We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narrow road but worth the drive; scenic mountain views, lava flows”

Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eighty-two-mile scenic byway offering the best foliage in the state.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Narrow road but worth the drive; scenic mountain views, lava flows”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This road is well-maintained, but very narrow with no shoulders so take your time. Beautiful views of the back side of the Sisters peaks. Views of more than 10 peaks from the observatory at the top of the pass at the lava flow area. The Sisters side is mainly pine forests; once you cross over to the McKenzie River side there are lots of ferns and coastal rain forest plants.
Must sees: Observatory, Clear Lake, and several falls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dirtdivaboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    25
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palatka, FL
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“beautiful area”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband had mapped out the loop to include a stop in Sisters. We enjoyed the vistas and the fresh air. Nice motorcycle ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gogators52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“amazing to see volcanic rocks littered around”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Makes you realize that the earth's time line is much larger than we realize. The interpretative signs help put the huge mountains into a new perspective. Worth the short drive from Sisters..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and sceanery. Be prepared to be in Awe”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful trip by car or bike. Take a camera! One minute you are in a dense forest, the next you on on the moon...or so it would seem. Lava flows are truly stunning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLeeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of a Kind!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I remember the first time I drove up McKenzie Pass after leaving Sisters with my wife decades ago and how puzzled we were by all those big, weird-looking black rocks. Coming from Colorado neither of us had ever seen volcanic rock formations so we had no idea what we were looking at until we reached Windy Point, where you see one of the lava flows for the first time. Drive all the way to the top and take a short walk to the Dee Wright Observatory to enjoy one of the most amazing views of the Cascade Range you'll ever see. Leave enough time to drive down into an entirely different environment on the wet side of the pass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bookman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKenzie Pass-Santiam Pass loop also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to McKenzie Pass-Santiam Pass loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing