We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oregon Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

this is the most over rated place on tripadvisor. if you have to pay full price it really doesnt measure up but if you get it half price it just means you paid half price for food poisening. this is a resort? are you kidding me ? glorified motel 8 and worst of all everyone that we talked to (employees ) acted to good stuck up and very rude .we think that starting with management all of them needs to be replaced with more humble people .this is a 2 star hotel at best!!!!

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodavenger17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, General Manager at Oregon Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

I am sorry to hear that you received food poisoning - we have not received any other complaints of this sort. I can assure you that we take pride in our Resort and aim to provide excellent service to each one of our guests. If you have had an unpleasant experience with a staff member, please contact us at the Resort - we would like to know what happened so that we can provide you with excellent service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We bought Travel Zoo voucher last fall and I called and asked about an accessible room with a king bed. Yes, we were told that they had them. When I confirmed our reservation before leaving home, I again specified: Accessible room with a king bed. Yes, that's what we have for you. Imagine our dismay when finding upon arrival that all of their accessible rooms are Queen beds only. The desk person offered to give us a King room but it would not have been accessible.

The restaurant is not very accessible either. The good views are all down some steps. They do have tables on the same floor as the door in a kind of side room but the view from our table was the people eating below by the windows. A large party was also there that night next to our table. Not very intimate for two. We couldn't ask to be moved as there was nowhere else we could go. They were hanging up Christmas decorations when we came in for dinner. The service was very slow, probably due to the large party.

We were also disappointed in the "resort" details. Plastic cups?

All of that said, it is beautiful. If you do not need anything specific it is a very pretty place. Our room was nice, just not what we thought we were paying for. I asked the front desk to have the manager call me as there wasn't one on site. I never heard a thing. So I called them again and still could not get a manager.

Overall a disappointing experience and we will not be returning. Especially disappointing as we really enjoy staying at another Moonstone property and have been anticipating this trip since construction began.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2_Casual_Travelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Oregon Garden Resort this past Sunday. The resort is approximately a one hour drive from downtown Portland in the cool town of Silverton. There is plenty to do in the area including the beautiful Oregon Garden which is adjacent to the hotel; a twenty minute drive to Silver Falls; and just 1/2 mile to the downtown area of Silverton. The resort has a lodge-like atmosphere. The rooms are located away from the lodge with nice views of the foothills. It should be noted that the resort offers many package deals that are very inviting. Most of these packages include: room, meals, and admission to the gardens. I would recommend a one or two night stay at the Oregon Garden Resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We used Silverton as our base for some explorations through the Willamette Valley and Oregon Garden Resort was perfect for the acomodations. As others have mentioned, the Dinner Package was a fine value and the food and service was of high quality. We had a large room in Building Q with a deck that bordered on the Oregon Gardens so the views were great. The room was in great condition and clean and comfortable. The only negative i could see ws in the design where the air conditioner for the room next to us exhausted on our deck. So it could be noisy sitting on your deck when the neighbor is running the AC. We didn't have that problem since the weather was cool. The included breakfast was great. You could use your key for free unlimited access to the Oregon Gardens which were beautiful. You can also take a 30 minute Tram right from the resort that tours the gardens. Don't miss the $10. tour of the Frank Lloyd Wright house on the grounds. It was about an hour and very interesting.

Room Tip: Building Q borders on the gardens and would be a good choice. Some of the buildings only have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northshoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel. We celebrated our son's 8th birthday at this resort hotel and he was very happy. The room was very spacious and it had a fireplace. I booked a package with travelzoo and we got a great deal. I would recommend this resort and we would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our extended family stayed here recently and we were all quite pleased with our rooms and the hospitality of the staff. Our room was lovely, clean and we had a nice view from our private patio.
I would recommend this resort without question.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jala47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here with the Dinner Package, which offered amazing value: an attractive, well-insulated king room with private patio; free parking; dinner for two with a bottle of wine; above average buffet breakfast; and admission to the Garden. Our room was fragrant from cleaning products when we arrived, but the day was warm so we were able to open the windows and two doors for excellent ventilation. Our room and our friends' room stayed warm, so we were all happy to be able to leave windows open at night.

Room Tip: Rooms in Buildings B and C have very private patios facing a field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
1.1 mi away
Silverton Inn and Suites
Silverton Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Silverton
172 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
11.9 mi away
Best Western Woodburn
Best Western Woodburn
#1 of 4 in Woodburn
445 reviews
11.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Garden Resort

Address: 895 W Main St, Silverton, OR 97381-2243
Location: United States > Oregon > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oregon Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oregon Garden Resort sits above The Oregon Garden's 80-acres stunning botanical gardens. Our guest rooms are nestled in a series of cottages throughout the grounds behind the main lodge. Each building has six rooms, featuring fireplaces and private landscaped patios or balconies. Rooms also feature microwaves, fridges and coffee makers, among other amenities. Included in an overnight stay is a complimentary hot American breakfast buffet and unlimited admission into The Oregon Garden. Ample parking is available both at the main lodge and around the rooms. Pet-Friendly and accessible rooms are available at the resort. The Resort's beautiful main lodge features the Fireside Lounge, which hosts live music each night along with happy hour specials daily; Moonstone Spa, our full-service day spa; and the Garden View Restaurant, which features sweeping views of The Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley beyond. The menu showcases the best in Northwest cuisine and wines. The main lodge also houses meeting space for corporate meetings, family reunions, wedding receptions and conferences. A heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub are set behind the main lodge. Oregon Garden Resort is a smoke free resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oregon Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Garden Hotel Silverton
Oregon Garden Silverton
Oregon Garden Resort Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing