We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property has tremendous potential, but not quite there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oregon Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“This property has tremendous potential, but not quite there yet”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. The location and setting is very nice and I can see where with the right direction this property could definitely be a destination resort. The gardens are outstanding and one of the best selling points. It is new and the lodge looks out over the gardens. There are individual buildings behind the lodge that house the individual rooms. Ours was quite spacious with a comfy king size bed and fireplace and internet reception was excellent. Bathroom was fairly good size but a little spartan.
One could spend a day easily exploring the gardens and a day exploring Silverton and the falls that are nearby.

I have two criticisms of the resort. First is the restaurant. They need to bring in a really good chef and do something with the menu. We felt like we were eating hospital or retirement home food. Breakfast was exactly the same each day. They had a special on that we got a main course and a bottle of wine for $89 including the room. It was a great deal, but i would have been willing to pay more if the food had some character. There are no restaurants nearby, so basically guests are a captive audience and they could do wonders if they had good and interesting food. I had a chicken picatta (I think it was chicken, not veal ) that was not terribly memorable and the second night I had a pasta dish that definitely was not worth reordering.

Second, they need to send the staff to Hotel School 101. Our server the first night and our maid were the friendliest people there. Other than that, no one seemed overly welcoming or helpful. We went to three other places after the Oregon Garden, and the difference was noticable. They weren't rude - just indifferent. The second morning we noticed they did have waffles, but the containers of syrup were empty. My husband turned them upside down so that perhaps they would notice and refill them, but the servers just looked at them for a few minutes and then just ignored it and left them upside down! As noted by a previous review, the bar was understaffed when we were there, too. He was all out of Bloody Mary mix and had to leave the bar to try and find some. He was gone for awhile, returned with the mix, but then had no olives! They were out of several of the appetizers. They have a spa, hot tub and pool, but provide no robes to walk from your room to the pool/hot tub which requires walking outside (no rooms in the lodge) for up to half a block or more, so my husband didn't use it.

I would come back here again because the gardens are so worth visiting. However, I would really be excited to come back again if they got a new chef and worked on improving customer friendliness and enthusiasm. I would even be willing to pay more!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    496
    133
    51
    32
See reviews for
404
909
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We spent three nights, Thursday-Saturday, at the Oregon Garden Resort with two other couples. The setting is beautiful, on a hill overlooking the Oregon Garden. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a king bed and gas fireplace in each. Free internet access is provided, ethernet wired in the rooms and wireless in the main lodge. We got off to a bad start on Thursday and Friday. They were obviously under-staffed, under-trained and under-stocked. The Lounge was staffed with a bartender and waitperson, but 90% of the time only one was present (behind the bar), the other apparently having other duties elsewhere. Table service in the Lounge was out of the question - you had to go up to the bar and get your own drinks and appetizers. In the restaurant on Thursday night, they ran out of the Prime Rib special by 7:30, a fact that we were informed of 15 minutes after four of us had ordered it. (See separate review of Oregon Garden View Restaurant.) After being out and about on Friday we returned to rooms that had not seen proper housekeeping. The beds in all three rooms were unmade. Wastebaskets had not been emptied. Our room had not been resupplied with fresh towels. One of our friends' rooms had been, and ironically in the third couple's room the towels that had been hung up for re-use as per the "eco-friendly reuse" instructions had been removed and replaced anyway. At this point I got the feeling that management was really trying to operate on a shoestring with poorly-trained help. By Saturday, after contacting the front desk, housekeeping in all three rooms was done properly, but this should not have been necessary in a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NW_Happy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, wa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We did a package deal for our anniversary. The customer service was the best I'd ever experienced. Calvin at the front desk remembered our name after we checked in. He was very polite. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are super clean. The room has a fireplace and a cute little patio that looked out on some nice landscaping. The patio was fairly private. The bed was great. It had a down comforter. The fireplace heats the room and I was surprised at how warm the room stayed all night even after we had turned down the heat! The room had vaulted ceilings. We had a great dinner in the restaurant. The salmon and steak were wonderful and we looked out on the botanical garden which was gorgeous. Your room key gets you into the garden so we walked around breakfast. Our waiter Ryan was fantastic. The wine was great. I wish we could have used the hot tub but it started raining right after dinner so we just stayed in our room. Silverton looks like a cute little town and I'd love to go back and spend several days there and explore. The garden was really nice and it's takes around 1-1/2 to 2 hours to walk through. There was a lot to see. We had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Oregon Garden resort is a very nice resort set in Oregon Garden itself.
The rooms are very nice, clean and classy. I got a king room and it came with a fireplace and a nice balcony. Rooms are spread out in blocks away from the lobby / restaurant building.
The resort is pet friendly, which should be something to be taken into consideration when booking, since you may see large pets being brought about by their owners often.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswell, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I had booked the dinner package online, and fully expected to be underwhelmed - it DID seem too good to be true. We arrived around 4 p.m., after a delightful hike to the South Falls at Silver Falls State Park, to discover that Happy Hour was in progress. The bar was comfortable, with a huge fireplace and comfortable sofas, and the service was adequate. We each had a pint of micro-brew and we shared some delicious chicken sliders, and walked out, smiling, for $10 plus tip.

Our room was quite large, with a fireplace, two queen beds, micro/fridge and a decent shower/bath combo. Sadly, although all the rooms have nice patios, most of them have views of the building next door. The beds are new pillow-tops with very cozy comforters and lots of pillows. Reading light was adequate, but not wonderful.

Dinner and wine came with the package, and we had made our reservation for 8:00 on Sunday night. Although the package allows you to order anything on the menu, by the time we got there, they were out of almost everything. They made us a "special" that was a medium quality steak, grilled perfectly, topped with three jumbo shrimp and swimming in a pool of delicious gravy. The rice looked very plain, but was actually well flavored, as was the generous stack of baby carrots. We were very pleased with both the quality and quantity of the food and wine.

The breakfast buffet the next morning, was also a cut above what I had expected. The steam table eggs and potatoes were very well flavored and there was a pitcher of really delicious salsa. Coffee, orange juice, yogurt, granola and do-it-yourself waffles were plentiful and delicious.

The biggest pleasure for us, though, was the unlimited daylight access to the Oregon Garden. We went in Sunday afternoon after it had closed to the public, and again Monday morning before it opened, and had a delightful time exploring.

I am still amazed that Oregon Garden Resort can offer such an inexpensive package, and hope they continue to do so. We will go back again and again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opera_lover054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at in the US. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and we got a great deal for our big room, which included an excellent dinner, breakfast and free entry to the Oregon Gardens, which are beautiful. We had booked one night only, but decided to stay two more.
The rooms are clean and very big. They are in several buildings which seem to have 6 rooms in each of them, all on ground level. There is a gas fireplace for heating, which makes it very cozy. The bathroom was big and had a very efficient heating and ventilation. It's so nice to be able to have a shower in a warm bathroom.
The restaurant was excellent, I can recommend the salmon with blueberries. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, there was no bread and not much else really, very limited choice. But that didn't spoil the good time we had at this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamachoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at the Oregon Garden Resort while we day hiked in Silver Falls State Park. Both experiences (hiking and hotel) exceeded our expectations. The hotel is a very good value for the quality of the accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosinabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
1.1 mi away
Silverton Inn and Suites
Silverton Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Silverton
171 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
9.8 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Garden Resort

Property: Oregon Garden Resort
Address: 895 W Main Street, Silverton, OR 97381
Location: United States > Oregon > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oregon Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oregon Garden Resort sits above The Oregon Garden's 80-acres stunning botanical gardens. Our guest rooms are nestled in a series of cottages throughout the grounds behind the main lodge. Each building has six rooms, featuring fireplaces and private landscaped patios or balconies. Rooms also feature microwaves, fridges and coffee makers, among other amenities. Included in an overnight stay is a complimentary hot American breakfast buffet and unlimited admission into The Oregon Garden. Ample parking is available both at the main lodge and around the rooms. Pet-Friendly and accessible rooms are available at the resort. The Resort's beautiful main lodge features the Fireside Lounge, which hosts live music each night along with happy hour specials daily; Moonstone Spa, our full-service day spa; and the Garden View Restaurant, which features sweeping views of The Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley beyond. The menu showcases the best in Northwest cuisine and wines. The main lodge also houses meeting space for corporate meetings, family reunions, wedding receptions and conferences. A heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub are set behind the main lodge. Oregon Garden Resort is a smoke free resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oregon Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Garden Hotel Silverton
Oregon Garden Silverton
Oregon Garden Resort Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing