We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Location - Book Online - Showing Signs Of Wear & Tear” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Plano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Book Online - Showing Signs Of Wear & Tear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Be sure to book online - you'll save money. I had a local relative call to reserve me a room assuming I would get a better rate. Not so. The rate was $150 per night. It seemed too high so I went online and found the exact same room for $119. When the relative called back to ask about the lower rate, the clerk came down to $140 but no lower. I booked online, and cancelled the "local reservation."

No problems on check in and the online rate was honored.

I have stayed here before and always liked the location. Unfortunately, the motel is suffering from being popular. Sofas, chairs, small kitchen are well worn. There were ants investigating what was underneath the microwave. Bed was well used and a bit too soft. Although clean, it is time the owners spent some money on the place.

Despite the comments, it is the only "nice place" in town so I'll likely go back.

Room Tip: Bottom floor facing the river - "choose room with a view" with doors that open out onto sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    47
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here the night before visiting Crater Lake. While it is not a fancy hotel it is very practical and quiet with a nice riverfront setting. (There is a rafting place across the street should you get the desire to go down the river.) We stayed on the second floor in a room facing the river. The continental breakfast suited us fine...bagels, toast, bananas, apples, coffee, juice and cereal, etc., which we took back to our room and ate out on the balcony (after bringing out the coffee table as another reviewer suggested). The motel has a laundry facility on the grounds as well a pool and hot tub. Miguel's Mexican restaurant is just a short walk across the river. Decent food...large portions and reasonably priced. I cannot comment on the pillows as I always bring my own, but I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river. First floor rooms open right out to a patio and you can walk over to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was clean. Beds were ok but the pillows need to be replaced, they were FLAT. The room did have a nice recliner in it. Some of the rooms have a river view. Not much to the breakfast just rolls, fruit and cereal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerNBarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I came to this hotel a few years back in 2010, when I went to Crater Lake in the summer. When I was here three years ago, I had a very pleasant experience, so I came back to have another great time.

This time, however, I was greeted by a rude lady at the front desk that treated me terribly, and didn't smile and looked like she didn't want to be there. I would ask her questions, and she would give me quick, short answers. She never once said "hello" or "welcome." She never said "thank you" either. It was a very unpleasant experience.

Also, when I came here, the hotel was almost empty, with only a few cars in the lot. I asked if I could maybe get the room close to the river I had last time I was here. The answer was "No, I don't have the ability to do that, and next the you reserve a room, you should select the option for a 'view room'." That was very rude.

If you're military, you probably shouldn't say that you are, because I get the vibe that they treat you terribly if you are a service member. This is too bad, because the last time I came here, a different lady helped me out, and she was very friendly and kind.

I never felt so un-welcomed at a hotel before, and unless they change the staff, I won't be returning here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bourbon91c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Edgewater is a very pleasant surprise in the very small town of Shady Cove, located within 30' of Oregon's famous Rogue River. Fairly new, nicely maintained, comfortable. We ended up in a mini-suite with full kitchen facilities and a King bed. Small but comfortable unit, overlooking the Rogue, with nice electric "fireplace" for nice ambience. Door to patio on river automatically locks, so don't lock yourself out! We will keep this one on our go to list!

Room Tip: Ask for the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very friendly staff. Go for a room overlooking the river with balcony or terrace. Rooms are very nice with fireplace and flat screen tv. Breakfast is basic. Only protein is the peanut butter. Also have bagels, English muffins, bread, fruit, coffee, tea, juice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is right by the river. Our room was on the 2nd floor, had a balcony, 2 chairs and moved the coffee table outside to set our dinner on. We strolled down by the river before we ate. Nice and quiet at night. Mexican restaruant across from the hotel, plus a Subway. 1 hour away from Crater Lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TacomaStrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shady Cove
13.3 mi away
Brookside Inn & Suites White City
20.0 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#7 of 36 in Medford
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
20.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 36 in Medford
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
20.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
18.3 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#9 of 36 in Medford
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 7800 Rogue River Dr, Shady Cove, OR 97539-7705
Location: United States > Oregon > Shady Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shady Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shady Cove Edgewater Inn presents beautifully appointed rooms in a riverside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Inn Shady Cove, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing