We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

This is the second year in a row my family and I have stayed here. We raft down the Rogue River every year. This is a nice place to stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. My room has a small kitchen which is nice. Beds are comfy, and the hotel is quiet. And if you get a river view room, you have the Rogue out of the back door. Good place to stay

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    50
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
58
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Very average motel. Rooms clean but pretty unattractive. Good small sitting area overlooking river. Had a good Mexican meal across the river. Receptionist when we arrived was v helpful but lady in the morning was rude - the breakfast was v poor - they can't have milk for drinks or cereal cos the milk goes off (never heard of mini fridges or flasks??)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We picked this hotel off the internet as a reasonably-priced place to stay for a Crater Lake visit. We were not disappointed. We and our friends had two adjoining rooms facing the river (well worth the extra!) on the ground floor. This meant we could all sit outside with a bottle of wine and watch the river go by.
The ladies who run reception were extremely helpful with advice about Crater Lake and about where to eat in Shady Cove.
We really enjoyed our two nights here and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a much nicer oulook than the ones that don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful local best scenery great deck overlooking river with rafters and tubers floating by. No noise from others very very tranquil. I never would have stated here before a memorial happened. I usually stay in Medford. Not disappointed by this locale. Only issue was the most horrible horrible mattress and no good wifi. It kept kicking us off. I would not have minded the wifi issue but tried to do some work and that did not happen.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidgetismygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is great for passing through to Crater Lake or rafting the Rogue. The rooms facing the river are higher priced and have porches or balconies overlooking the river. Definitely get a second floor room if you want to leave your door open all night to hear the river. The rooms still have the bedspreads instead of the cleaner white linens found in most hotels. The edges of the bed are soft and will dump you on the floor if you try to sit on the edges. The beds need to be upgraded or changed out. They were lumpy but adequate. They just upgraded to flat screen TVs but kept the cabinets where the old TVs were. Very difficult to connect your personal device to the TV. The air conditioner worked well and kept the room at the desired temperature. The breakfast was strictly continential--bagels, bread, and bagged pastries. No cereal. Reservations cannot be made online, you must call the hotel. If you arrive on certain nights, there is no one at the front desk from 10 pm until 5 am, you call a phone number and they come to get you registered. The hotel is central to downtown and you can easily walk to everything. There is a rafting place right across the road from the hotel that will take you up to the Hatchery and you can raft back to the hotel. Just remember that the water is cold.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, a second floor room overlooking the river is well worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayfulPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice view of the lake. Friendly service at first but was told I had to completely leave the property to smoke. Which is of course not told to you until you get here. Very inconvenient if you plan on staying more than one night.
Mediocre rooms. Poor coffee in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anynamewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed 2 night here . Great location. Staff at reception was friendly and helpful. Room was clean , confortable and really a King size bed ( 1st floor , parking lot closed to the reception) Free WiFi ( no problem ) , AC and shower worked as well . Nice area to sit and relax near the river side . Breakfast : coffée , tea ,fruit, cereal, waffles.danish pastry ..Swimming pool clean ..Free parking .. Can highly recommended this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shady Cove
13.3 mi away
Brookside Inn & Suites White City
18.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
532 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Medford-Central Point
0.9 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 7800 Rogue River Dr, Shady Cove, OR 97539-7705
Location: United States > Oregon > Shady Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Cove Edgewater Inn presents beautifully appointed rooms in a riverside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn Shady Cove, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing