We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIDDEN ROSE WAITING TO BE PICKED !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oregon Garden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Certificate of Excellence
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN ROSE WAITING TO BE PICKED !!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

On 9/4/2012 we visited the Oregon Garden Resort on the way home from a family reunion in Hood River, OR. We like to visit public gardens. I began my appreciation for them when I first visited Longwood Gardens , not too far from Philadelphia, PA. Just south of Coos Bay, OR is a state-run park with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean, in which park is included a beautiful flower and tree garden called : Shore Acres. We knew that our visiting Silverton, OR was not just an overnight stay at a resort. We were treated very personally and professionally on all our questions and needs. The food and the suggested wine choice were just a delight. By staying at the resort we qualified for free passes to the near gardens. What led to enhancing to the overall intake of natures beauty was the stillness and quiet we found. The garden offers quite a variety
of flowers, plants and trees.There are several areas under development which will enlarge the overall offering. Parents managed to have their children behave and quietly enjoy the garden, which by the way also has a section very well done just for kids. How nice it would be if it all could be enjoyed in the same manner as we experienced. For those who will decide to give it a try, we can only say that we wish you'll duplicate our experience both at the resort and the gardens.

Room Tip: As I remember the housing had only one floor and parking was no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berto45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    488
    130
    51
    32
See reviews for
392
903
41
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The rooms are decent, the garden is nice, but the staff act as if they could care less if you have arrived or left. Lackluster service and mediocre staff left me happier to see this resort from the rear view mirror. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjbradbury, General Manager at Oregon Garden Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our property for your stay in Silverton. We strive to have our service live up to our beautiful surroundings, and based on our other reviews and guest feedback, we typically do meet this expectation. I would greatly appreciate it if you would share more information with me about your specific experience, so we can address the issues and provide the level of service that we typically achieve. You can contact me directly at 503.874.2510.

Christine Diacetis-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife asked me to find a resort with an outdoor heated pool for her birthday during Labor Day weekend. I could choose anywhere, that was her only request.

I chose the Oregon Garden Resort. Their web site says heated pool. Their brochure says heated pool. Their concierge guide says heated pool. But is there one? NO! I asked the pool serviceman just to make sure, and the answer? "No, not since I've been here."

Ok, maybe once upon a time there maybe was a heated pool, but in the three days we stayed there it was cold enough I never saw an adult in it for more than one minute. What an utter disappointment, and it's not like I wanted to move us out to somewhere else, so we just took it.

I left a message for the manager with the front desk asking to speak with her, and I left a voice message (also un returned) on her voice mail. I only wanted to say that I don't appreciate being lied to and won't be back.

I write a lot of positive T/A reviews, just not this time. They lie.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjbradbury, General Manager at Oregon Garden Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing our property for your celebration. My apologies for the misinformation regarding the pool. We heat the pool Memorial Day through Labor Day, and this has been our policy for the past three seasons. We did have some challenges with our pool heater this season, but our warm summer and warm nights resulted in minimal guest impact.

It is certainly not our intention to lie to our potential guests. It does reflect a lack of attention to outdated information that we will address, and the need for better communication with staff members about our pool policies.

I am sorry for not responding to you personally, but I did not receive a voice message on my direct line. We are in the process of switching our phone carrier and completely reprogramming all of our phones, so that could explain the problem. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further and give our property another try. Please feel free to contact me directly at 503.874.2510.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our room was really grand with a fireplace and an outside terrace. Dinner was sumptuous and delicious and breakfast was fast and easy tho' nothing special. Nice to have a quick buffet when hitting the road early. The gardens were so beautiful we were sorry we didn't have time to go through them with our free ticket since we arrived much later than we expected. We got lost trying to find the place from the freeway ... it's a bit off the beaten track but well worth the extra drive. We booked our night with dinner, breakfast and a garden tour through Travel Zoo and it was a terrific value for a lovely experience. Wish we could have stayed longer but we were on our way to a family gathering.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just a short drive from Salem but worlds away......we checked into our lovely room complete with gas fireplace and comfortable bed and linens then hopped on our bikes and rode to Oktoberfest in Mt Angel. Back for dinner where service was good, food so-so. A dip in the spa/hot tub (nice). Breakfast is included - again, very so-so and the coffee not good. Oh, bar was really fun with good drinks, music and dancing. We would go again but it will be awhile (expensive at rack rate)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The rooms are large, modern, and clean. It is a large resort with lots of rooms and lots of parking lot. But the great thing about it is that the price is very very reasonable and you have after hours access to the very large amazing gardens. A late afternoon walk and/or an early morning walk in the gardens, when you have it all to yourself, is wonderful. Be sure to do that.

Breakfast is included in the rate, but it is a very basic breakfast -- nothing special there.

The reason to stay here is a very good room at a very good price with free admission to incredible, extensive gardens.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our first trip here, but won't be our last! We stayed in Unit O, room 326; a lovely King bed room with gas fireplace and private patio that was situated in a craftsman style building containing six units. We were there during the week after Labor Day and paid an average price of $127 a night for the two nights. Admission to the Oregon Garden was included in the price along with a fantastic HOT breakfast in the dining room each morning. The whole place was beautiful! The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable with upscale linens and good shower pressure. Only room negative was that the Air Conditioner was LOUD and for some reason our cold water didn't work correctly. There is a nice pool area which we enjoyed. The dining room is overpriced and the food quality needs to be improved as is just average. The lounge had nightly musical entertainment and served the full restaurant menu; but wasn't well attended. A "ho-hum" vibe. I ordered crab cakes that were a disappointment as they were filler laden, small portion & overpriced. Great martini though. Bartender one night was Loud and unattentive. Overall though this is a fabulous resort and could be stellar with a bit more attention to food quality and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverton
1.1 mi away
Silverton Inn and Suites
Silverton Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Silverton
167 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Best Western Woodburn
Best Western Woodburn
#1 of 4 in Woodburn
387 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
9.8 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oregon Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Garden Resort

Property: Oregon Garden Resort
Address: 895 W Main Street, Silverton, OR 97381
Location: United States > Oregon > Silverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oregon Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oregon Garden Resort sits above The Oregon Garden's 80-acres stunning botanical gardens. Our guest rooms are nestled in a series of cottages throughout the grounds behind the main lodge. Each building has six rooms, featuring fireplaces and private landscaped patios or balconies. Rooms also feature microwaves, fridges and coffee makers, among other amenities. Included in an overnight stay is a complimentary hot American breakfast buffet and unlimited admission into The Oregon Garden. Ample parking is available both at the main lodge and around the rooms. Pet-Friendly and accessible rooms are available at the resort. The Resort's beautiful main lodge features the Fireside Lounge, which hosts live music each night along with happy hour specials daily; Moonstone Spa, our full-service day spa; and the Garden View Restaurant, which features sweeping views of The Oregon Garden and the Willamette Valley beyond. The menu showcases the best in Northwest cuisine and wines. The main lodge also houses meeting space for corporate meetings, family reunions, wedding receptions and conferences. A heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub are set behind the main lodge. Oregon Garden Resort is a smoke free resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oregon Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Garden Hotel Silverton
Oregon Garden Silverton
Oregon Garden Resort Silverton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing