We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, upkept property...but bed has a lot to be desired.”
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We purchased a groupon to stay a few nights here. Booked the room a long time ago and finally got away to the beautiful Oregon Coast. We liked what we saw on the outside. Looked clean and kept up. When we entered our room, #27, it was clean and tidy and welcoming. Our hearts kind of sank, however, when my husband sat on the bed...whoosh, down he went. Well, we knew we hadn't paid very much for the room so we were going to live with it and not complain.

We weren't in our room very long over the 2 night stay, but when we were we realized the walls were thin and you could hear the other guests talking (not making out what they were saying, just hearing a low voice and snoring at some points.) Like I said, the bed needed to be upgraded to a new one.

I don't believe we met the owners who ran it, would have liked to, but the gal at the front desk was friendly.

If you're on a tight budget and want a CLEAN room, then this is the place for you...it just may not be the most comfortable.

No breakfast. No pool. No jacuzzi. No fitness center. Definitely just a place to lie your head. They did have free VHS rentals in the lobby, and the clerk was accommodating as to offering to bring a microwave (as I was needing one) to the room, but we were able to use the microwave in the lobby. If we were to go again I'm sure I'd inquire as to the newness and firmness of the bed in the room.

Room Tip: I'm guessing one on the end of the building might have been quieter (less neighbors).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 593 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Comfortable, cozy and very welcoming innkeepers and staff. My father was recently transferred to a Seniors' Assisted Living community in Seaside. It is not our favorite town on the spectacular Oregon Coast. However, The Sandy Cove Inn was a welcome retreat at the end of a couple of difficult days. The south end of Seaside is quiet, but anything I needed was close by. Across the street I found a good bakery, a comfortable pub and a handy grocery store. My room, the Garden Room, was beautifully decorated and perfectly clean. The owner was kind and welcoming. The young women working there were equally kind and seemed proud of the little inn. Although the Inn was full my second night, it was as quiet as the nearly empty first night. The bed was soft and comfortable. This room would have been equally comfortable for two. I was so delighted to find this peaceful retreat in the quiet end of town.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mygirlsmyguyandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My kids and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Sandy Cove Inn. The staff was extra helpful, went above and beyond from what was expected to make sure our stay was comfortable. I've stayed in Seaside many times and have always been near where all the "action" was, I really enjoyed being away from all the crowds and hoopla. But when we did want to venture down to Broadway it wasn't too far. I also liked that each room had a theme..it gave it that little extra personal touch. We had a great time and would highly recommend you give Sandy Cove a try!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 447SarahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms were great and the staff was very friendly. The mattresses could use an update and wish they had DVD players! Otherwise it was an awesome location for early morning beach combing and the espresso place located almost across had the best coffee in Seaside! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redgeodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This area at south end of the beach is nice. You don't get the crowds or noise of the main strip, but you're still within a 15 minute walk along the boardwalk or the beach. The hotel is nice, decorated in a fun way, and the service is excellent. It's our new go-to place in Seaside, for when we get a hankering to eat at the fabulous Yummy.

Room Tip: If you want a separate bedroom, you'll have to get the "Jacuzzi Suite". Guests not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Sandy Cove Inn in Seaside, Oregon. It is an older, small, family-run, two storey motel-style inn. However, unlike the standard predictable motels, it has been nicely renovated, and each room at Sandy Cove is decorated according to a theme. We stayed in the Boat Room with its nautical theme, model boats, and naval prints. Other themes include the White Room, Monopoly Room, New York Room, and several others. The rooms are simple, with a TV, small fridge and coffee maker. The Office has a good selection of movies and also offers tea and coffee.

Sandy Cove Inn is on U Avenue at the quieter South end of Seaside. It is about 150 yards from the start of the beach. Prices are very reasonable and good value. Local facilities include a small grocery market store, a highly rated local cafe, and a very good pub ... all within a 100 yard walk.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a ground floor room if stairs present a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first time to seaside. Sandy cove inn was an awesome choice for us. The staff was super friendly and helpful.. Room was better then expected.. Very clean. Walk out to beach front in just minutes..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babycakes122972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#21 of 27 in Seaside
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: $57 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms. We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast. We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others. We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing