We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can't wait to go back to LHR!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Hollow Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sisters
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Long Hollow Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 4 Sisters B&B and Inns
West Linn, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We can't wait to go back to LHR!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you are looking for tranquility, warm hospitality, a break from everyday hectic schedules, a savory breakfast, extremely clean and comfortable accomodations, and activities abounding in every direction, then this is the place to stay!!!

We enjoyed a peaceful horse ride, a hike to Alder Springs, fun shopping in downtown Sisters, and another hike at Smith Rock. We wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidenja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We chose the ranch to celebrate a special birthday and family get together. Overall our week could not have been better. The rooms, hospitality, horseback riding, rafting and food made it a wonderful, relaxing week. Dick and Shirley welcome you like family. Mountain views are exquisite and the acres of riding area feels like it goes forever. Horses are well cared for and first class. Katie, the head wrangler, makes sure your horse fits your needs and organizes a unique trip for each ride. We spent a spetacular day riding to a crisp mountain stream for a picnic and cool refreshment. If someone in the group prefers fishing over riding, the well stocked pond is an oasis to pass an idyllic morning or afternoon. Only sad part was having to leave. We will surely be back and bring more family next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelersfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

It's hard to know where to start :) I was expecting to ride up to twice a day, to be given all 3 meals a day and to have a room with ensuite facilities to myself - I received so much more. All the food was home cooked and of great variety - we never had the same thing twice! The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and I heard other guests say the same. Cleanliness was top quality. The attention to detail to make my trip really special and personal to me was quite unbelievable - I could ride who I wanted, when I wanted and where I wanted (school, trail and even round pen training). The scenery and location were superb - plenty of places to hike, fish, shop, visit and explore. The staff were the kindest, most accommodating I have ever met. Meals were eaten with wranglers, ranch owners and other guests creating a lovely family feel - Christian principles practised throughout the whole stay and generosity throughout to a fault (if that's possible) ...they even lent we their car for a few days... I can't wait to go back!! There just wasn't anything I didn't like.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in the cottage and really enjoyed Long Hollow Ranch. There is a lot of history here, and the setting is beautiful. Although it may "feel" remote, it is really quite close to Sisters and Bend, and all those areas offer.

The food was great, plus Dick and Shirley were great hosts. If you really want to get a sense of the west, you should give this a try.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We were attracted by the anti Christian tirade of one reviewer and glad we were. We had a really warm welcome from Dick and Shirley who treated us like members of the family. We don't ride but instead walked up, down and around Smith Rock which is nearby and amazing.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theRoyalBerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

Went there for a stay of 7 days. Rented out the cottage and one of the rooms in the main house. The cottage was great. Gave us plenty of room to relax and not be on top of each other. The cottage is a little dated and could use some improvements, but still perfect for what we needed. The room inside the house was very comfortable with a really nice and new bathroom. It was decorated really nice. The food was great, the staff awesome. My kids (4 of them) had a vacation to always remember. They talk about it to this day. The horses were awesome. We were able to move about independently for some of the time. I would HIGHLY recommend this place. No TV, no internet. LOVED IT!!! No cell phone coverage....not so good. Really, can't say enough good things about the people and the kindness that they showed us!

  • Liked — Options for different rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2sk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed at Long Hollow over an extended Labor day Weekend, our third. We found it to be as relaxing and peaceful as ever.

It's quiet for those who want it that way - no TV! - and active for those who want to enjoy the ranch and the horse riding with the best young wranglers imaginable.

It is a true working family ranch - cattle, horses, barn cats, dogs (well-behaved, hardly a bark) - and we were offered the opportunity to be involved in ranch affairs - stable door hanging in our case - and some of the better riders went on a real cattle round up during our previous visit.

The location in central Oregon is beautiful, and the staff are wonderful, caring people. The friendly atmosphere was best represented at the family-around-the-table meals, where truly great food was served.

The period bedroom we stayed in was comfortable and well appointed in the 100+ refurbished historic main house.

We were also able to go to Sisters - a darling small Western town - which is only 20 minutes away, and I sampled one of the local golf courses, Aspen Lakes, which is spectacular.

We came away relaxed and refreshed from the best short vacation of our lives. We felt totally accepted as family friends from the moment we arrived and we left determined to be back as soon as possible.

IG/JG, Washington State, USA.

  • Liked — The charm of the place and the friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Needs a bigger outdoor hot tub
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DahliaFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sisters
10.9 mi away
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
Five Pine Lodge & Spa
#1 of 4 in Sisters
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Ponderosa Lodge
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Brasada Ranch
Brasada Ranch
#1 of 1 in Powell Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
24.7 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Lodge at Eagle Crest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Hollow Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hollow Guest Ranch

Property: Long Hollow Guest Ranch
Address: 71105 Holmes Rd, Sisters, OR 97759-9709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sisters
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sisters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Hollow Ranch is an authentic and historic working cattle ranch. The friendly ranch atmosphere, cozy guest rooms and home-cooked meals always satisfy and refresh. Morning starts with a delicious hot Ranch breakfast. Hot and cold beverages are available and guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave. There are also many fine restaurants and cafes available in nearby Sisters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Long Hollow Guest Ranch Sisters, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing