We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Lodge, food enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Suttle Lake
Ranked #3 of 4 Sisters B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lodge, food enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took advantage of an off season special and really enjoyed the lodge room, first quality all the way, including the in room coffee. We enjoyed the large fireplace in the common area, and the 3 mile walk around the lake should not be missed. The food was good, but limited meu options. The environs at the restraunt aren't great, but who cares when you can relax next to the water in jeans. A mit picey at full rate, but the investment in their property is significant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    33
    14
    20
    15
See reviews for
41
89
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alturas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A beautiful lodge in an old growth, beautiful setting on a small lake. The staff is friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The grounds are beautiful and the Eagle Summit cabin is perfectly cozy with all the ammenities you would want in that setting. The restaraunt is quaint but the staff was friendly and professional and the food was delicious. The menu is a little limited, but they were more than willing to adjust items on it to suit me. The cabin was clean and warm upon checking in. An abundance of fall color around the property, which was also very well kept and clean, just made it that much more enjoyable. I would recommend this location to anyone that enjoys a lake / forest setting but doesn't want to "rough it".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second annual family trip to the Lodge at Suttle Lake. I have family that comes to Oregon every year from California and this is our chosen destination. It is a wonderful family, fun oriented destination. Being able to be at the lake, rent boats, paddle boards, etc., swim, fish, hike, and spend quality family time together is priceless. The entire staff at the Lodge was amazing and accomodating to our family. Thank you for two great years! We've already booked our time for next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful lodge, luxurious room in a gorgeous location. Marina and restaurant not so good. Horrible lodge management.
Our room wasn't made up when we returned at 4pm the 2nd day. When we asked about it, Cyndi, the manager accused us of having our "do not disturb pinecone” out, which we didn't. She came back to us 3 times (!) while we were trying to enjoy the wine social to loudly insist that it was our fault. Then she sent someone to quickly clean it. When we got to our room, it was sloppily thrown together and the hand towel had a big brown smudge on it - I figured out that the staff had wiped my tea mug with the towel and put the (still obviously dirty) mug back with the clean ones! Disgusting! One bright spot was one of the staff, named Josh, who was very professional at all times and came to our room to replace the mug. The manager then “comped” us a breakfast at the not so good restaurant, which didn't make up for the miserable experience.
We will NOT return, nor recommend it. Could be a wonderful place...with new management!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Michael Valoppi and his staff at The Lodge at Suttle Lake, Sisters, OR represent exactly what you are looking for when you hold a wedding. I can say so as we held one there on September 22, 2012.

The Landing is the perfect site for the wedding ceremony with overwhelmingly beautiful vistas. The Lodge rooms and cabins are ideal for a large wedding party. The management and staff could not be more welcoming, professional and accommodating. Their commitment to a successful occasion could not be faulted and they were endlessly tolerant of changes and special requests; we even set up an internet video broadcast of the entire wedding with their help! Michael, Joanna, Angela, Cory, Greg and their teams made for an outstanding experience - they even kept the Pole Creek fire and its smoke at bay! If you're thinking of holding a wedding
in Oregon, be sure to visit the Lodge at Suttle Lake! You won't be disappointed

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms are luxurious. The Cabins are clean and well appointed, well suited to a family - e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were very excited to rent a dog-friendly cabin on a secluded lake to celebrate the end of summer. Unfortunately, we arrived to find a barely-tolerant attitude toward dogs. Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed on the dog, in the marina, in the lodge, or at the restaurant (which has a patio) or off-leash by the lake. This made it a boring weekend as we would not eat at the restaurant or rent a canoe & had to spend most time in the rustic cabin. Staff were a bit confused and the restaurant didn't hand out utensils with take-out. We will skip it next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenGPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

the cabins are extremely small and the kitchen size was ridiculous. if you plan on cooking any meals you will have a very hard time.

we spent the first night killing monster bugs. these were no bugs I have seen before. these critters had a wing span of several inches. there was also a musty smell in the cabin, luckily we could leave the windows open for the most part to get a breeze going though.

long story short, we wouldn't stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Good_Life76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisters
0.0 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ponderosa Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Eagle Crest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Suttle Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Suttle Lake

Property: The Lodge at Suttle Lake
Address: 13300 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759-9509
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Suttle Lake sits among some of the most beautiful wilderness in the world. Our resort boasts a large enough facility to accommodate its own full service restaurant, spa treatment room, meeting and conference space. Not to mention the multitude of outdoor activities all year round! Truly rustic elegance at its finest, we have something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Suttle Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Hotel Sisters
The Lodge At Suttle Lake Sisters, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing