We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is average but it is a lovely setting”

Garden View Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Garden View Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Garden View Restaurant at Oregon Garden Resort offers spectacular views of The Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley beyond. The restaurant features Northwest-style cuisine, and offers outdoor dining on the patio, where pets are allowed.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
454 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Food is average but it is a lovely setting”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Dinner with wine was included as part of the package we booked for Oregon Garden Resort.

The food is nothing special but some of it is very good. The Mexican Lime pie on the dessert menu is very good.

They get very busy so service does suffer but they genuinely try very hard so I give them Kudos for making the best of a difficult situation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    81
    35
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SEQUIM
Level Contributor
205 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, and a view to die for...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Been to this restaurant a few times in the past. The service has always been excellent, and the food has ranged from very good to excellent. The view of the Willamette Valley and the Oregon Gardens from the restaurant is superb. On our most recent stay, we had a very nice dinner, one entrée was salmon and the other was a chicken pasta dish. Both were very good. The service at the restaurant has always been exceptional. We had a complimentary breakfast "buffet" for each night of our stay. The fresh baked scones and other baked goods are delightful. The only "knock" on our most recent stay were the coffee cup stains. Perhaps the dishwashing machine wasn't working properly but it might be a good idea if management makes it a policy to check the cleanliness of the dishes before placing them out for customers to use. That being said, we will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjnjjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent! My new birthday restaurant :-)”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The view, the service, the quality and the quantity were all exceptional. The goat cheese with roasted garlic appetizer was delish!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilsonChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food - Beautiful Views”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Garden View Restaurant has beautiful views of the Oregon Garden - and the seating is tiered so everyone has a "window view." They also have patio dining available.
Food was very good - our steaks were cooked perfectly and the presentation was pleasing. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We were there two days, and each day the hot dishes were different, so it's not the same menu all the time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Level Contributor
285 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“They Must Have Read Their Previous Reviews”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Restaurants associated with tourist attractions are notoriously lackluster. Why be good when you don't have to be? Reading prior reviews of the Garden View Restaurant overlooking the Oregon Gardens in Silverton, OR that appears to have been the case. But, judging from our recent experience, someone in a a position to do something apparently read the reviews and said "not good enough."

Our lunch was attentively served by a young lady who had enough product knowledge to tell us exactly how the hazelnuts in the spinach salad were roasted. When we asked if the shrimp were farmed or wild she went to the kitchen to find out (wild, fro Alaska) and when we commented on the freshness of the greens, she told us that we because they all came from their own vegetable garden.

There were a couple of other homey touches that made "average" much better. The balsamic vinaigrette was clearly homemade and the chicken in my wrap was freshly grilled and still warm. This was not haute cuisine, but better than expected, reasonably priced, and a pleasant prelude to our tour of the magnificent gardens.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StepMorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden View Restaurant also viewed

 
Silverton, OR
 

Been to Garden View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing