We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Secret!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gather

Gather
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Hidden Secret!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We traveled out of our fair city to explore Silverton, Oregon. What a treat. This is a small local spot, very plain, and down to earth. The menu looked great. there were many wonderful choices which made it hard to decide what to order. We asked our waitress . She was so nice and very helpful. We ordered two of her recommendations. I had the steak and gorgonzola salad. It was so flavorful, just the right amount of dressing, meat, cheese, and hazelnuts. Fabulous! My friend ordered the ham and pear pannini. Wow! The flavors exploded in my mouth. The sandwiches came with salad, soup, sweet potato fries, or salad. My friend had the fries. They were the best ones I have ever had. This place is around 50 miles outside of Portland. There are many cool shops to explore and then there is LUNCH!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madge464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    12
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glad to finally have a place to take guests or go alone....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Breakfast or lunch were very good. Fun selections. Bakery items are very good, espeically the brownies!!So glad this restuarant is here for someone who lives here.A little expensive but I think it is worth it all in all.I go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sharing fees charged at Silverton sandwich shop”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Cozy, litte sandwich and salad shop for a late lunch in Silverton.

We enjoyed the food, which included a turkey panini, sweet potato fries (which were really skin on sliced sweet potatoes, baked to a caramelized and finished with some rosemary) paired with a tahini dipping sauce.

We got a chuckle out of the nutella and marshmallow sandwich on wheat bread, but my daughter took that item on with dead seriousness, and she loved every bite of it.

I'd love to give this place a shout out, because the food is quality, but I can't really bring myself to do it because...

One frustration was an inexperienced server who didn't know her menu, but what really goaded us was a policy adding an extra $2 "share fee" to our bill, on top of a relatively pricey sandwich ($9) because we opted to share it. Seriously. It was a late lunch, we weren't too hungry, but gosh, I don't think I've ever been charged a fee to share an item in any restaurant in the last ten years, let alone in a sandwich shop.

A $2 share fee to share a $9 sandwich? A poor business practice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank find_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not just your average sandwich shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stopped at this small place in historic downtown Silverton after a day trip to the Oregon Garden. They have a unique menu which uses a lot of local, organic ingredients. We ordered Caprese Crepes which was an unusual take on the traditional sandwich by the same name - excellent, especially the pesto sauce! Also the turkey burger (a nice alternative to the usual beef hamburger at most restaurants) which also had apple slices on it - also very good. Both items came with a salad or soup.

We each had a salad which came with your choice of house made dressing. We tried the pomegranate vinaigrette and the green apple vinaigrette (which was recommended by the waitress) - the salad dressings alone were worth the stop!

We also ordered sweet potato fries as an extra side which were delicious and seasoned with rosemary.

The portion sizes were generous, but even so we had to check out a few of the delicious looking desserts in the cooler - we sampled 3 different items and ended taking some of each home.

I also had yummy, local marionberry lemonade for which our server kindly gave me a to go cup when we were finished.

Overall a great place. We will definitely stop here again when we visit Silverton!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling_Pitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The food is very good and have tried almost everything on the menu. I wish it had a larger menu or varied options more often. The service is alright. They came more times to take the order than to refill drinks. Living in Silverton it is a nice option that you are usually not left disappointed, but it one of the most expensive places for lunch. It would be nice to have some cheaper items available.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank spanky2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gather also viewed

 

Been to Gather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing