We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing find”
Review of Thai Dish

Thai Dish
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Boston, Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An amazing find”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We're from Boston, where we like to think we get to eat a lot of excellent Thai food. So when we stopped into this modest-looking little Thai restaurant in a modest-looking little Willamette Valley town, we were just hoping it would be decent. It was way, way better than decent. Everybody in our party loved the dish they ordered. The panang curry I had was quite simply the best Thai curry I've ever tasted. A wonderful sauce, with the zing of the aromatics, herbs and chile peppers perfectly balanced by the rich coconut and peanut flavors. The bowl was full of fresh vegetables cooked just enough, and accompanied by fluffy, moist rice. The service was efficient and courteous, but not effusive, which suited us just fine. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of food we were eating. All in all, it's hard to imagine a better Thai restaurant. I almost wanted to move to Silverton just so I could eat there every week.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nightchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wife and I loved it...”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We heard from some of the locals that this was a great place for oriental food. I was very happy with the menu and could order food as hot as I liked (smokin') My wife ordered tame and it was perfect. The curry is great, the pot stickers are excellent and the pad thai is very good. We will eat here again. Very good service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US/NW
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good food, decent prices”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Locally-owned and run - real Thai food. Spicy! (ask for mild if you can't take the heat). Hot tea (Jasmine) very good. Prices about average for such a place ($9-13/entree). They seemed to do quite a bit of local take-out, which is always a good sign. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SamandTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Satisfying Thai on Water Street”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I stopped in here while exploring Silverton one hot summer afternoon on vacation. I was jus ta bit tired and needed a pick-me-up . . . their sweet cold thai iced tea and rich flavorfully spiced coconut milk soup sure did the trick!
It's a nice small business, with windows that look out the front on Silverton's quaint Water Street.
Our trip was fairly planned out (otherwise we might have gone back another day!) and this stop hadn't been scheduled, but I'm looking forward to returning on another trip.

  • Visited August 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeExpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best takeout in Silverton”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My family eats here quite often. We get take out most of the time but have eaten in the restaurant a few times. The place isn't anything fancy but the food is always delicious. It is a family run business and they always have great service. The crispy basil is one of our favorite dishes. Our daughter loves the chicken Satay.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookeinOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Dish also viewed

 

Been to Thai Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing