relax and unwind, and then stay longer than they had planned. Then leave completely relaxed and rejunvinated. You have made our day, especially the housekeeping staff who strive hard to maintain clean and well cared for rooms. Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lots of good things about this hotel. They're on a beautiful site with llamas and mountains all around and a nice pool/spa setup in a grassy area. Not ultramodern but clean and quiet with a good continental breakfast and friendly staff. Also pretty reasonable prices. Probably really good for visitors from other areas who want to get a feel for rural Oregon. Recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room facing the pool and llamas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review and really making our housekeeping staff feel good about what they do. It is great to be appreicated and we appreciate your taking the time to review your stay with us. Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Thank you, Best Western, for an extraordinary stay! My husband and I were amazed upon driving into the grounds because it was such a beautiful, peaceful setting sitting in the pine trees. The lawn area is so huge, green, and well manicured. The llamas are a wonderful addition to the setting.

While checking in we were greeted with a friendly smile and informed we had been upgraded from a king room to a suite. Wow, your suites are incredible. We cannot express how much we truly appreciate the upgrade. I was reluctant to even leave the room.

We appreciated your staff and how helpful they were. We called the front desk on a couple of occassions to inquire about dining and activities in the area and felt the staff was eager to help.

We enjoyed our stay so much and look forward to returning. While my husband and I typically stay at Best Western's while travelling, the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge is truly one of the best.

Thank you again!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms give you the ability to walk out your patio door into the beautifully manicured l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Well you have really given our groundskeeper a special lift. He really enjoys what he does and appreciates when guests comment on on the grounds. We are glad you enjoyed the suite upgrade and look forward to having come back soon! Thank you for the review! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great place to base yourself and family when enjoying the surrounding area; swimming in the lakes, mountain biking, hiking, restaurants and shopping in Sisters - my kids and I enjoyed the pool..easy walk from ground level room and the Llamas!! What a treat! Good breakfast and the Staff attentive and nice - planning our next trip back! Hint: traffic can be heavy on the highway - drive the back way to Sisters - or its a nice walk into town

Room Tip: ground level near the pool - great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234travelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Glad you and your kids enjoyed Sisters Country and staying here at the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge in Sisters, Oregon. Our Llamas sure enjoy having our guests feed them their speical treats....they would eat more if we did not have to allocate per the vet. As you noted there is plenty to do an see here and we are a great place to base from. Thank you! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed one night with our little dog in a first floor room. The patio was sunny & comfortable & you could sit & watch the many chipmunks & the llamas, etc. The staff is attentive & friendly & the rates are reasonable. We wish we had planned to stay longer but will go back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Looking forward to having you back again with your dog. Give a call to make sure we have a pet friendly room available. With 17 pet friendly rooms, there are times when they are all taken and we have a waiting list. Thank you for your review and for letting us know of your experience.
Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Besides the staff being the friendliest ever, the entire place was filled with birds and chipmunks and squirrels and deer.

The pet llamas that eat from your hand and let you per them were amazing.

The rooms were clean and exceeded out expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandRobertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all the wild and tame life that abounds here. Look forward to seeing you back again! Paul Haggerty, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisters
1.4 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
593 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn
22.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 44 in Bend
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Redmond Airport
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 44 in Bend
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 500 W Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ponderosa Hotel Sisters
Best Western Sisters
Sisters Best Western
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge Sisters, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing