We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is our fourth stay and certainly won't be our last. Without a doubt one of Best Westerns best motels! We always enjoy the front desk persons who make the start of a stay so welcoming. As Elite members have been fortunate to upgrade to the Aspen suites. Large rooms with huge jacuzzi and rain shower ...then western decor with large comfy bed, sofa and large rock wall fireplace. The patio goes out to green lawns large Pondersoas pines and a birders paradise! They have feeders of all kinds that attract many species of birds ...it's always a pleasure to find such an environmentally friendly atmosphere.
We love our stays and look forward to many more stays with you... The Llamas are a pleasant surprise and the children enjoy feeding them and getting to know this unusual animal. They make great pack animals for hiking trips in the Cascades.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Patpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and your continued patronage! Your comments have been rewarding to the staff...you have made them proud and gave them a significant boost! It is amazing how many different species of birds you can see here. There are birders who have come from as far away as Great Britian to see the 3 different kinds of Nuthatch, the White-Headed Woodpecker, and the Pinyon Jay to name just three. While we are not always able to upgrade our Best Western Rewards Elite members, we always make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable! See you back soon!
Paul Haggerty, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 845 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were on a sightseeing trip with an out of town guest and needed a place to stay overnight that would accommodate our friend, us and our small dog. We found a warm welcome at the Best Western Ponderosa. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and bright and comfortable. We were on the first floor and we had a patio outside with chairs. Our friend's room was upstairs and had a balcony. We were entertained by the llamas on the grounds. They seemed to be friendly. Breakfast was excellent, one of the best hotel breakfasts we've had. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

So glad you stopped and stayed with us! We now have 17 pet friendly rooms, which has increased from 5 just 5 years ago. The oversized rooms are spacious and do provide a relaxing environment to unwind and renew ones self. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review and let us know of your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were only passing through Sisters, but we really lucked out picking this hotel. The room was big, very clean and comforable. The deck is large and looked out over the area with the lamas and the pool was a little off to the side. The hot tub was huge and we were there in the early evening and my son said the pool was very comfortable, not cold. In the morning we got up and had the breakfast (free) and then fed the lamas. My son LOVED feeding the lamas! We also saw chipmunks and deer on the proprty in the morning. It was very relaxing and all of the staff was really friendly and accomadating. We will certainly be staying there again when we go to Sisters!

Room Tip: We were in room 208 and it was a GREAT room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mageeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Well we certainly look forward to having you coming back and having your son feed our Llamas! The Llamas really enjoy their interaction with people, especially the kids. We are so glad you chose to stop and experience the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge and Sisters Country. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I rarely give hotels a TripAdvisor rating of "Excellent", but I happily do for this beautiful property in Sisters. Its setting in the natural environment of mature ponderosa pine trees is striking. The 2-level hotel is laid out in a "L" shape with a motel-style (exterior) entrances on one side and patios/decks on the other side which look out over the pool, spa, and grassy area with trees. The hotel also has a few llamas on-site which you can feed (my kids loved it). The outdoor pool and spa were heated during my visit. Breakfast was standard fare for Best Western with cereal, breads, fresh waffles, juices, etc. The decor in the breakfast area was antique ranch-style cupboards, with a variety of small touches which created a homey feel. My stay was using a free night certificate offered through a Best Western Rewards promotion. I was given a room upgrade to a suite, which was vaulted, spacious, and bordering on luxurious. It was a very relaxing room with inviting lodge-style decor, a gas fireplace, and a nice outside view. The bathroom was large with a HUGE walk-in shower with a waterfall-style showerhead, a large jetted tub, and very nice toiletries. Lots of knotty pine in the trim, doors, etc. The bed was very comfortable. There was no HDTV, but this being Sisters, I think most would prefer to spend time outdoors or exploring the town center instead of watching TV. The front desk clerk mentioned movies available free of charge for guest check-out (a VHS and DVD combo player was also in the room). Internet access was quick and free; no complaints. If you are disabled or otherwise can't take stairs, be sure to inform the hotel before arrival so you have a first-level room. My only regret during this stay is that I only had one night to enjoy the property. It is a great place to relax in Sisters.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank ajnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms and setting provided you the opportunity to relax, rest, and restore. This is a unique setting with quality workmanship and amenities. You have really made our day and help all the staff feel good about where they work and what they do each day, especially the housekeepers.
Paul Haggerty, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Best Western Ponderosa Inn at Sisters, OR is a wonderful hotel. Much of its appeal has to do with the location and surrounding scenery which is awesome. The town of Sisters itself should be on anyone's itinerary if you are traveling the west. But the hotel, although it lacks mountain views, has an unbeatable location nestled in the Ponderosa forest. Rooms are large and open out onto an expansive lawn and pool. The decor is rustic/western. The staff is friendly and casual which makes you feel right at home. And the grounds are dotted with antique stagecoaches and the like which add to its charm. And lastly - don't be surprised to see deer (wild) and Llama's (caged) while you are there. The Ponderosa Inn is a great, relaxing place to spend your nights in Sisters.

Room Tip: some have jacuzzis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Thank you for your review! The staff is glad you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to write about it. You have greatly boosted their spirits and reinforced for them the importance of being the geniune people they are. I cannot tell you how much this has ment to them. Our Llamas are special with many of the born here. We have become a refuge of late for other who have been neglected or abused, with over 20 in our herd now, though only 9 are here at the Best Western Ponderosa Lodge (the others are at the barn area away from the hotel property).
Paul Haggerty, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I were trying to find a place that we could cross country ski from that was not too far away. After reviewing hotels of the area, we choose this best western. Since it was a special occasion we went with the Suites that have a king size bed/fireplace/jacquizzi. The employee on the phone was very helpful with reminding me to use my AAA discount and which room to choose. The western decor room was just wonderful- spacious with great furnishings. After a day of skiiing it was fantastic to have a hot tub in your room to soak in. We are not movie people, but really enjoyed borrowing a movie from the front desk and watching it. The couch in the room was a really comfortable.
The beds were probably the best I"ve slept in in a hotel. My husband and I overslept, but felt it was worth it for the quality of sleep.
Lastly, the llamas are just too cute.

Room Tip: The suites come with an open floor plan or separate room. If you don't need the privacy, go with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JThielman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Greatly appreciate your taking the time to review our Best Western Ponderosa Lodge. It is rewarding to the staff to know you had a great time and enjoyed our Llamas and relaxed in the comfort of your Aspen Suite so much you slept in. Thank you! Paul Haggerty, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived to a completely empty hotel. I guess that we might have come during the low season, but it was very nice. Be sure to get the jacuzzi suite which looks into the main room from the tub. A romantic place to relax and watch movies while the snow falls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from everyone if there is one available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiestbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponderosa38103, General Manager at Best Western Ponderosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to tell everyone about your stay in one of our Aspen Suites. and we are glad you enjoyed your romantic get away here with us. The Aspen Suite is the more romantic suite for sure. The snow has finally come so the snow lovers (skiing, snowmobiling, and snow shoeing) are here, excited with the fresh powder. You made our day! Paul Haggerty, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisters
1.4 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
632 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,250 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 44 in Bend
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
501 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.6 mi away
Sisters Motor Lodge
Sisters Motor Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sisters
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ponderosa Lodge

Address: 500 W Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sisters
Price Range: $136 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ponderosa Hotel Sisters
Best Western Sisters
Sisters Best Western
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge Sisters, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing