We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, Loud, hot with no a/c., old rickety bed... worst sleep at a hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Alberta,Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, Loud, hot with no a/c., old rickety bed... worst sleep at a hotel ever”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Rooms are very small and outdated, with the exception of the updated bathroom. We had to leave the door and window open to cool the room off , there is no working A/C or even a fan. The bed is very uncomfortable and sits on a slant, whenever someone rolls over, you hear a loud 'thunk'. The 2 pillows were thin and lumpy. There is free parking but watch yourself as they don't mark the steps/uneven pavement well and it is difficult to tellyou are not walking on a flat surface, the person ahead of me stumbled and I fell with my one year old. After finally getting to sleep we had to wake up at 6am to close the window because of the noise, that did help though to be fair.
Horrible experience and worst sleep ever at a hotel. I have stayed at the Shilo in Newport, and had a good expirience, this one def. gives Shilo a bad name.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocokona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    177
    137
    119
    100
See reviews for
259
275
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Spent 5 days at this hotel. Very comfortable and clean. Pool and fitness area clean and well maintained. Very convenient. Close walking distance for everything. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Just got back from a one night stay at this "hotel". The only real reason to choose staying here over other hotels in seaside would be for the location. It is nice to be able to walk everywhere from your hotel. The rooms are just ok. They could use some updating. We stayed on the end near the street and you definately hear noise. It would be better to stay somewhere in the middle or far end. I was not too dissapointed with the hotel mainly because I was prepared for the worst since I read the reviews here first plus I only paid $97 total for the one night stay using pricelines blind bidding system. If I had paid $200 I would be extremely dissapointed because it's not worth that price. I've stayed at cheaper hotels that are way nicer. Anyway, just don't over pay for the room and I think you will be ok with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flapbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

The location of the hotel is great, right by the beautiful beach. However, the room is another story. I got a room with one queen bed, facing the street side. The room is small and out-dated. The carpet was dirty. The walls between rooms are thin, same is the floor. I could hear sounds from the room next to me (I felt I could join their conversation - not they were loud or something). I could also hear people walking in the room above me. I can also hear people walking by my room, plus noise from the street, with the window closed.

However, I heard the rooms facing the ocean were a lot nicer but I have no proof. There are a lot of other hotels in the area. If I'd come back to the area, I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imken504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiloseaside, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2009
Dear imken504

Thank you so much for your comments. It troubles us to hear that you had the type of experience that you mentioned. It is true that we have some smaller rooms in our hotel. We do, however, offer many larger rooms including great oceanfront suites. We use comments such as your own to help train our staff to provide the best customer service possible. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. We hope you’ll reconsider choosing another hotel and give Shilo Inns another try.

Sincerely,

Shaun – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel saved our trip! We had booked somewhere else, but that other hotel was awful. We called the shilo at 9 am on a Saturday and they had us in a room by 11:30, even though check in isn't until 4pm - it was a lifesaver for us because we were traveling with our 18 month old daughter who despreratly needed a nap! The room was dog friendly, but you couldn't tell there had ever been a dog in the room. The king size bed was wonderful, but the best part of the balcony and the view. We sat on the balcony and watched everyone go by on the busy Prom, watched the sun go down, and just enjoyed our little family's vacation together. The Shilo saved our vacation, and we will ABSOLUTLY be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed at this hotel a couple of times...The first time we stayed in a suite complete with full kitchen, two queen beds and a fireplace..it was awesome...The second time around we had just a regular room..Both times we found the hotel to be comfortble, the staff was always nice and helpful...Clean and comfortble, its no Sheraton but its def good value for your money and a great place to stay if you wanna stay somewhere that is right on the beach...will be back again...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We booked 3 nights per AAA. Upon arrival, a room by the elevator, continually loud guests and cleaning staff, while in the back garbage and truck deliveries with loud backup beepers all night. Only 2 flatish pillows for the queen bed. Room was smelly and hot. Totally unable to sleep. So the next morning we requested a different room.

Only streetside with kitchenette and tiny balcony was available, but worth the extra $60 per night. But they FORGOT TO CHANGE THE LINENS the next day while we were out hiking, so we shared 2 towels the last evening. Footsteps above our room could be heard often, door didn't block out hallway noise. We mentioned these at checkout, but NO compensation offered, just a condescending too bad. I should have asked to see a manager. No luggage rack in either room for convenience. Rooms worn. Shiloh restaurant food just OK, but great ocean view. This was our first and last experience with Shiloh, consquently, cannot recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catscove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#9 of 27 in Seaside
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Address: 30 N Prom, Seaside, OR 97138-5823
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel you will be right on the beach in the center of the cultural and tourist attractions of Seaside. The newly updated spacious oceanfront rooms offer Shilo guests a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and glorious sunsets. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside Oregon
Seaside Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing